Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Much better than I expected
In many ways the title of this book does a great job of preparing the reader for the journey ahead of them.

I would suggest that this is book best read with an open mind, and an open notepad as there are nuggets of useful information in here.

While some of the brands are perhaps not first associated with a sustainable future in my mind, that is not...
Published on 24 Jan. 2013 by Doug

versus
5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Unconvincing
I struggled to come to terms with this book, which sometimes struck me as being like an over-long essay stretched to fill an entire volume. The core problem I found was that it was unsatisfying (for me) in its conviction that there is a necessity or even a genuine desire for brands/organisations to generate social capital. In a traditional capitalist marketplace, the...
Published on 7 Aug. 2011 by Sockymon


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Much better than I expected, 24 Jan. 2013
By 
Doug "Doug" (York, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
In many ways the title of this book does a great job of preparing the reader for the journey ahead of them.

I would suggest that this is book best read with an open mind, and an open notepad as there are nuggets of useful information in here.

While some of the brands are perhaps not first associated with a sustainable future in my mind, that is not what is important here, what is important is the concepts, the strategies and the tools, and the fact that Social Capital and Social Equity are important is in truth inspiring.

So if you are wanting a book that is pleasant to read, with nuggets of useful information, that will inspire, then you will not be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Key to a Sustainable Future: Value, 21 Feb. 2013
By 
Newton "Sassy Brit" (Cambridgeshire, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
If you are in business you must have a brand that stamps itself into our minds like a emotional gut feeling that represents what you and your company are all about. Marketing is a brutally competitive world which can often feel like information overload and this book helps tread those murky waters so you can learn to control and anticipate how your message is going to be condensed and let the right feeling float to the top.

Guy Champniss and Fernando Rodes Vila, help navigate these stormy seas and show you how socially valued brands hold the key to a sustaninable future and business success, with as much interest as your brand should be getting.

I found this an extremely useful and informative read, albeit a bit dry at times it is definitely a book for those wanting to study this subject further - to help you make that bold statement to gain a direct connection to what you distinctly stand for as a company and a product. It includes 10 social equity traits which really helped me understand social branding better. If you want to have a good sense of what a brand is (or is not) then try Brand Valued, today!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Read If You Are In The Industry, 22 Mar. 2012
By 
Michael Scott "www.nowillpowerrequired.co.uk" (Norfolk, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Firstly I would say this book is probably for those who work or have a very keen interest in brands and marketing of those brands. This is a great book that is well written and is very up to date with current social strategies (March 2011). The books talks about why being green/socially accepted is now more key than ever and now it is less about the products themselves and more about how your brand is perceived that is key to the success of your products. This talks about how nowadays social media has changed brand perception and how embracing these new technologies and channels is key to succedding and ignoring them could be very bad. All in all a cracking read and strongly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Branded, 12 April 2013
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
This is a book looking at different brands, their role and importance and how the branded world we live in today got to what it is today, and also looks ahead into how and what our tomorrow may appear. It reflects on consumer behaviour trends, brand perception and management strategy frameworks and how they can affect and change social and corporate values, as well how critical it is to engage with social media and new technologies.
It is full of interesting information and in my opinion may be definitely useful for those in the industry and business world.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars New era in brand strategy?, 12 July 2011
I think this book has the potential to be pretty influential in both marketing and broader business functions. Linking the general consumption debate to sustainability and trying to find a (constructive) role for business is a well-trodden route, but this book manages to take a far more thoughtful view, which seems to not only offer a clear view of what's happened to date, but more importantly what could happen next. In a way, the book's central idea is anchored around trying to explain a course of action that many in marketing may adopt in one way or another through intuition. The difference though, is that this sets up some theory and structure around intuition - and my sense is that many who manage brands would find this appealing, considering the challenges that lie ahead for advertisers.

At the end the authors make a claim that the social perspective represents a new era in brand strategy. I'd have to agree: if brands are going to remain instrumental to business, and become instrumental in moving consumers towards more sustainable lifestyles, then this exploration of social worth - be that the 'engine bolts' or 'engine oil' types they talk about - is certainly valid.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Compelling fresh insight for clients and agencies alike, 28 Sept. 2011
I approached Brand Valued with a skeptical head that this would just be the "sustainability" bandwagon hitching itself to brand theory. How wrong I was, this is a thought provoking, and potentially revolutionary approach to constructing or reconstructing the role of brands and products in consumers lives. Any planner worth their salt should have this on their bedside table next to their Jon Steel, and Mark Earls. The central thesis regarding a shift to Social Capital and social equity is refreshing, inspiring and engagingly told. The move to exchange and relationship from transaction is powerfully argued, and something that will have an immediate impact on conversations with my clients
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars very good, 21 Oct. 2011
By 
Mr. Pj Williams (cardiff uk) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Brand Valued: How Socially Valued Brands Hold the Key to a Sustainable Future and Business Success:

The authors comments and arguments are well backed up by case study that over 25,000 people globally participated. Thus giving an insightful read into the sustainability of brands and brand capital. Gets you thinking in depth about how we view brands. Although at times the book is slow and a little bit of a slog to get through. In short a useful book for those on degree course or already in the field, however not for someone starting out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Some great points to consider about the role brands have to play in todays world, 18 Aug. 2011
By 
MGreviews "matt0007" (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Interesting and insightful book on how brands have a role to play in todays fast paced busienss world. The book takes on some very recent challenges, and makes some good conclusion. If brands play an important part of you business this is a must read! The book at times is a bit long winded and can be a bit of a slog but if you can pick the useful chapters out then its a book that is worth refering back to again and again. Enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Unconvincing, 7 Aug. 2011
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
I struggled to come to terms with this book, which sometimes struck me as being like an over-long essay stretched to fill an entire volume. The core problem I found was that it was unsatisfying (for me) in its conviction that there is a necessity or even a genuine desire for brands/organisations to generate social capital. In a traditional capitalist marketplace, the only necessity for these brands/organisation is to continue to generate financial return on their investments. The production of social capital is neither a necessity for them or even a logical responsibility for them. Their activities either support that generation of revenue or they don't. A CSR campaign might make good PR, which in turn boosts business, but it's still just a value-add, not core activity. The authors also choose some very strange examples to back up their claims, for example the notorious tax evader Vodafone is cited as an example of a forward thinking contributor to social enterprises. After reading this book I am unconvinced that managers will find anything here that accurately reflects the business they conduct today or that they intend to conduct in future.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good Book - But Reads Like A Essay!, 27 Sept. 2011
By 
A. Kwabula (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
The book has a solid message but you have to wade through lengthy chapters to find nuggets. My favourite chapter is one on Brand names such Toyota. IBM and Star bucks. The authors did a good job in that chapter as they explored how brand names such as Toyota are such a success.

I had a lot of expectations for this book as I just started marketing and that involves branding. I found severalm useful concepts throughout the book. However, I just had to skip some chapters as I found them too theoritical in that I could not find many concepts I could apply to my situation. I wished there were many case studies in the book to back up the arguments advanced. There are a few references to studies conducted by independent researchers but in most cases they are not presented in a manner that helps validate the authors' arguments.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews