Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

3.6 out of 5 stars61
3.6 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£3.96+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 18 May 2013
THE CLINIC (2010)
Directed by James Rabbitts
Stars: Andy Whitfield, Tabrett Bethell, Freya Stafford, Sophie Lowe...

- Yet another film with a baby undertheme. Before I start, If you saw the french film "INSIDE" which is extremely brutal and disturbing, you might like this, although it's fairly mild to moderate, it's story driven, not gore.

- The Clinic opens up in a sequence of depression. The opening is sad, filled with dread which fits the film really well. And the music is great. Pregnant Beth and Cameron are driving through the desert, on their way to Beth's parents for Christmas, all excited joyful (well, maybe just Beth). They stop at a motel (and not a good one at that with one really messed up, perverted owner. Things go to hell from there (I'm not going to write a full summary here as it would most likely ruin your experience.)

- The film has a weird and creepy atmosphere, and some pretty bloody, graphic violence (although it's not explicit and prolonged).
But the film suffers from some plot holes you will notice, trust me. And one pretty bad ending. That said, the characters...you can related to them, mothers wanting to get their children back, some are likeable, some are well...dumb but still...you feel for them.

- THE CLINIC is a drama/horror that delivers in atmosphere and story over gore and cheap scares. (It's not a great film, but close to it...it's fairly good with great acting from the main lead girl.)
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 June 2012
Not one for the faint-hearted - this shocking tale, supposedly based on appalling true events, certainly holds the viewer's attention right to the end, but it's not always easy to watch.

I hate it when reviewers give loads of the plot away, so all I will say is that an Australian couple travelling home for Christmas in 1979 stop at a remote motel. In the middle of the night the woman goes missing - the first of a series of nightmarish events.

There is a fair amount of gore and particularly squeamish viewers will be needing a cushion to hide behind.

It is extremely creepy, tense and at times utterly horrifying. Elements of the story are borrowed from other "woman goes missing" films like Hush and Breakdown, but this film is largely concerned with how the woman copes with her ordeal rather than how the man sets about finding her.

The one-star reviews tell you that the subject matter is not for everyone, but it is important to stress that this is NOT gratuitous gore porn (far from it). It is a very solid horror which almost inevitably fails to steer clear of standard horror cliches but is nonetheless quite gripping.
0Comment|40 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 April 2012
This was one of those films where i purchased it then saw the not so good reviews.Im glad i did purchase it or i would have missed this little gem,theres plenty of twists,great black storyline,and great acting!Im not giving anything away but don't miss this gem!We thoroughly enjoyed it!
0Comment|21 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 January 2012
Not knowing what to expect I was a bit worried that this film would be a little bit too low budget and well ... bad, but it was actually a pretty damn good movie. Both Andy Whitfield and Tabrett Bethell put in good performances, and the action comes at you with quite an edge of tension.

I'd probably class the film as a mix of horror/sci-fi/thriller. I enjoyed it and will happily watch again.

It's one for my DVD collection as sadly Andy passed away last year. He had a delicate touch with his performance in this, as he does in other things such as Spartacus. He's a joy to watch, as is Tabrett, who will hopefully go on to bigger and better things. She's definitely one to watch out for.

Unfortunately there are no special features or anything, but the film is definitely worth a watch (certainly at the price as it is at the time of this review - £2.99)
0Comment|28 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 December 2012
An interesting and disturbing movie, since it is based on actual events. I got it as the lead was played by the Australian actress Tabrett Bethell, who impressed me so much as Cara the Mord-Sith in the TV series 'Legend of the Seeker'. A superb actress, and a remarkably beautiful woman, she gives a very good performance here too, and I wonder why Hollywood has not snapped her up. There is no actress in Hollywood more beautiful or more talented, and her performance as Cara alone should have been recognized. This movie is quite low buget, but well done and most enjoyable if you like the dark storyline it concerns, women kidnapped and their babies taken from them for sale. Remember, it IS based on fact, though details are changed for the purpose of the movie. Overall I'd recommend it.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 18 September 2015
The clinic is a pretty good movie. It has a very compelling story that draws you in, but the subject matter is not for the faint hearted. Since there are already many reviews discussing the story, I do not think it is necessary to repeat it, it is best to know as little as possible when going into a movie like this one. It's not too heavy on the blood and gore, but there is some if that's what you're looking for. There are a few plot holes, but for me they didn't spoil the story too much. If you like horror that is full of suspense with an interesting premise this is one to watch.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 April 2016
Whilst the movie wasn't awful, and was good at building tension in parts, the biggest take away from this film is the fact that it was one of the actor Andy Whitfield's last projects before he died of cancer. There are very slow parts of this movie which drag and some of the women involved are hard to like, but I liked the idea and the Urban legend feel of waking up in a bathtub of ice.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 November 2011
I really enjoyed this film. The acting and gore was of a good standard, and the subject of the film was very moving and thought provoking. I'm not going to add a spoiler to this review because it really is a film that's best to watch without knowing too much about the ending. Give this a try!
22 comments|24 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 November 2012
I purchased this movie due to the very good reviews on Amazon by other buyers and was utterly disappointed. Unbelievable situations, full of plot holes and loose ends. It is very difficult to believe the behaviour of the women, without giving anything away, lets just say that common sense leaves them entirely to be replaced with complete self-centredness. Yes we are informed from the beginning that DNA testing wasn't around until 1985, but that still doesn't justify their actions. They do exactly the opposite of what any rational person would do. The majority of horror or thriller films are far fetched to a degree but this takes the biscuit. There are too many coincidences as well. This must have been very LOOSLEY based on a true story. I also learnt from this movie that when you have a C-section you automatically gain a flat stomach afterwards lol. It's difficult for someone who hasn't seen the movie to comprehend what I mean as I can't explain whatout giving away the story but I certainly won't be watching this again and will be promptly selling this on.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 April 2014
It bored me and did not contain "strong bloody violence and gore". Was expecting a real gritty horror film in a similar vein to Hostel (1 and 2) but this was pretty bland with a dull story line in my opinion. Not bad acting though and was nicely filmed.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£6.52
£2.55

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)