Customer Reviews


92 Reviews
5 star:
 (74)
4 star:
 (14)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Teen book
Excellent Teen book, The Fear starts just 5 days before the events described at the end of the also excellent book "The Dead" and as the books plot progresses towards its conclusion some of the events described in another of Higsons excellent titles "The Enemy" are also brought to the fore but from another point of view and slowly but surely all the storylines and thread...
Published on 15 Sep 2011 by Parm

versus
2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Interest waning
I was really looking forward to this one but ended up a little disappointed. Loved the Dognut, Brooke and Courtney storyline but was less enthralled by Jester and Shadowman's tale, important though it will undoubtedly be in the next installment. The huge army of characters assembled over the three books so far sometimes makes it difficult to fully engage with some of...
Published on 4 Nov 2011 by J. Jones


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Teen book, 15 Sep 2011
By 
Parm (A bookshop near you) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Fear (The Enemy) (Hardcover)
Excellent Teen book, The Fear starts just 5 days before the events described at the end of the also excellent book "The Dead" and as the books plot progresses towards its conclusion some of the events described in another of Higsons excellent titles "The Enemy" are also brought to the fore but from another point of view and slowly but surely all the storylines and thread come together.

This is a well written well paced book and its no wonder there is an increase in reading and the young reading market with this level of quality out there.

Well reccomended

(Parm)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Fear, 21 Oct 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Fear (The Enemy) (Hardcover)
This is a brilliant book. I read this book in a day and a half. I bought it to read and see if it was suitable for my great grand son but he is too young for it, children need to be at least 12 or 13. It is exciting, very scary, a real can't out it down kind of book, grownups will enjoy it as well, I did and I'm 74 years old.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Increasingly brilliant series, 16 Sep 2011
By 
L. Osborne (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Fear (The Enemy) (Hardcover)
After being really impressed by the first two books in this series, I was itching to read this one - I ploughed through it and read it all really quickly.

I think this is easily the best book in the series so far, and it strikes me as an outstanding piece of horror writing for young people - but, like Harry Potter, I can see it's going to appeal to people way beyond the teen demographic. I enjoyed it at 37, and a five-star review on Amazon was written by a 55-year-old.

It gets increasingly gory as the army of caniballistic zombies begin to organise themselves and increase the terror on the streets. Meanwhile, more groups of surviving kids emerge, and other groups we've already met begin to interact. The first two books feature an almost entirely different cast of characters, the second book beginning a year before the first, with the events at the very end of the second book linking things together. This third book for most of its length focusses on people from the second book, with those from the first introduced later on - it draws together the separate plots of the first and second books really well, and sets up a pretty impressive cliffhanger ready for the next book. Shame I'll probably have to wait about a year for it!

The way that each book describes some of the same events from different points of view is very clever, and a lot of things become clearer as you read on, such as how each character gets to be where they are. In the process of the book, lots of characters, DogNut in particular, have to deal with mistakes - and DogNut's mistake leads to some potentially gruesome consequences - but that's the cliffhanger, and we'll have to see what happens next. I suspect quite a lot of blood might be involved. :)

There's more to be seen of a tyrannical leader, David, and his attempts to manipulate and cajole others into doing his bidding. He's turning into a seriously scary dictatorial figure, and the psychology involved in this is well treated and encourages readers to ponder the nature of power. One group absent, which I hope will be picked up on later, are the ones who founded a new religion and decided to hole themselves up in St. Paul's Cathedral. I'd love to see what happens with them.

Some of the scenes in the book are just brilliantly described, and create vivid (and sometimes very scary) images in your head. The Collector's den is certainly something I'd like to see on the big screen - these books seriously need to be made into films. Any directors reading this? Go on!

Superb read. For someone like me, who loves a bit of post-apocalyptic horror, it was unputdownable, and I really can't wait for the next one - The Sacrifice, due out next year.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pitched just right., 27 Oct 2011
This review is from: The Fear (The Enemy) (Hardcover)
When my 12 year old son was reading The Enemy, the first book in the series, I picked it up to see what he was reading and promptly disappeared into it for 2 hours! I consequently leant it to some of my adult friends who also loved it. Now two years on both myself and my son (and many of our friends)have just read The Fear and can't wait for the next in the series.
The suspense and exhilaration are pitched just right for teenage onwards (nevertheless it pulls no punches).
This book in the series ties together the stories of the previous two novels in a carefully crafted weave. I feel it also takes an interesting look at some inherent political issues and sets them within a context that makes them comprehendable and relevant to a younger generation. Very cleverly done, you won't want to put it down - whatever your age!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great, 21 Nov 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Fear (The Enemy) (Hardcover)
i am only 15 but i absolutely loved it it was worth the money, the action was none stop, the descriptions were puting you in the story i just simply cant wait for the next book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Charlie Higson - The Fear, 19 Nov 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Fear (The Enemy) (Hardcover)
Bought for my son age 12 who has read The Enemy, The Dead and now The Fear. Nagged me for months in advance of it's publish as a must have. Absolutely brilliant couldn't put it down! Which keeps me happy. Friend commented on how her son 14 has suddenly started to enjoy reading after picking this one up. Told her to buy the other two and get him to read all three. If you are looking to get your nearly/teenage son reading start with these three! Well done Charlie Higson just what we need, more please.The Fear (The Enemy)The EnemyThe Dead (The Enemy)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Unpredictable, suspenseful, and bloody brilliant!, 13 Oct 2011
By 
Britishwotsit (ENGLAND, SUSSEX) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Fear (The Enemy) (Hardcover)
Great book! Although it couldn't help but feel like a prologue. It fills in all the gaps created by the last two books in the series. In fact, the feeling i have after reading it, closely resembles that after watching "Deathly Hallow's Part 1"
And that feeling is, WHERE IS THE REST!?

In case you didn't know, in a nutshell, this book is the third in a series (with more to come) where all adults over the age of 14 (is it 14? i think it was) have either died, or become brainless, kiddy-eating zombies.

In this third book, Dognut, a side character from the second book (NO SPELLCHECK, i DO mean Dognut, Stop trying to correct it to DONUT, jeez), travels across the zombie-plagued London to reunite with some of the friends they were split up from, and the girl he 'Likes'.

However the zombies are becoming less brainless as these novel's progress, and are becoming much more of a formidable opponent. And again, the question is raised: Who is the real enemy?
For kids are taking up settlement, and surviving in different ways. David however, the leader of the group who have found refuge at Buckingham palace, is power hungry to take over all that is left.

The main character of this novel, was really 'Dognut'. And he was brilliant. I didn't like him in the last book, and if i met him in really life, i probably would have thought he was a wander, but he was my favourite character in this book!

As with the rest of the books in this series, one of the best parts of reading them, is the fact that you really don't know who the author will kill off. Or the zombies, rather.
You know that none is safe, which really adds to the suspense. However in this book, i found there were slightly less death's throughout the middle and beginning, which all lead up to a big blood bath at the end, which was ultimately quite shocking.

Some great characters that i were sticking out for, ended up sadly dying, which ended up being quite tragic. However the 'Hollaway' kids were briefly introduced in this book (The set of kids from the first novel) Which only means they will be in the next book, 'The Sacrifice". And i've been waiting for them to reappear since the start.

Maxie and Blue FTW!

One other thing i love about this series, is that it features great landmarks in London as set pieces, and what makes it even cooler, is that half of these places i have actually BEEN to. The imperial war museum for one, i went there on a school trip in year 9. For some reason i find this extremely cool and amusing.
Well, at least it made it easier to picture!

A great series, that is extremely unpredictable, and features brilliant characters!

But the prize question. Is it scary?
Not from my point of view, i'm used to horror movies and books (COUGH-STEVENKING-COUGH) however some parts i think would be disturbing to others, and i even found some bits quite disgusting and gross.

Make sure you check this series out!
That is all ;)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars chidrens horror stories ???, 13 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Fear (The Enemy) (Kindle Edition)
I read these books described as chidrens horror stories and was frightened witless. I am 69.
A very good read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Fear, 4 Nov 2011
By 
This review is from: The Fear (The Enemy) (Hardcover)
Thank you for the great product- we are from the US and are quite satisfied with our order. We will definately be ordering from here again!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Can it get any better?, 14 Oct 2011
By 
Alex S (England, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Fear (The Enemy) (Hardcover)
A few words: creepy. Brilliant. A must read. I loved the rest of the series, and I couldn't wait to get my hands on the next book. And it's brilliant.

Read it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Fear (The Enemy)
The Fear (The Enemy) by Charlie Higson
1.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews