Customer Reviews


45 Reviews
5 star:
 (30)
4 star:
 (14)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


146 of 149 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Incredibly good value
To get the Marx Brothers fours best films in one compilation, well, what more could anyone want? Animal Crackers is a bit creaky, but still very funny, with Groucho in cracking form as Captain Spaulding the African Explorer. Even better is Monkey Business, with the brothers stowed away on a ship, creating havoic with crew and passengers (the scene where they all try to...
Published on 29 Mar. 2004 by L O'connor

versus
0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Two Stars
Dissapointed in the films
Published 2 months ago by Joy Williams


Most Helpful First | Newest First

15 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars DVD set contents, 21 Nov. 2003
By A Customer
The set contains Horse Feathers, Monkey Business, Animal Crackers and Duck Soup. It doesn't contain A Night at the Opera, but Monkey Business, Animal Crackers and Duck Soup are the three classics. It's worth it for Animal Crackers alone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Full Marx!, 13 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
If you are buying this you are probably already a Marx Brothers fan, but if you haven't seen their films before then it very much depends on your sense of humour as to whether you will love or hate them. You either get them or you don't. I love them. The humour is manic, irreverent, off the wall and very clever. The quips are fast and satirical, the slapstick is hysterical. Considering how old these films are, they still very funny and it's easy to see where so many modern comic 'genius' got their ideas!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Hilarious Slapstick, 10 Dec. 2010
By 
Mrs. Clark (Herne Bay, Kent, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Great to see again these hilarious brothers in action - my favourite was always Harpo. How the other actors kept straight faces is difficult to believe. But they were also multi talented, Harpo played the harp, Chico the piano, and even Groucho plays. These films may be dated, especially for the younger generation, but I found them as funny as ever. Well worth the money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Marx Brothers Box Set DVD, 4 Dec. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Marx Brothers Box Set [DVD] (DVD)
This box set was a surprise present for my husband (who loves the old black and white movies-especially The Marx Brothers. The films are just hilarious and were in pristine condition. They were so good that we will probably buy some of the others available.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Hilarious, 29 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Marx Brothers Box Set [DVD] (DVD)
Haven't stopped laughing yet!!! Compared to the rubbish which passes as comedy today; it is peerless. Great fun for all the family.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Duck soup, 23 Feb. 2013
This review is from: Marx Brothers Box Set [DVD] (DVD)
All classic marx bros. films very very funny , they are a must to see for anyone who hasn't yet experience there comedy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great box, 8 April 2006
By 
Anders Lundin (Karlstad, Sweden) - See all my reviews
This is a must-buy for all Marx fans. I bought it sometime ago (well, I bought the Swedish version of it) and am now about half way through watching these films, together with my wife. It really cracks us up and the humor and jokes are still as funny today as they were in the 30s. However, at times, the musical numbers seem a bit tedious, especially when Harpo, completely uncalled for, plays the harp. At least, when Chico plays the piano, it's because somebody asked him to. On the other hand, these musical numbers can be a good way for you to calm down between all the laughters.
In the Swedish version of this box, the Marx Brothers' first talking feature, "The Cocoanuts", is also included and i find it strange, that it isn't in this box. Even so, it's great to be able to se these films. Since the plot in the Marx Brothers' films is rather similar from film to film, one could argue that "once you've seen one Marx film, you've seen them all", but once you've heard the snappy and witty dialogue and seen the brothers' special comedy style, you're hooked. At least I am.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars We saw Duck Soup the other night. My eleven ..., 4 Mar. 2015
By 
Dr. Alan Sholto (Israel) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Marx Brothers Box Set [DVD] (DVD)
We saw Duck Soup the other night. My eleven year-old was rolling on the floor! Nothing beats the Marx brothers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Was fed up catching bits of their movies - this ..., 30 Jun. 2014
By 
Mike (Irvine, Scotland) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Was fed up catching bits of their movies - this lets me sit down and watch their lunacy from beginning to end !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Tlimeless Classic, 31 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
These films are timeless classics and will be funny for as long as there are people. Great value for money too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Marx Brothers Box Set [DVD]
Marx Brothers Box Set [DVD] by Norman Z. McLeod (DVD - 2011)
£15.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews