Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars50
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£5.51+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

One Fine Day joins a growing list of compilation albums - this is the third one - drawn from songs recorded during Katherine's six album contract with the Universal label (Premiere, Second Nature, Living a Dream, Serenade, Rejoice, Sacred Arias).

It's sometimes confusing to know which is a `best of' rather than a new release, so as a reminder these are the other compilation albums currently available:

The Ultimate Collection (1CD) released 2009
The Ultimate Collection Special Edition (2CD) released 2009
Sweetest Love (1CD) released 2011

One Fine Day (the title is a song from Living a Dream) offers a good representation of Katherine's repertoire to date, plus three bonus tracks sung in Welsh.

The real value of this release however is the DVD inclusion of the 2007 concert at Margam Park, previously available as `Katherine in the Park', which makes this an essential buy for anyone who hasn't seen this wonderfully entertaining concert.
55 comments|57 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 7 January 2012
Five BEAUTIFUL Stars! Marvelous performances by Britain's 'crossover' star! For those not familiar with the award-winning 31 year old mezzo-soprano Katherine Jenkins, this program may come as a surprise, but the statuesque Welsh beauty is already a multi-million album selling superstar in Europe, winning the first-ever back-to-back Classical Brit Awards. With a beautiful voice that is angelic, clearly recognizable, and capable of overpowering the listener, six albums have gone straight to the top of the British classical album charts and landed among the top of the general music charts, competing with rock and pop stars. Among the seemingly ever-expanding group of classical crossover artists that I have heard, she is among the very best with a dreamy voice and wide range, anchored by a rock solid lower register, that can bring on goosebumps. Covering Broadway show themes, movie themes, classical arias, religious songs, and her native Welsh songs, this is a magnificently generous compilation set of 21 songs with full orchestra and chorus. The 'best of the best' begins with a soaring "Ave Maria" that shows off her unusual 'nuanced vibrato' that is quite a feat in both voice and breath control. The drama of "Phantom of the Opera: Music of the Night" is a beautiful performance. Her fabulous treatment of "The Prayer" is the best of the many versions that I have heard and made it onto my crowded iPod, ahead of the Andrea Bocelli-Celine Dion Golden Globe-winning version. A rapturous, heavenly "Agnus Dei" (Lamb of God) and "Requiem: The Lord is My Sheperd" are examples of the very inspiring religious themes contained herein. And perhaps best of all, a magnificently ascendant "Turandot: Nessun dorma" (No One Shall Sleep). My Highest Recommendation. Five OVERPOWERING Stars! (This review is based on an mp3 download)
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 November 2011
These are not new recordings but it is a very nice compilation of Katherine's songs from the past. She really has a beautiful voice. The icing on the cake is the DVD of her live concert in 2007 at Margam Park. Katherine first appears on stage in pink wellies! But even those don't distract the eyes from the sexiest of dresses. She not only sounds good; she looks good.
0Comment|10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 December 2011
I really like this Album of Katherine Jenkins. She has a beautiful voice. I have several of her albums already.
I look forward to any she is bringing out each year.
0Comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 December 2011
This CD is well worth buying, this is Katherine at her best, although some of the songs are her earliest recordings, it is still well worth listening to. The enclosed DVD with this CD is well worth the money alone, it is terrific, recorded in Wales, she comes across very natural, and is full of fun, the back stage interviews are wonderful, what a good buy, top quality.
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 12 February 2016
Katherine Jenkins (born 29 June 1980) is a Welsh mezzo-soprano. She is a classical-popular crossover singer, who performs across a spectrum of operatic arias, popular songs, musical theatre and hymns. So far, she has released 8 albums, starting with Premiere in 2004 to the most recent Daydream in 2011.

One Fine Day is her 8th Decca release in 2011, after she changed label from Decca to Warner in 2009. It is a collection of songs of devotion, honour and love, compiled from previous albums, and Katherine's renditions of them are second to none.

Song Listing:

01 Ave Maria (from Sacred Arias, 2008)
02 One Fine Day (Un Bel Di)(from Living A Dream, 2005)
03 Music Of The Night (from Living A Dream, 2005)
04 Requiem For A Soldier (from Rejoice, 2007)
05 I’ve Dreamed Of You (Questo È Per Te)(from Première, 2004)
06 Nessun Dorma (from Living A Dream, 2005)
07 Barcarolle (from Second Nature, 2004)
08 The Prayer (from Serenade, 2006)
09 Shout In Silence (from Rejoice, 2007)
10 The Lord Is My Shepherd (from Première, 2004)
11 O Mio Babbino Caro (from Serenade, 2006)
12 Sancta Maria (from Rejoice, 2007)
13 Panis Angelicus (from Sacred Arias, 2008)
14 O Sole Mio (from Second Nature, 2004)
15 Va Pensiero (from Second Nature, 2004)
16 Agnus Dei (from Serenade, 2008)
17 We’ll Meet Again (from Living A Dream, 2005)
18 O Holy Night (from Second Nature, 2004)

Bonus tracks:
19 Cymru Fach (from Première, 2004)
20 Ar Lan y Mor (from Première, 2004)
21 Cwm Rhondda (from Première, 2004)

I was very impressed with her performance in her Believe tour: Live at the O2 (blu ray). She was a gorgeous, talented and great singer/performer. She is more well known in UK than North America. Being a completist, I started collecting all her albums and found them all very enjoyable and the sound well remastered. She really reminds me of a very young Sarah Brightman.

Although I already have every album that she has released, I still bought the above album, mainly for the DVD with a complete concert, containing songs that she has never put on CD. The price is also very reasonable with CD and DVD. If you do not want to purchase all her albums separately, this collection will give you a good idea how great an artist/performer Katherine Jenkins is! Highly recommended.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 November 2011
Even if you have the tracks on other CDs the DVD makes it very good value.Highly recommended to any one who likes this style of music, if you dont then give it a try anyway you may be pleasently surprised
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 January 2013
Katherine's voice is one that I can listen to all day long, her songs help me relax as I look after my family, she's a god send at times after a hard day of housework, for an old person like me.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 February 2012
wonderful voice from a wonderful lady.Well worth the puchase which arrived intact.I have recomended it to my friends as a cd worth listening to.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 November 2011
This is a collection of some Katherines best work. It shows her range of ot just classical but other types as well
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£2.35
£7.00

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)