Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Effective British Chiller!
BEAST IN THE CELLAR is one of my favourite British Horror films from the early 1970's. A strong cast of character actors give good performances, headed by two grand ladies of stage & cinema, Beryl Reid & Flora Robson. The two actors work well in their long scenes together, but the film does get slightly bogged down by two much lengthy dialogue. The murder sequences are...
Published on 10 Feb 2012 by Neil B

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Strange
What really ought to be an excellent, chilling horror film, to my mind somehow just doesn't quite make it. Doubtless, the Dames Beryl Reid and Flora Robson should make for interesting viewing, but the plot is somewhat far-fetched.

Two elderly sisters conceal a grisly secret in their cellar. At first, we aren't exactly certain as to what it is or where it comes...
Published on 5 April 2011 by UK Filmbuff


Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Effective British Chiller!, 10 Feb 2012
By 
Neil B ""HINRG BOY"" (Bury, Lancashire, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Beast in the Cellar [DVD] [Region Free] [1970] (DVD)
BEAST IN THE CELLAR is one of my favourite British Horror films from the early 1970's. A strong cast of character actors give good performances, headed by two grand ladies of stage & cinema, Beryl Reid & Flora Robson. The two actors work well in their long scenes together, but the film does get slightly bogged down by two much lengthy dialogue. The murder sequences are handled ok, but the editing is rather clumsy in places and its rather difficult to see what is happening.
Overall, this is a good, soild film, and it does deserve a good quality DVD release.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Marvellous performances from two Great British Dames!, 4 April 2006
By 
FAMOUS NAME (UNITED KINGDOM) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a classic! Starring two great British Dames; Flora Robson and Beryl Reid. It's a rare occurrence indeed to manage the pairing of two such great actresses who were definitive in their own field, and was no easy feat at the time! (reminiscent of Joan Crawford and Bette Davis' uniting in 'Baby Jane' a decade earlier)

Two spinsters live together in the family home they grew up in, but hide a dark and sinister secret... Joyce (played by Robson) is the stronger of the two characters, but do not let this mislead you into underestimating the sometimes child-like Ellie! (Beryl Reid) This film is helped along by a marvellous haunting score composed by Tony Macaulay who went on to pen all of David Soul's biggest chart hits! Also stars a young Chris Chittell (of Emmerdale) and Tessa Wyatt. A great story portrayed wonderfully by the two leading ladies with lots of suspense to keep you glued to your seat to the very end!

Five stars!

PLEASE NOTE: This DVD release has NOT been re-mastered - despite its cover's claim! This is an awful transfer from video. Only ever released in the UK on video as a 'rental' years ago, and only on DVD in the US with many cuts, blips and clumsy edits, and with terrible sound quality...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Strange, 5 April 2011
By 
UK Filmbuff "filmbuff1382" (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
What really ought to be an excellent, chilling horror film, to my mind somehow just doesn't quite make it. Doubtless, the Dames Beryl Reid and Flora Robson should make for interesting viewing, but the plot is somewhat far-fetched.

Two elderly sisters conceal a grisly secret in their cellar. At first, we aren't exactly certain as to what it is or where it comes from. What we do know is that some thing is mutilating army personnel and murdering them (the story is set near an army base). It certainly has the appearance of potentially being a decent horror, but it isn't exactly "fast-paced" and there isn't a tremendous amount of action. There are some eerie and atmospheric scenes on an old farm, which adds to the feel. However, there are too many scenes of the elderly sisters just talking to each other about what is happening. At the end, their story-like explanation of the truth, coupled with flashbacks, is (to my mind) almost comical and I kept wondering when one of them would burst out laughing.

Probably worth a single watch, as after one knows the outcome, it ceases to have any merit. Disappointing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Beryl and Dame Flora, 26 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Beast in the Cellar [DVD] [Region Free] [1970] (DVD)
The very best in British film with the above acting geniuses of their time. What more can I say?

I think this is the kind of film you will either love or hate, depending on whether you are into quality acting, or expecting a huge amount of blood and gore. You will need an open mind; this may "challenge" you personally in some way.

I am definitely glad I bought it, even though I haven't had it long. I had watched it several years ago

The transfer onto DVD is flawless.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Beast in the cellar, 18 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Beast in the Cellar [DVD] [Region Free] [1970] (DVD)
This really took me back to when i was young. Although, i understand that in the UK we still have the edited version. But would have preferred the full unedited version hence only four stars. Still, i enjoy it, and have watched it a few times. Maybe the BBFC ought to leave films alone and let the viewer decide what we want to watch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Atmospheric, 7 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Beast in the Cellar [DVD] [Region Free] [1970] (DVD)
This film as so much atmosphere ok the story a little silly but love these kind films they have a kind of difference about them thanks for letting me buy it as i put on my wish list could not get it, and then there it was
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Beast in the Cellar [DVD] [Region Free] [1970]
£12.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews