Customer Reviews


17 Reviews
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


25 of 25 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A lovely and rather moving film..
Just saw this today. Lovely film from the director of Mid-August Lunch in which he again plays the leading role - a man turning 60 who feels his life slipping away from him - now he is a man that no-one under 30 really notices. Has the same pace, acute observation, the love of locale and the sense of Italian society as the earlier film (but many more pretty girls!)...
Published on 24 Aug. 2011 by Wil Andersen

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Two Stars
It seems to be lacking some highlights .
Published 5 months ago by Jonis


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

25 of 25 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A lovely and rather moving film.., 24 Aug. 2011
This review is from: Salt of Life [DVD] (DVD)
Just saw this today. Lovely film from the director of Mid-August Lunch in which he again plays the leading role - a man turning 60 who feels his life slipping away from him - now he is a man that no-one under 30 really notices. Has the same pace, acute observation, the love of locale and the sense of Italian society as the earlier film (but many more pretty girls!) however maybe not quite the wit and humour. There was one titter and one genuine laugh from the audience so it is not a comedy in the traditional sense. And it is a sadder film too - I won't reveal any of the plot but I left feeling I needed cheering up. But then that might have something to do with my age!

A very entertaining 90 minutes, though, and if I hadn't liked his earlier film so much I would have given it 5 stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Gianni and his women, 9 Feb. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Salt of Life [DVD] (DVD)
It is a paradox that director/lead Gianni di Gregorio has, with "Mid-August Lunch" and this, "The Salt of Life", found success and acclaim playing a character called Gianni in his sixties for whom life appears to be stagnating or slipping by. "The Salt of Life" has many of the characteristics which made "Mid-August lunch" such a joy - the honesty, warmth, wonderful acting and resonance for many of us. However it is not quite as endearing and lacks one crucial aspect - "Mid-August Lunch" was a loving paean to Rome in all its glory and sun-baked beaut while here the setting of the Roman rione (or district) of Trastevere is less prominent and less celebrated and simply where the characters live.

Despite the similarity of the names of the characters of Gianni and his mother Valeria, the names are everyman names - here Gianni's mother lives in much greater splendour and Gianni is married (just about) and has a daughter. Di Gregorio's hangdog expression is still a delight and the projection for his consistent "virtues and flaws" as an ex says. While the film is quietly political about the situation for young people in Italy today, the real focus is on Gianni and his relationship with his mother, other females and, although less important, his wife and daughter. Gianni is the man for whom no one has a bad word and we will him success and happiness.

Overall, "The Salt of Life" is even more wistful than "Mid August Lunch" and its humour less vivid. While it did not leave as marked an impression as its predecessor, I recommend it strongly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another gem from Gianni Di Gregorio., 10 Feb. 2014
By 
N. Goldsmith "goldsmith52" (Tunbridge Wells, Kent, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Salt of Life [DVD] (DVD)
In the same style as his previous, the 2008 film 'Mid-August Lunch', Gianni Di Gregorio again directs and takes the principle role. He has cast himself as a dispirited husband in his 50s dominated by his mother in her nineties, stuck in a marriage he does not believe in and wishing for a last-gasp romance. He is unhappy with an anxious look about him on the lookout for potential conquests and always in the background his mother constantly demanding attention. You cannot help but be reminded in some way of a similarity with Silvio Berlusconi. Is this a commentary of the Italian male psyche and the eventual onslaught of old age? Another gentle comedic look at the late stage of life.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good feel film, 21 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Salt of Life [DVD] (DVD)
This is a DVD which I would never tire of, warm and full of humour. Not belly laughs but subtle and very believable. Gianni is a great director and actor, love his hang dog expression and his devotion to his cunning elderly mother. Good feel film, would recommend and hope Gianni makes more and continues the tale
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Entertaining, 9 Jan. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Salt of Life [DVD] (DVD)
Having thoroughly enjoyed the previous film in this series, Mid-August Lunch, I enjoyed this film but was a little disappointed as I found it less amusing. Gianni and his mother are now part of a larger family, quite different from the first film, so the two films don't actually follow on from each other in that sense. I got used to this and it didn't really matter. Overall, I enjoyed watching this film, I found it entertaining but not as much as the previous film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Slice of Life...., 10 April 2012
By 
Tim Kidner "Hucklebrook Hound" (Salisbury, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Salt of Life [DVD] (DVD)
Saw - and enjoyed - this Italian comedy drama recently at our local Arts Centre film club. This rich slice of late middle aged Gianni's (Gianni de Gregorio, who is also the film's director) life is one of being ignored by his wife, avoiding his eccentric mother and being jealous of all his friends who seem to still have what it takes with the ladies...

Modestly staged, filmed mostly in one cramped town house and with a script that seems at times to be ad-libbed, there's a certain enthusiasm about it all, a relish for life and one of wishing for the finer things in life.

Subsequently, he tries to chat up the ladies but the smallest of obstacles upset his plans, including his mother's thirst for innocent (but costly) gambling with her friends. One of the comedic highlights is when Gianni is told that a little blue pill is all he needs for an invigorated love life - and he doesn't realise exactly how that might come about. It's tastefully done, I have to add!

Seemably using much the same cast as he did with 'Mid August Lunch' Di Gregorio keeps it 'in the family', low key and undoubtedly, cheap.

This little film won't pick up the awards at Cannes and can seem just a little disorganised, but its quiet charm warmed over all that went to see it. Recommended as something a little different and not too heavy - and an alternative to a trashy rom-com if you're renting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 8 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Salt of Life [DVD] (DVD)
The film was well acted and humourous although lacking in content.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Two Stars, 25 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Salt of Life [DVD] (DVD)
It seems to be lacking some highlights .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 17 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Salt of Life [DVD] (DVD)
a brilliantly funny but poignant film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Thank you!, 21 Nov. 2012
By 
Mohan Krishnan (Ann Arbor, MI United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Salt of Life [DVD] (DVD)
Lifesaver... we missed this in the local theater and have been trying to find a way to see it for a couple months now. Thanks for the prompt shipping and excellent product condition.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Salt of Life [DVD]
Salt of Life [DVD] by Gianni Di Gergorio (DVD - 2011)
£6.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews