Customer Reviews


202 Reviews
5 star:
 (46)
4 star:
 (67)
3 star:
 (38)
2 star:
 (26)
1 star:
 (25)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


30 of 35 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Unusual and gripping mystery
I got the Kindle edition for nothing but was pleasantly surprised at the quality of the writing and the way the story kept me guessing till very near to the end. The American heroine, Maggie, is believable and gutsy. She starts by going to France to try to recover her sister's child who has been kidnapped by her French father. Oh, I thought, this is going to be drawn out...
Published 23 months ago by Paulus

versus
64 of 66 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Tosh!
I got about 20 pages into this rubbish before giving up. In the first few pages the heroine is described as "elfin faced, heart shaped and perfect. Her mouth was small but sensuous and her large green eyes missed very little. ......an unconscious beauty". A few pages later "Her eyes were pale blue, set in a heart shaped face, lips full, the chin strong and resolute. It...
Published 22 months ago by Fitness Sal


‹ Previous | 1 221 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

64 of 66 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Tosh!, 17 Sep 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Murder in the South of France (The Maggie Newberry Mystery Series Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
I got about 20 pages into this rubbish before giving up. In the first few pages the heroine is described as "elfin faced, heart shaped and perfect. Her mouth was small but sensuous and her large green eyes missed very little. ......an unconscious beauty". A few pages later "Her eyes were pale blue, set in a heart shaped face, lips full, the chin strong and resolute. It was a pretty face but not exceptionally so" . She also can't decide whether she is in Cannes or Nice. With such sloppy editing I could not be bothered to continue!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Totally unbelievable, 26 Sep 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Murder in the South of France (The Maggie Newberry Mystery Series Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
Goodness me - I have had some very good reads from freebies but this is most certainly not one of them. I too gave up after about 30 pages in sheer frustration. Badly drawn characters and no attempt to drive any tension or plotting. Sorry but a very poor effort.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 22 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Not what I expected, 4 Oct 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Murder in the South of France (The Maggie Newberry Mystery Series Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
Was really looking forward to this as I enjoy books that are based in other countries, but this was a total disappointment. The story line, I thought, was so unbelievable and ridiculous. I was determined to finsh the book but did not enjoy it and couldn't wait until I got to the end. I won't be reading any more by this author.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars It was Murder to read!, 2 Oct 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Murder in the South of France (The Maggie Newberry Mystery Series Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
Oh dear, what a disappointment this turned out to be, even for a freebie! Clearly the author has never been anywhere near the Cote d'Azur. An American family whose estranged daughter's child has been kidnapped - although we don't find out how they knew of the child's existence in the first place - get a phone call out of the blue from an Englishman claiming he can get the child back. So Maggie just flies out to Nice from the USA all alone to meet a random man??? I don't think so. It gets worse. They snatch the kid back and bring it home to its grandparents. There is no more mention of the child for several chapters! Instead a lot of boring tosh about Maggie's dull business partner Gerry and his equally dull sounding wife Darla... A very flawed novel. Far too many pointless plot lines and loose ends that never get tidied. I couldn't finish it, didn't care in the end whodunnit or even why....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 24 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Murder on the Cote d'Azur, 30 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Murder in the South of France (The Maggie Newberry Mystery Series Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
I was expecting a detective story based in France but the country barely got a mention. Most of the action took place in the U.S.A. and I didn't really care about any of the characters.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Murder on the cote d'azur, 21 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Murder in the South of France (The Maggie Newberry Mystery Series Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
So is Maggie 34 or 32? Are her eyes green or blue? Did her sister die 3 or 6 months previously? Do they use francs or euros in France? Absolute pants...I gave up reading the story and just played "spot the mistakes".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars A big disappointment!, 22 Sep 2012
This review is from: Murder in the South of France (The Maggie Newberry Mystery Series Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
Very little to recommend it. You can just about accept it when the American speaks poor French but when the French character makes schoolboy errors - what can I say. Poor plot, unconvincing characters & badly written.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 18 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Murder is right!!, 1 Oct 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Murder in the South of France (The Maggie Newberry Mystery Series Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
This book could have been good with a little care. Who has ever heard of anyone going to the Cote d'Azure and having boiled egg and soldiers for breakfast? Following it with a bucks fizz, all at a VERY early time in the morning? The grammar is not very good, and the same descriptive passages seem to be trotted out every few pages. The ambience of the South of France is nowhere to be felt, or seen. I 'bought' this because I love the area, and best of all it was free. I didn't finish the book. The book it self seems to be either love it or loathe it. As it was free, I've given it one star.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


30 of 35 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Unusual and gripping mystery, 30 Aug 2012
I got the Kindle edition for nothing but was pleasantly surprised at the quality of the writing and the way the story kept me guessing till very near to the end. The American heroine, Maggie, is believable and gutsy. She starts by going to France to try to recover her sister's child who has been kidnapped by her French father. Oh, I thought, this is going to be drawn out - but no, she gets the child quite easily and returns to America with it. Quite a bit of the action, including two murders, then takes place in America. Later Maggie goes back to France to continue her search for the truth, about her sister's child and about the murders. The action concludes in a somewhat nail-biting fashion back in America. There's romance in there too, but it doesn't detract from the story and, in fact, adds to it. It's certainly a good read and the Kindle edition is well laid out and suffers from very few typos. The only thing that puzzled me was the title, as there was no murder on the Cote d'Azure (unless there's one in Atlanta USA).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Awful!, 9 Oct 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Murder in the South of France (The Maggie Newberry Mystery Series Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
This was dreadful - I couldn't finish it. Utterly implausible and badly written. Thank goodness I didn't pay anything for it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 221 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews