Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Loved it
Count me in as a new Mike Berry fan. Sci-fi fans who love a gritty tale will enjoy this dark story. The author is a modern Hieronymus Bosch who paints fantastic street scenes: nightmarish characters with crystal eyes, tusks and tentacles, wings, and coils, who slide in and out of the shadows, double cross each other in alleys and bars, and hack into each other's lives...
Published on 12 April 2012 by H. A. Grant

versus
2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars OK read but a rushed ending
I am struggling writing this review because I hate to be critical but there are some things I don't like about this book.

Firstly, the positives, the story has real potential. The city, the gadgets, the people are all well described and allow you to draw a good mental picture about the setting for the story and the characters. It's also nicely paced...
Published 20 months ago by Gareth Watson


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Loved it, 12 April 2012
By 
H. A. Grant - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Xenoform (Kindle Edition)
Count me in as a new Mike Berry fan. Sci-fi fans who love a gritty tale will enjoy this dark story. The author is a modern Hieronymus Bosch who paints fantastic street scenes: nightmarish characters with crystal eyes, tusks and tentacles, wings, and coils, who slide in and out of the shadows, double cross each other in alleys and bars, and hack into each other's lives with sleek technology. I don't want to add spoilers about the plot, but will say I hugely enjoyed the book and will be waiting to see what Mike Berry churns out of his incredible imagination in the future.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Up there with Neuromancer et al., 28 Aug 2012
By 
J. Parr (The Moon) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Xenoform (Kindle Edition)
Buy this book.

Now, if you want to know why.

A dystopian future where consumerism and desire for individuality has spread to 'body mods'. You want multi-coloured bird wings on your back? You gottit. Alter the pigmentation of your skin or modify your arm into a gun? You got that too.

Debian is one of the worlds best hackers, only taking the jobs that are the cream of the crop. The book follows as his world completely shatters and he is left with a decision that can impact the future of humanity.

Add to this various police forces for hire, a group of mercenaries that body snatch people with attractive body mods and a condition slowly being discovered - and you've got one hell of a ride.

I couldn't even put this book down. It treads familiar ground, true - but it does it all so damn well. I can't recommend this book enough.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars amazing, 29 Aug 2011
This review is from: Xenoform (Kindle Edition)
this book had me hooked from the first page. every character feels like a real person.my favourite parts of the book were the cyber battles, even though my knowledge of computer systems is very limited, i could not only understand all the terminology but i could really visualise the battle. So much detail in the world the Mike Berry creates, he sends you effortlessly into a futuristic realm, both fantastic and plausible. Really hoping for a sequel!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent read, 8 Jun 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Xenoform (Kindle Edition)
A great read, maintains the momentum from start to finish. Sub-stories concerning additional characters run parallel to the main plot, which serve to enhance the story and create a denser and more living world. The end comes quickly with little hanging around. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome., 16 May 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Xenoform (Kindle Edition)
This was a gem of a find. Fantastic chunk of dystopian sci-fi with characters you can empathise with and care about. Not overloaded with techno-babble either, it's all about the characters and the tough choices they have to make in the face of a growing catastrophe.

Ultra-hackers, all-encompassing internet, rampant AI, robots, grav-pods, body-modifications and weird gr... well, read it and find out.

It's a dystopian geek-fest. Loved it.

Mike Berry has a hell of an imagination and he puts it to great use here in creating the world of Debian, Whistler and co.

Read this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A great book in the Morgan / Hamilton style, 30 Oct 2013
By 
Cr Walch "C Walch" (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Xenoform (Kindle Edition)
This book is very good, especially if you like the works of Morgan or Hamilton and have devoured their published works.

While not quite as polished as the more established authors, the writing style is captivating and the story and characters are interesting, not your typical black and white, good and bad. The author instead paints with the grey spectrum which is more believable and endearing for character development.

A great fix and I will now start reading the authors other books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good Story, 31 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Xenoform (Kindle Edition)
Quite enjoyed this story. The story moves along at a pace and there is a satisfactory ending. It will not test the brain cells but a good read never less.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Real Page Turner, 28 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Xenoform (Kindle Edition)
Xenoform is a top notch dystopian cyberpunk novel. And unlike many such novels it doesn't sacrifice story for the sake of clever ideas. There are clever ideas, lots of them, but they blend into the story rather than overpowering it. And it even manages a satisfying ending!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars there is binary in this book, 28 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Xenoform (Kindle Edition)
very well written. the plot is good and will keep you hanging on. some very colorful scene described, has the feel of a Stephen King read at time (which is good)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Interesting Ideas, 13 Dec 2012
By 
Bob (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Xenoform (Kindle Edition)
First I have to say that I like science fiction and read a lot of it and this one stood out from the crowd by the host of new ideas. It started well with a vivid description of a world where drug taking and being continually connected to the internet was the norm. Throw in having your body modified to take account of the whims of fashion and you have a heady mix.
It is not what I would call an easy read and if you skim over any of it you will miss a lot of important detail. The thing that let it down a bit for me was that I felt the human characters were a bit shallow and I found it easier to relate to the sentient robots and even the sentient van which came across as real characters. I think overall this is one of those books that you have to like science fiction and probably not the best start if you have not read or do not really like this type of book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Xenoform
Xenoform by Mike Berry
1.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews