Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Vintage Horror Stories
I love these old horror films. When I was 10 years old my mum and dad allowed me to watch some of these films with them. Bela Lugosi was great in the part of the monster/ baddy.
Published 12 days ago by Julie Toop

versus
10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Rather lazy & bland repackaging, but reasonable value
UPDATE (November 2012)- all these films have now been remastered in fabulous High Definition and are available in the Monsters: The Essential Collection 8 disc blu ray boxset (also in limited edition coffin box) which also includes The Mummy (1932), The Invisible Man (1933), The Phantom of the Opera (1943), & The Creature from the Black Lagoon (1954).

You might...
Published on 28 Nov 2011 by Wilfrith


Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Rather lazy & bland repackaging, but reasonable value, 28 Nov 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cult Horror Collection 2011 [DVD] (DVD)
UPDATE (November 2012)- all these films have now been remastered in fabulous High Definition and are available in the Monsters: The Essential Collection 8 disc blu ray boxset (also in limited edition coffin box) which also includes The Mummy (1932), The Invisible Man (1933), The Phantom of the Opera (1943), & The Creature from the Black Lagoon (1954).

You might think given the thickness of this set, that it contains a plethora of goodies such as booklets, reproduction movie posters & programs, perhaps some little Dracula, Frankenstein & Wolf Man figurines. Well, sadly, that is something only in my fantasies as this box set has really had the barest of efforts spent on it. It consists of four separate plastic Amaray cases for each film with red and black silhouette artwork and screenshot on the front, with a short synopsis on the back (the same as on this page) with a few tiny photos, repeated on the back of the cardboard sleeve which contains the four cases. No booklets are contained or any other physical extras. All contain the same DVD extras that were on the previous 2004/2005/2007 releases, but none of these are outlined on the Amaray cases or card sleeve. To compound the lazy feel only three of the discs match with an all black theme with 'Universal Cinema Classics' in Gold, whereas Wolf Man just seems to be taken from the 2010 re-release with the Wolf Man blue & white artwork from the cover of that release. For about 5 extra you could buy the Classic Dracula Triple from 2007 with three extra Dracula films, The Wolf Man and Frankenstein/Bride of Frankenstein releases from 2010.

The picture quality roughly corresponds to the age of these films, The Wolf Man being the better from 1941, Bride of Frankenstein slightly worse from 1935, and lastly both Dracula and Frankenstein from 1931 being quite dirty prints, although both claim to be restored versions. However, Dracula is definitely NOT the same transfer as the U.S. 75th Anniversary Legacy Series released in 2006, so I suspect the Frankenstein also isn't (I will try and compare to the older UK releases to see if there is any difference whatsoever and update). Note the 15 rating only refers to The Bride of Frankenstein documentary 'She's Alive!', all the main films are PG.

UPDATE: A 2 disc Legacy Series remastered version of The Wolf Man was released in the U.S. in 2010, comparing this version to the screenshots of the remastered version on the review at ign, the remastered version is cleaner & brighter, with more contrast, and shows significantly more on the left hand side of the image (although the UK version shows marginally more on the other side). The 75th anniversary Legacy Series version of Dracula also has this brightened image, as well as quite a bit of cropping, so while it is cleaner, it may not suit a purist (see DVDBeaver for more details). I doubt these U.S. versions were remastered in anything other than HD, so the blu ray versions of all of these will no doubt arrive in a couple of years, hopefully with some of the criticisms of the overly bright & cropped Dracula image addressed.

UPDATE2: I can confirm both the Dracula and Frankenstein in this set are identical to the 2002 and 2000 versions, although they are both described as restored, they have been further remastered for the U.S. Legacy Series releases in 2006. Although The Mummy (1932), Vertigo - 50th Anniversary Special Edition [DVD], and To Kill A Mockingbird (2 Disc Special Edition) [DVD] seem to be the rough equivalent of the Legacy Series extra wise, from David Pattern's comment on Vertigo it doesn't look certain the other two will have used the updated US transfers (Vertigo doesn't according to David).

DVD Extras:

Dracula

"The Road To Dracula" -original documentary (35:02 min)
Audio commentary with film historian David J. Skal
Poster & photo montage (with music - 9:12 min)
New Music by Philip Glass performed by Kronos Quartet
Theatrical trailer

Frankenstein

"The Frankenstein Files" -documentary (44:50 min)
Audio commentary by film historian Rudy Behlmer
"Frankenstein archives" (photo & poster slide show, with music - 9:25 min)
"Boo!" -a short film (9:29 min)
Theatrical trailer

The Wolf Man

"Monster by Moonlight" documentary (32:35)
Audio commentary by film historian Tom Weaver
"The Wolf Man Archives" poster and photo slideshow (6:44)
Theatrical trailer

The Bride of Frankenstein

She's Alive! Creating The Bride of Frankenstein" -documentary (38:52 min)
Audio commentary by film historian Scott Macqueen
"Bride of Frankenstein Archive" (photo & poster slide show, with music - 13:10 min)
Theatrical trailer
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Vintage Horror Stories, 12 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cult Horror Collection 2011 [DVD] (DVD)
I love these old horror films. When I was 10 years old my mum and dad allowed me to watch some of these films with them. Bela Lugosi was great in the part of the monster/ baddy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Classic Universal Horror, 13 Jan 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cult Horror Collection 2011 [DVD] (DVD)
This collection contains the original films Dracula, Frankenstein, Bride of Frankenstein and The Wolf Man. All are regarded as classics from the Universal Studios. Stars include Bela Lugosi, Boris Karloff, Lon Chaney and Elsa Lanchester. Good quality transfers from the originals to DVD. A must but for anyone who enjoys he original black and white horror films!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect, 27 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cult Horror Collection 2011 [DVD] (DVD)
My husband had actually asked for these. I knew I would not be able to get them on the high street, but as usual I knew I'd get them on Amazon. He loved them! .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Horror Classics but 15?, 6 Oct 2011
By 
Simon Bugler (Cardiff,UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Cult Horror Collection 2011 [DVD] (DVD)
The original horror classics, released yet again- I would love to have colourised versions of these movies. What I can't believe is this is rated 15- these movies are movies I watched when I was 8 years old- they are movies pre-teens will appreciate more than teenagers- rating them as 15 yet again brings the BBFC into disrepute!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must have, 3 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cult Horror Collection 2011 [DVD] (DVD)
Well worth the price for the extras alone. Great old classics like new! Amust have for horror lovers. Buy Now!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars What Again!!!!, 13 Sep 2011
By 
MARK C. BALE (SWANSEA, WEST GLAM UNITED KINGDOM) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Cult Horror Collection 2011 [DVD] (DVD)
Great films, but how many times are Universal going to churn them out probably with the same prints. We need HD Blu rays of these titles.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xb42db4ec)

This product

Cult Horror Collection 2011 [DVD]
Cult Horror Collection 2011 [DVD] by George Waggner (DVD - 2011)
9.92
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews