Customer Reviews


47 Reviews
5 star:
 (18)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (11)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Why would you leave her alone?
THE CLINIC (2010)
Directed by James Rabbitts
Stars: Andy Whitfield, Tabrett Bethell, Freya Stafford, Sophie Lowe...

- Yet another film with a baby undertheme. Before I start, If you saw the french film "INSIDE" which is extremely brutal and disturbing, you might like this, although it's fairly mild to moderate, it's story driven, not...
Published 23 months ago by Jure Kegalj

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Worth watching
Not a bad movie. A different story that I have not seen before. I would of liked more of an ending though. I sometimes like happy endings :)
Published 9 months ago by Tartan1971


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Why would you leave her alone?, 18 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Clinic [DVD] (DVD)
THE CLINIC (2010)
Directed by James Rabbitts
Stars: Andy Whitfield, Tabrett Bethell, Freya Stafford, Sophie Lowe...

- Yet another film with a baby undertheme. Before I start, If you saw the french film "INSIDE" which is extremely brutal and disturbing, you might like this, although it's fairly mild to moderate, it's story driven, not gore.

- The Clinic opens up in a sequence of depression. The opening is sad, filled with dread which fits the film really well. And the music is great. Pregnant Beth and Cameron are driving through the desert, on their way to Beth's parents for Christmas, all excited joyful (well, maybe just Beth). They stop at a motel (and not a good one at that with one really messed up, perverted owner. Things go to hell from there (I'm not going to write a full summary here as it would most likely ruin your experience.)

- The film has a weird and creepy atmosphere, and some pretty bloody, graphic violence (although it's not explicit and prolonged).
But the film suffers from some plot holes you will notice, trust me. And one pretty bad ending. That said, the characters...you can related to them, mothers wanting to get their children back, some are likeable, some are well...dumb but still...you feel for them.

- THE CLINIC is a drama/horror that delivers in atmosphere and story over gore and cheap scares. (It's not a great film, but close to it...it's fairly good with great acting from the main lead girl.)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


40 of 45 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Grimly compelling, 18 Jun. 2012
This review is from: The Clinic [DVD] (DVD)
Not one for the faint-hearted - this shocking tale, supposedly based on appalling true events, certainly holds the viewer's attention right to the end, but it's not always easy to watch.

I hate it when reviewers give loads of the plot away, so all I will say is that an Australian couple travelling home for Christmas in 1979 stop at a remote motel. In the middle of the night the woman goes missing - the first of a series of nightmarish events.

There is a fair amount of gore and particularly squeamish viewers will be needing a cushion to hide behind.

It is extremely creepy, tense and at times utterly horrifying. Elements of the story are borrowed from other "woman goes missing" films like Hush and Breakdown, but this film is largely concerned with how the woman copes with her ordeal rather than how the man sets about finding her.

The one-star reviews tell you that the subject matter is not for everyone, but it is important to stress that this is NOT gratuitous gore porn (far from it). It is a very solid horror which almost inevitably fails to steer clear of standard horror cliches but is nonetheless quite gripping.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 26 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent suspense,good story,good effects!, 8 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Clinic [DVD] (DVD)
This was one of those films where i purchased it then saw the not so good reviews.Im glad i did purchase it or i would have missed this little gem,theres plenty of twists,great black storyline,and great acting!Im not giving anything away but don't miss this gem!We thoroughly enjoyed it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Interesting movie, based on actual events, 27 Dec. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Clinic [DVD] (DVD)
An interesting and disturbing movie, since it is based on actual events. I got it as the lead was played by the Australian actress Tabrett Bethell, who impressed me so much as Cara the Mord-Sith in the TV series 'Legend of the Seeker'. A superb actress, and a remarkably beautiful woman, she gives a very good performance here too, and I wonder why Hollywood has not snapped her up. There is no actress in Hollywood more beautiful or more talented, and her performance as Cara alone should have been recognized. This movie is quite low buget, but well done and most enjoyable if you like the dark storyline it concerns, women kidnapped and their babies taken from them for sale. Remember, it IS based on fact, though details are changed for the purpose of the movie. Overall I'd recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


27 of 34 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Surprisingly good, 12 Jan. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Clinic [DVD] (DVD)
Not knowing what to expect I was a bit worried that this film would be a little bit too low budget and well ... bad, but it was actually a pretty damn good movie. Both Andy Whitfield and Tabrett Bethell put in good performances, and the action comes at you with quite an edge of tension.

I'd probably class the film as a mix of horror/sci-fi/thriller. I enjoyed it and will happily watch again.

It's one for my DVD collection as sadly Andy passed away last year. He had a delicate touch with his performance in this, as he does in other things such as Spartacus. He's a joy to watch, as is Tabrett, who will hopefully go on to bigger and better things. She's definitely one to watch out for.

Unfortunately there are no special features or anything, but the film is definitely worth a watch (certainly at the price as it is at the time of this review - £2.99)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 32 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars These things could happen...., 6 Nov. 2011
This review is from: The Clinic [DVD] (DVD)
I really enjoyed this film. The acting and gore was of a good standard, and the subject of the film was very moving and thought provoking. I'm not going to add a spoiler to this review because it really is a film that's best to watch without knowing too much about the ending. Give this a try!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Worth watching, 10 July 2014
This review is from: The Clinic (DVD)
Not a bad movie. A different story that I have not seen before. I would of liked more of an ending though. I sometimes like happy endings :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Didn't like this film..., 13 April 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Clinic [DVD] (DVD)
It bored me and did not contain "strong bloody violence and gore". Was expecting a real gritty horror film in a similar vein to Hostel (1 and 2) but this was pretty bland with a dull story line in my opinion. Not bad acting though and was nicely filmed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Worth watching, 30 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Clinic [DVD] (DVD)
I bought this as a gift but we all watched it., an enjoyable evening. I would recommend this to anyone who enjoys this type of film. The film come in good time
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars The Clinic, 3 Feb. 2014
By 
Miss K. Penfold "catcrazy" (england) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Clinic [DVD] (DVD)
this film was ok, I watched it to the end, and have a good ending but wasn't really my sort of film
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Clinic [DVD]
The Clinic [DVD] by Andy Whitfield (DVD - 2011)
£4.90
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews