Customer Reviews


31 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (13)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Should `the end' come, I plan to make my way to the Isle of Wight...
Ever wonder what all the fuss was about when bird-flu/swine-flu first made the rounds? Was it paranoia? Or pharmaceutical companies trying to make a quick buck? Did you watch Contagion and think `what if they didn't develop a vaccine in time?' or `what if it were more transferable?' The saving grace for most pandemics is that they often start at a single spot and can be...
Published 23 months ago by ditz68

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Doesn't really follow through on its early promise
The book's first couple of chapters open well with a dark and original dystopian picture of telephone suicide counselors coaxing their callers to end it all for the sake of the rest of humanity... However this is about as far as it goes, and the story weakens from the point where the main female character sets out to leave for the unknown badlands in the early stages of...
Published 12 months ago by Starcoaster


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Should `the end' come, I plan to make my way to the Isle of Wight..., 6 May 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: H10N1 (Kindle Edition)
Ever wonder what all the fuss was about when bird-flu/swine-flu first made the rounds? Was it paranoia? Or pharmaceutical companies trying to make a quick buck? Did you watch Contagion and think `what if they didn't develop a vaccine in time?' or `what if it were more transferable?' The saving grace for most pandemics is that they often start at a single spot and can be controlled to some extent by quarantine methods and this novel deals with the consequences when this isn't the case.

If a virus several mutations ahead of the strain being studied by the CDC and WHO was released simultaneously in busy centres across the world it would spread like wildfire and in this book it does. Taeya, a doctor working for the CDC is fortunate enough to have earned a place in one of the sterile clinics whilst the world outside slowly dies from disease, rioting, or Government sanctioned suicide. But, when the clinic starts to turn healthy patients away she speaks out, resulting in her dismissal. What would you do? Naturally incensed she decides to steal some supplies before she's booted out, which is where she picks up Rick.

This was an enjoyable and addictive read - I wouldn't argue that it was intense, as some might want, but there were enough details about how the world screwed up without ramming too much technical science down your throat. The majority of the storyline is based on surviving and is told from the first person POV of both Rick and Taeya, so you get a nice mix of opinions. There are the standard scenarios that you encounter in a survival/post-apoc novel such as gangs, looting, riots and the `settlers versus the raiders' attitudes but this is all a larger backdrop for character development.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Doesn't really follow through on its early promise, 27 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: H10N1 (Kindle Edition)
The book's first couple of chapters open well with a dark and original dystopian picture of telephone suicide counselors coaxing their callers to end it all for the sake of the rest of humanity... However this is about as far as it goes, and the story weakens from the point where the main female character sets out to leave for the unknown badlands in the early stages of the book.
From here it becomes rather forgettable and the original promise of the book does not follow through in the body of the story, which in turn fizzles out to a none too memorable end.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars More romance than apocolypse..., 12 Oct 2012
This review is from: H10N1 (Kindle Edition)
I like my end of the world fic to be end of the worldy, dark and hopeless. That, this book aint. Theres much more time spent describing the lust between the main characters than describing ruined landscapes and the struggle to survive. For me, the book actually peaked in the first few pages, with the darkly funny suicide hotline. If you want a love in adversity story, this will suit you. If you want apocolypse, check out 'The Road' or 'One'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Did not really flow, 30 April 2013
This review is from: H10N1 (Kindle Edition)
Just finished reading this and though I liked the characters and the idea of the book the story didnt flow. The start was good, so was the end, but the middle just felt like a filler. It didnt add to the story even though it was written well. Such a shame
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars H10N1, 21 April 2013
By 
Joo "kuforum" (Wales, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: H10N1 (Kindle Edition)
I found this story of survival in a post pandemic world an easy read.
I like this type of book, but this wasn't "this type of book". I thought it might have been about finding a cure for the pandemic, but it's not. I kept picturing this as The Walking Dead, but without the dead getting up again. Especially since the main male character's name was Rick.
I read most of it in one day because it was an easy read and just a little bit different to what I'd expected.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars H10N1, 17 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: H10N1 (Kindle Edition)
Brilliant, great book from start to finish. I would hate to think that this book could be the future - what a way to live! I will be looking at more books from this author. Thoroughly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great Beginning - Poor Ending, 30 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: H10N1 (Kindle Edition)
I downloaded this book for free following a recommendation. My attention was grabbed immediately from the beginning. How the few overcome adversity. H10N1 is a deadly flu virus, with no vaccine to counteract it. People either died horribly from the virus, or they never became sick in the first place. There was no in-between, no eventual recovery. The story follows two people who escape the city and are living through the catastrophe and how they manage to survive. They meet up with looters and gangs, having to continually defend their property and their vehicle. The story seems to fizzle out about half way through and I lost interest, which is a shame because it had the makings of a very good story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Started very well indeed, 29 Mar 2013
This review is from: H10 N1 (Paperback)
There is another review here which says that this book is one of thirds, I agree with that. The first third I found excellent, the second third I found good to OK and the last third was not so amazing and became a bit so so. I would have liked the early tension and passion, excitement and good writing to have continued further. The novel is about a plague outbreak and the collapse of society.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Gone Viral, 25 Mar 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: H10N1 (Kindle Edition)
Fairly run-of-the-mill dystopian tale. The world succumbs to a deadly virus attack and our heroes have to survive in a naughty world. This is nothing special. Plot is average and character development is minimal. Neither Rick nor Taeya have enough depth (or indeed width) to make you wish there was a sequel. The writing is perfectly competent and decently edited.
One thing about this is that it is not all plain sailing for the good guys. Too many stories fail to put decent obstacles in the way of the protagonists' desires and although this is slightly formulaic at least there is some conflict. And of course Rick and Taeya dislike each other at first sight.
Very predictable but passes a few hours pleasantly and my guess is it was never aimed to do more. Job done!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Started very well indeed but lost the way, 8 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: H10 N1 (Paperback)
The start of this was excellent. A doctor decides she cannot help with the spiralling epidemic where she is and decides to flee. Hooking up with an unlikely companion she makes her way across America. All good stuff, a bit of survival detail and lots of excitement.

But then they get to where they are going and it goes a bit wrong.

The survival details vanish, relationships develop at an unrealistic pace and the ending is rushed.

If the whole book had been like the first third this would be one of the best. Shame.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa3c21eac)

This product

H10N1
H10N1 by M. R. Cornelius
2.65
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews