Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Summer Savings Up to 25% Off Cloud Drive Photos Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Learn more Shop now Learn more

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars1,164
4.7 out of 5 stars
Format: Blu-ray|Change
Price:£8.00+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 2 December 2015
If you find an eighties film that still looks as good as Robert Zemeckis’s Back to the Future (1985), that still keeps you fully engaged in the story, that still has you rooting for the characters, then I need to see it, as this film, thirty years later, sits at the pinnacle of exceptional eighties films.

Marty McFly (Michael J. Fox) is a teenager in mid-eighties America. When his friend, the inventor, Doc Brown (Christopher Lloyd) builds a time machine Marty’s life and those of his family fall into jeopardy.

Back to the Future stands beside so many great family films that came out of America during arguably its peak era: Raiders of the Lost Ark (1981) directed by Steven Spielberg; or Spielberg’s E.T. the Extra-Terrestrial (1982); Ivan Reitman’s Ghostbusters (1984); The Goonies (1985) by Richard Donner; and Penny Marshall’s Big (1988) to name a short selection, yet Zemeckis’s film trumps the lot, the only eighties film that can stand beside it, is, fittingly, Zemeckis’s Back to the Future Part II (1989).

So why do we love this film so much? Many reasons: the main being Fox’s performance as Marty. Is there a more charismatic actor in the history of film? If he had played them Fox could make us care about Darth Vader or Hannibal Lecter. Bob Gale’s and Zemeckis’s script is superb. I always forget how fast paced the plot is when I re-watch it. The script has potential to fall into cliché with its secondary characters: such as Lorraine (Lea Thompson), Biff (Thomas F. Wilson), George (Crispin Glover) and Mr Strickland (James Tolkan), but plaudits go to the actors who yanked their characters out of the cliché bucket and made them real. A bravo to the special effects team that subtly dusted the film with effects that still look good today. Lastly, the set and costume design recreates America’s fifties in all its glory.

Some eighties films I view with nostalgia, reminding me of a pre-teen childhood and the love of American films and America. Yet with Back to the Future, I sense the nostalgia of those happy days, yet the film still offers more on every viewing. This is the best film to come out of the eighties, and in my top five films of all time.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 November 2015
If you already have the 25th Anniversary Blu-ray's of Back to the future series
it's probably best to keep them and not buy this new 30th Anniversary Blu-ray
the only Difference is a new 4th Bonus Disc that's it
obviously Universal felt the need to release another Blu-ray reissue of the series cause of it's 30th Anniversary
30 years since back to the future 1 was released in cinemas
this trilogy is pretty much the same as the 25th anniversary only difference is new cover art & new 4th Bonus Disc
there's no new HD transfer's, no new boost in sound quality like a new 6.1 or 7.1 mix
I believe the HD transfers of all 3 films and the 5.1 mixes are recycled from the 25th Anniversary edition
Disc 1 is the feature film
plus the Tales from the future featurettes which was filmed for the 25th anniversary Blu-ray
plus all the old featurettes from the special edition dvd versions
plus the Deleted scenes & outtakes, MJF Q & A and lots more
Disc 2 & 3 have the exact same setup & content
Disc 4 has a new retrospective Doco LOOKING BACK TO THE FUTURE
which is a not a new Documentary at all
it was filmed back in 2009 for TV broadcast, it's 9 part Documentary
which i thought Great, 9 parts, must be long Doco, well how wrong was I only goes for 45mins
so it was obviously filmed for TV broadcast
but there is Hope, apparently the rest of featurettes on this 4th Disc are new
RESTORING THE DELOREAN, 20 min featurette on the restoration of this classic car
new interviews with Bob Gale and some of the staff that helped restore the car to make it look like
a new 1985 model Delorean, Claudia wells is also interviewed for some reason
and there's 2 other small featurettes, 5mins featurettes, very pointless I think
1st one is DOC BROWN SAVES THE WORLD
which is an ageing Christopher Lloyd getting back into Character as Doc Brown
talking about the Gadgets seen in the back to the future films
and explaining why they have not been brought on the market to sell in 2015
some of the Gadgets include the Laceless shoes, the Food Hydrator, the Hoverboard
only goes for 8mins featurette, pointless waste of time
2nd featurette is an Introduction to the 30th anniversary edition of this Blu-ray relese
again very pointless waste of time intro
the packaging of this U.K. Blu-ray is a thick Blu-ray case with Disc trays inside it
the case it self is made wrong, it's 16mm thick case that doesn't close properly
so I had to buy a replacement Blu-ray case, I thought 4 Discs can easily fit in 14mm thick case,not 16
and I was Dead right! so my replacement case is 14mm with 4 disc trays inside, not 16mm
and my 4 Discs fit perfectly which proves to me Universal were dead wrong in the packaging size
I don't think the 4th Disc is necessary, so you better off keeping the 25th anniversary edition versions
5 stars for all 3 films, 2 stars for this new 30th anniversary blu-ray
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
While I grew up in the 80's, I didn't manage to see Back to the Future until 1995. By that time, it was 10 years old, but it was still great fun. I just rewatched it, and 25 years out the movie is still a blast.

As the movie opens, we are introduced to Marty McFly (Michael J. Fox) a typical teenager in 1985. He's into rock and roll, and a pretty girlfriend named Jennifer (Claudia Wells). His family is pretty much underachievers, and his dad (Crispin Glover) is still bullied by high school nemesis Biff Tannen (Thomas F. Wilson).

Marty is also friends with Doc Brown (Christopher Lloyd), the town's eccentric inventor. Doc has just figured out the secret to time travel and put it in a DeLorean. Through a strange set of circumstances, Marty winds up in the machine going back to 1955.

While he is still in his home town, it's a world that is very strange to him. But he bumps into his parents (Crispin Glover still and Lea Thompson), and interrupts their first meeting. Now, he has to get them to fall in love while the 1955 Doc tries to fix the time machine. Can Marty play matchmaker and still make it back to the future? (Sorry, I just couldn't resist.)

This movie works on several levels. On the surface, it is science fiction, but that's mainly just the set up for the story. If you aren't a fan of the genre, don't let that scare you away. The main focus is the romantic relationship between Marty's teenage parents. This story is definitely played for laughs. In some ways, it's a typical romantic comedy, but Marty's presence as the main character changes the stakes some. Finally, it's a fish out of water comedy, and they play up how different things are in 1955 versus 1985. In fact, many of my favorite lines are Marty's reactions to things or other's reactions to Marty.

All these things come together effortlessly. You never have time to think "Oh, now I'm in this genre." You're just caught up in the story enjoying the various plot points. Things progress quickly; the story never gives you time to get bored as it moves from plot point to plot point. Yes, the ending was predictable, but I was having such fun getting there I truly didn't care.

The characters are a bit interesting. At times, some of them drive you crazy, but by the end, I find I like all the heroes and can't stand the bullies.

The actors are perfect. Lea Thompson, Crispin Glover, and Thomas F. Wilson get to play young and old versions of themselves. While I don't quite believe the old versions, it is still pretty fun, and I buy them as 1955 teenagers no problem. Michael J. Fox is great as Marty, infecting every scene he is in with such energy. But by far the standout is Christopher Lloyd's Doc. He steals every scene he is in and makes you laugh with some of the most random lines. He is Doc, and anyone else in the part would be a travesty.

The movie is rated PG, but it seems a little more PG-13 to me. The language and sexual overtones to some of the scenes are intended for a more mature audience, at least in my mind. Of course, the PG-13 rating wasn't yet around when this film came out, so that helps explain the rating.

I don't know why I don't watch Back to the Future more frequently. The comedy is so funny and the story is plain fun. If you've somehow missed this classic, correct that error today.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 16 March 2015
Teenager Marty Mcfly is a typical 80's teenager living in Hill Valley California in 1985. His friend Doc Brown, the local probably mad scientist has just invented a time machine and after escaping from some terrorists that have just killed Doc, Marty uses the time machine, which is in the shape of an 80's Delorean finds himself back in time in the year 1955 and has accidentally prevented his parents from meeting and must now get them to meet and fall in love before he can get back to the future. The sequel, Back To The Future part 2 picks up exactly where part 1 left off and sees Doc take Marty and girlfriend Jennifer to the future in the year 2015 to fix a problem with Marty and Jennifer's kids but on returning to 1985 they discover something has gone badly wrong resulting in a nightmare version of 1985 where enemy Biff Tannen rules and they must go back to 1955 again to fix the future. The 3rd and final film, Back To The Future part 3, picks up where part 2 leaves off and sees Marty go back in time to 1885 where Doc is now living in the wild west as a blacksmith. Trouble is, Doc has fallen in love and doesn't want to go back to the future! A fun trilogy of films, with Michael J Fox and Christopher Llyod forming one of cinema's all time great double acts as Marty and Doc Emmett Brown and an excellent supporting cast, most of whom have now seemingly disappeared. Terrific effects and very funny too, though the future of 2015 looks laughably dated now, the alternate 1985 is a terrific years ahead of its time plot that can seem confusing if you haven't seen the original film and the wild west of 1885 in part 3 is very well done, feeling like an old fashioned western. This is perfect entertainment from start to finish, one of the all time great trilogies and looks fantastic on bluray. Simply put, these are 3 of the greatest films of all time.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 January 2015
1985'S Back to the future
Legendary Classic sci-fi adventure film from Bob Gale & Robert Zemeckis who both wrote the story/screenplay
but Bob Gale produced it while Robert Zemeckis Directed it

Universal have given this classic film a new High Definition transfer in 1:85:1 widescreen
with a new 5.1 Master audio mix
and the picture quality looks amazing very sharp & clear no Doubt about it,
better than the old dvd release from many years ago
plus the sound quality has been boosted to and sounds excellent

it doesn't stop there, there's more
Universal have also added new special features just for this blu-ray release
2 new 30mins retrospective Documentaries
TALES FROM FUTURE-IN THE BEGINNING & TIME TO GO
new interviews with most of the cast & crew from the film
Steven spielberg, Bob Gale, Robert Zemeckis, Frank marshall, Kathleen kennedy
Cinematographer Dean cundey, Producer Neil canton, Production Designer Rick carter & other crew members
plus Actors Michael J Fox, Christopher Lloyd, Lea Thompson, Mark McClure are interviewed
for some reason Thomas wilson & Crispin Glover were not interviewed, maybe there were not available
these 2 new Doc's could easily been played continuosly as one 1 hour Documentary
but instead Universal seperated the 2 Doco's
plus there's a new 3rd featurette KEEPING TIME only goes for 6mins
it's about the Music score for the film
Frank marshall & Robert zemeckis talk about the music score,
for some reason no new interview with composer Alan silvestri, there's a 1985 Archive interview with him thou
plus a new MICHAEL J FOX Q & A session

plus all the old special features from the previous DVD release from 10 years ago has been included
the making of Back to the future which was a 1985 TV promo broadcast for the film, goes for 20mins
the old DVD featurette
BACK TO THE FUTURE-MAKING THE TRILOGY PART 1 is included here to
plus Outtakes, Deleted scenes with optional commentary by Robert zemeckis
plus the old DVD commentary by Bob Gale, Robert zemeckis has also been added

the packaging is just standard blu-ray case
where as the U.S. edition BTTF 1 is in a fold out Digi-pak

Definitely time to upgrade and get this new blu-ray release for sure
5 stars i gave it
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 7 August 2014
Little can be said about film so iconic as this so I will try and keep it basic. It's one of those timeless films, a classic, that I feel very few people will NOT have seen either on its release or on DVD/Blu-ray.

Firstly, this film captures the spirit and passion for film-making at a time when films weren’t driven by the ego of their leading stars or the promise of huge franchises. There is an innocence and naivety to this film, the first of an unexpected trilogy, which is wonderful to watch. It looks fresh, vibrant and full of life. The characters are memorable, likeable and funny. The set design is superb and easily transports you across 30 years of American history. The soundtrack is toe-tapping and summarises what made American youth exciting both in the 50s and 80s. It just captures a snap-shot of America so well that it can’t be re-created. And the one observation is that none of the actors seem to be acting - they just seem to actually BE the character in the immensely detailed environments around them. Many minor factors work together to make one big plus.

Michael J Fox doesn’t need to try hard to encapsulate the spirit of Marty McFly because it comes so easily. He’s self-assured but also doubts himself, showing an air of charming good looks and an honest do-or-die attitude. Fox makes the role his own and shows his acting skill because when he is on screen, you only see Marty, never Fox. As for Christopher Lloyd as the eccentric and loveable “Doc” Brown, no-one could play him better and the role has become infamous for the wild-haired, outlandish energy given by Lloyd with snappy one liners and a cunning brain that makes all their scenes together such a joy to watch; the perfect duo. All the other supporting cast do just as grand a job capturing their characters in two eras, youthful in the 50s and matured in the 80s, and seeing their interaction with each other is, again, fun to watch. With Glover's shy and geeky sci-fi addict making his own story of becoming a hero against Wilson's tough but dumb and imposing bully and Thompson in the middle as the dreamy damsel, it's a modern day fairy tale told with great gusto!

The basic theme of the film is, yes, fun. There is some violence but a few punches never hurt anyone, and the bad language is justified and never thrown in your face because it uses it in a way that every teenager would do – in times of danger, anger and uncertainty which Marty experiences as he adjusts to the past and sets about bringing his parents back together to save his own future. It’s a very clever plot and wonderfully done, with the basis firmly on character development, their relationships and the tension in getting everything back on track before Marty’s future implodes!

It’s energetic, it’s funny, it’s exciting and it’s oozing with a real passion for talented film-making and story-telling with every scene full of iconic moments from a care-free time in cinema like the “Johnny B Goode” musical number, the DeLorean time machine and THAT theme tune. It came about as a surprise to audiences but left a story to be continued with 2 sequels and a legacy that will never be topped in our time...past or in the future!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 December 2013
I have an interesting history with Back to the Future. Because I'd grown up with the film, I was never really paying attention to it. Even though I knew the movie fairly well, it wasn't until I saw it at the cinema for it's 25th anniversary that I felt I was watching it for the first time.

I don't know why I didn't give this movie the attention before, but all of a sudden I began to see intricate layers and a tightly packed script. There doesn't seem to be a single line in the first half of the film, that isn't referenced or resolved later. From the parallels of George and Marty McFly to Loraine insisting that as a teen, she'd never got into cars with boys. Everything has some form of knock on effect and as such, rewards the observant viewer. While it does have a strong sense of drama throughout (and science fiction thrown in), the movie uses it's set up/pay offs chiefly for comic relief. This was the factor I was missing from my previous viewings. I'd failed to realise the clever writing. There are no lines that are just thrown in there to fill time or flesh out a character.

As great as the writing of Back to the Future is, it achieves something that I've seen very few films do. For myself, the movie is a science fiction adventure. To my sister, its a comedy. To older generations, it's a trip down memory lane. The movie is several genres at once and manages to do so in a way that's not alienating any particular group. Not even the following sequels managed to capture this lightening in a bottle. Instead of maintaining a steady balance, part 2 is very heavy on the science fiction, while part 3 relies solely on the comedy... Assuming no one's old enough to be nostalgic about the Wild West.

Amusingly, for a film set in 1955, it is a quintessential 80s movie. If you strip away the complications that get in the way of Marty's "adventure", Back to the Future is essentially about him wanting to get the girl and the flashy car at the end.

The bottom line, if you like science fiction, comedy or a trip back to the 50's, you're going to enjoy this film.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 August 2012
There is no need to go into the films as such as these have been pretty well covered.

The quality of the blu ray transfer is superb though, you can certainly notice a touch of make-up here and there. The difference between this and the original scenes found within the extras, you can see the amount of work that has gone into this transfer. It is a bit of a shame that with the tech available that the team didn't do much to hide the mapping outline from the car in flight at night, much like the original release of star wars where you can see the out of contrast block surrounding the ships. A minor gripe but there you go.

The bluray features are lovely. Not up to the quality of the film specific 'MUTHUR MODE' of the Alien Anthology but it is a stylish looking menu if a little corporate. All the features can be accessed in film and if you want to see the theatrical trailer, once it has finished it'll return you to the last position of the film you were up to. You can also access the in-film trivia mode etc. from the film so in that respect the disc is a pleasure to use.

The sleeve for this box-set comes with the increasingly popular foil finish which does look really nice and is not noticeable from the Amazon image so it was a treat to get more than I expected even at first glance.

My biggest gripe is the physical disc itself. I recently sold the DVD trilogy so I have no comparison to make but the images on the discs themselves are pretty shocking. They are boring and of really low quality. BTTF pt.III is by far the worst, it looks as though it is some sort of pirate copy shocker. Such a shame when the collection that has been put together has clearly been a labour of love.

As the films are of legendary status I cannot knock a star for the discs that will be hidden in the machine or box 99% of the time but it was a shame.
33 comments|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 June 2012
In BACK TO THE FUTURE Marty McFly (Michael J. Fox) is a high-school teenager in 1985 who is inadvertently sent back to 1955 using a time-machine built from a DeLorean car by his best friend, local scientist Dr Emmett Brown a.k.a. "Doc" (Christopher Lloyd). He meets the two teenagers that would later become his parents: George McFly (Crispin Glover) and Lorraine (Lea Thompson). Unfortunately a natural act of selflessness by Marty involving the former stops George from meeting Lorraine, and advice from the 1955 version of Doc confirms that he has just one week to get the two to meet and fall in love before his planned return to 1985. If he fails, he and his siblings will cease to exist! And if that wasn't enough, George's main bully, Biff Tannen (Thomas F. Wilson) is always on hand to complicate things.

BACK TO THE FUTURE II continues from where the first film left off, with Marty, Doc and Marty's girlfriend Jennifer Parker (now played by Elisabeth Shue because Claudia Wells, who played her in the first film, was unavailable) travelling to 2015 to resolve an issue with Marty and Jennifer's children Marty Jr (Michael J. Fox) and Marlene (also Michael J. Fox) to prevent them from being sent down and destroying the McFly family. Unfortunately Biff, now elderly, finds out about Doc's DeLorean and uses it to alter the past so when our trio return to 1985 it's become like hell on Earth, with Biff super-wealthy and running the town, and being married to Lorraine after George (now played by Jeffrey Weissmann, replacing Crispin Glover from the first film) was murdered. Later Marty finds out that the only way to get the proper 1985 back is to go back to a point in 1955 that clashes with events in the first film. As well as resolving this issue, both Marty and Doc have to avoid meeting their other versions to potentially avoid a time paradox!

BACK TO THE FUTURE III continues from where PART II left off. Marty is stranded in 1955 after an accident, coupled with a glitch in the DeLorean's time circuits, caused Doc to be sent back to 1885. A letter from Western Union confirms that Doc was alive and living happily in 1885, and the letter was also accompanied by a map and schematic diagrams so that the 1955 Doc could restore the DeLorean to a sufficient-enough functionality to allow Marty to get back to 1985. However, Marty changes his plans after discovering a tombstone near the hiding place of the DeLorean confirming that the Doc in 1885 was murdered within a week of writing that letter, and the murderer was none other than Biff's great-grandfather Buford "Mad Dog" Tannen (Thomas F. Wilson), a mighty gunslinger! Marty decides to go back to 1885 to rescue Doc. This becomes a bit more difficult by the fact that Doc becomes smitten with lovely local schoolteacher Clara Clayton (Mary Steenburgen), which seems to have impaired his usually wise judgement to a degree...

The attention to restoring these films and making them work in high-definition really shows, and the films look and sound beautiful! The films are great even to this day and the HD just brings out the best in them. The wealth of additional features, including interviews with cast and crew (which include Claudia Wells and even have Michael J. Fox despite him suffering from Parkinson's Disease), is also an added plus. All three films have audio commentaries, and there are some extras such as Trivia and Set-Ups & Payoffs, which can be activated and pop up while watching the film.

This box-set is highly recommended and I cannot praise it enough.

Classified PG for mild violence, sex references and language.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 January 2012
There's no doubt about it that Back To The Future is one of the best trilogies ever made but THE best? I would go as far to say that.

The adventure begins with teenager Marty McFly who befriends with a scientist who invents a time machine built into a DeLorean and is accidently sent back in time to when his parents were teenagers and gets involved and stops them from meeting, thus changing the history and begins to erase himself from existence. The two sequels take place after the movie and although its three movies it really feels like one big movie as it is essentially one epic adventure. The second movie they go into the future to avoid a disaster with Marty's future family but a problem is encountered that changes the present day 1985 and turns it into hell and eventually go back to the events of the first movie which lets us see it in a different perspective and in the third film it goes back to the Wild West after Doc Brown's life is threatened, but unlike many movies that might explore to completely and seemingly random moments in time, BTTF has every good reason to go to these moments.

I think what makes this an amazing trilogy is that they aren't different directors, producers and cast getting involved, it's the same team for all three and it comes together very well as a whole. Bob Gale and Robert Zemeckis work carefully to keep them all at the same quality and to feel continuity as a whole. You can't watch one without watching the other so it's vital to buy them all together in a trilogy box set. If not it would feel broken and incomplete.

I loved these movies as a kid and still do today, the stories are well written, the acting by Christopher Lloyd and of course Michael J Fox is breathtaking and really bring the characters to life but of course the whole cast as well. The special effects even to this day are superb and actually refreshing as they put so much hard work into the sets and makeup. The hoverboard chase scene is a classic, who hasn't seen this? I love the humour in the movies because it's light and not too dependent on comedy, everything else they aim for like creating the edge of your seat atmosphere and interest are executed extremely well. The plot for all three movies isn't extremely complex and confusing but not too simplistic for older watchers, everything is evened out well. There isn't a dull moment that exists.

As I said all the characters are rememberable but Biff Tannen has to be one of the best villains in movie history, he makes an appearance in all three movies in different forms, in different ancestors in different moments of time. He is much feared and the perfect antagonist to the adventure and also manages to be funny at the same time and becomes one of the main hazards and obstacles that gets involved in the problems Marty and Doc Brown (Lloyd) face when the past and space-time continuum has been tampered with.

The main theme music is so divine and towering with power it really makes the movie stand up high and seem much bigger. The rest of the soundtrack is awesome with groups like Huey Lewis and the News, Eric Clapton, ZZ Top, and the great music played at the Fish Under The Sea dance. Excellent music all around.

The DVD box itself is presented well with a nice slipcover. The DVDs fold out with many pictures of the movie on the walls of the digipak and the box comes with a collector's booklet. The DVDs themselves are full of special features, making off documentaries, music videos, interviews, make up tests, trailers etc. There are bigger box sets out there but I don't see why as this one has more than enough extras, digital surround sound and its artwork and packaging (at least I find personally) is much more attractive than many of the other BTTF box sets out there. It comes to personal choice but I have been happy with this box set for years and have never desired anything more.

The movies have been so popular many toys, collectables and video games have been created about them in the past and even today. Of course mass marketing doesn't indicate greatness just popularity but this is one of the few movies I am not surprised has been a huge hit. There have even been many games and other television media that has referenced the BTTF movies at some point or another.

It's been nearly thirty years since these classics were made but to this day they have been a brilliant set of movies with so much imagination, wit and excitement that going back in time watching these movies is always a charm and thrill. I would recommend this box set to anyone who loves real movies with nearly everything you could want in a movie like comedy, action, suspense and some emotion and original ideas and screenplay.

If you don't have this trilogy on DVD then you're missing something epic. This has to be some of the greatest sci-fi movies of all time and will always be treasured classics. It deserves a place in any serious movie fan's collection. It's good to escape reality, even just for a short time, and go back to view this exciting trilogy. I recommend this box set very strongly. It is the perfect collection for the three movies to watch together. Classics will never die.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.