Customer Reviews


54 Reviews
5 star:
 (22)
4 star:
 (17)
3 star:
 (8)
2 star:
 (6)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Very enjoyable read
These are genteel, amusing mystery tales with octogenarian Myrtle Clover sleuthing her way through a whole host of suspects. Snooping and listening to gossip in her home town, and her ability to assemble those juicy bits of info to work out the who and the why, keep me interested till the end, though I had an inkling of who-done-it towards the end. A recommended,...
Published 22 days ago by Andrea Porter

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Routine murder mystery
Myrtle Clover is an elderly, nosy resident of the small American town of Bradley. Unashamedly based on Agatha Christie's
Miss Marple and using the standard puzzle format, the violent deaths of Myrtle's neighbours are amazingly frequent. Myrtle herself has a less than pleasant personality and apart from her long-suffering gentleman friend, she has a tendency to look...
Published 20 months ago by Perkins


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Routine murder mystery, 13 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Progressive Dinner Deadly (Myrtle Clover Mysteries Book 2) (Kindle Edition)
Myrtle Clover is an elderly, nosy resident of the small American town of Bradley. Unashamedly based on Agatha Christie's
Miss Marple and using the standard puzzle format, the violent deaths of Myrtle's neighbours are amazingly frequent. Myrtle herself has a less than pleasant personality and apart from her long-suffering gentleman friend, she has a tendency to look down on most of the Bradley inhabitants. Despite employing Puddin, her regular but incompetent cleaner, Myrtle asks her neighbour, Jill, to help out. Jill proves to be a brilliant cleaner but promptly gets herself murdered with her drunken husband the most likely suspect. When he, too, is murdered, the list of suspects widens and Myrtle is apparently the only person able to uncover the true culprit. This is the second Myrtle Clover book I've read and although an improvement on the first, not by much. Nevertheless, it did keep me reading to the end although it would have been better if there had been fewer references to super sleuthing, less admiration for Myrtle's crime solving abilities and more likeable characters.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very enjoyable read, 7 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Progressive Dinner Deadly (Myrtle Clover Mysteries Book 2) (Kindle Edition)
These are genteel, amusing mystery tales with octogenarian Myrtle Clover sleuthing her way through a whole host of suspects. Snooping and listening to gossip in her home town, and her ability to assemble those juicy bits of info to work out the who and the why, keep me interested till the end, though I had an inkling of who-done-it towards the end. A recommended, amusing and enjoyable read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars this was a good one, 23 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Progressive Dinner Deadly (Myrtle Clover Mysteries Book 2) (Kindle Edition)
I really like the Myrtle Clover mysteries - I would definitely read this author again. It's sort of Mrs Marple with attitude, I would recommend this to readers of murder mystery who like some humour thrown in for good measure
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great read, 26 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Progressive Dinner Deadly (Myrtle Clover Mysteries Book 2) (Kindle Edition)
Great read can't wait to start the next in the series now. Once started I was unable to put it down.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Progressive dinner deadly, 22 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Progressive Dinner Deadly (Myrtle Clover Mysteries Book 2) (Kindle Edition)
I enjoyed imagining what the settings and characters were like. In some ways the story was becoming slow with the feeling of wanting it to cut to the chase, how ever l will be reading Elizabeth's next books as there good for a little light relaxing read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Love Myrtle Clover and her family and friends!, 2 Feb. 2014
By 
Ms. M. A. Morris "Magsmegan" (North London, UK.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Progressive Dinner Deadly (Myrtle Clover Mysteries Book 2) (Kindle Edition)
Love this series, reminds me of an American Miss Marple living in the South USA - easy amusing reads each one of this series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars An unusual mystery setting, 19 Jan. 2014
By 
MRS (KIRTON, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Progressive Dinner Deadly (Myrtle Clover Mysteries Book 2) (Kindle Edition)
I found the setting of this novel unusual because of the setting around a progressive dinner - something that was quite new to me. As far as the mystery was concerned, the final revelation was not too easily discerned but it was possible to perceive its development and that was good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good innocent fun, 7 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Progressive Dinner Deadly (Myrtle Clover Mysteries Book 2) (Kindle Edition)
This series of books is fine for quick bedtime reads. The central character is just that - a character and the mysteries are very simple. All in all, simple innocent fun!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Progressive Dinner Deadly., 1 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Progressive Dinner Deadly (Myrtle Clover Mysteries Book 2) (Kindle Edition)
My first read by Elizabeth Spann Craig and what a great book, Enjoyed the book so much I bought the rest in the series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent read, 20 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Progressive Dinner Deadly (Myrtle Clover Mysteries Book 2) (Kindle Edition)
Excellent read. Easy reading, interesting. Good storyline with twists and turns. Worth reading-excellent, excellent, excellent! Well written. Well worth reading
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews