Customer Reviews


21 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The clue is in the title of the book
The clue is in the title. It's the story of the show, it's not a reference work full of facts and dry interviews. For anyone looking for an exhaustive reference work about Only Fools and Horses this is not for you, such books are already available. Too often this kind of book can be deadly dull. They can never be as funny as the subject they are written about and are...
Published 19 months ago by Kevin Hall

versus
10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Very Dissapointing
As a huge fan of Only Fools and Horses, and founder and President of the OFAH Appreciation Society, I was very much looking forward to reading this book, ony to be left feeling very dissapointed. First of all, while the book is about the show, it is fair to say that is as equally about the author's own opinions of it--many of which I found to be way off the mark. By far...
Published on 5 April 2012 by Perry


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The clue is in the title of the book, 10 May 2013
By 
Kevin Hall (West Sussex, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
The clue is in the title. It's the story of the show, it's not a reference work full of facts and dry interviews. For anyone looking for an exhaustive reference work about Only Fools and Horses this is not for you, such books are already available. Too often this kind of book can be deadly dull. They can never be as funny as the subject they are written about and are often simply just a litany of facts about it. Graham McCann's book about Only Fools and Horses is much more than that. It provides a wealth of interesting background material on how the show came about, how some of the show's iconic moments came to be written and how they were performed. There's also material on the earlier careers of the writer and the main stars. Above all it is a very warm tribute to the late John Sullivan, and a well written one at that.

The author provides his own opinion of the show throughout. This is fair enough, it's not a reverential history and it provides an insight into why some of the show's quality varied. If you are a die-hard fan of OFAH and think it never put a foot wrong then this book will not be an easy read. If you are more realistic and accept that like everything else it had high points and low points, then this is a fascinating work on how a TV sitcom is created and produced, nearly disappears and then becomes probably the most popular British sitcom ever.

According to some reviewers the book contains some factual errors. If that is the case, perhaps they should point some of them out so we could all be aware. I'm sure the author would be interested and if the errors are substantiated could then update his book. Either way, it's not something that will bother the general reader.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Very Dissapointing, 5 April 2012
As a huge fan of Only Fools and Horses, and founder and President of the OFAH Appreciation Society, I was very much looking forward to reading this book, ony to be left feeling very dissapointed. First of all, while the book is about the show, it is fair to say that is as equally about the author's own opinions of it--many of which I found to be way off the mark. By far its biggest and most irritating flaw though is the amount of mistakes relating to the show that it contains--I gave up counting at about 20! I know I am in more of a position to notice these than the average person on the street, but still, if you are going to write about and criticise the show (or any show) the very least you can do is get your facts straight. It left me wondering whether the author has actually ever even watched the show and wishing that they had spent as much time and care on this side of things as they have on their personal views. Finally, apart from these views the book doesn't really tell anything about the show that hasn't already been told in previous Only Fools' books. Sorry to say but overall a big let down.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyed it from start to finish, 19 Jun 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
While accepting there are a few inaccuracies in terms of facts here and there, it doesn't detract from the average fan of OF&H really enjoying this book.

I laughed out loud at so many of the show's quotes - even when I knew what the punchline was going to be! Got a few odd looks around the pool where I was reading it.

Great show, great memories, great book - don't let a few minor errors put you off.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars REAL GOLD, 22 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Great insight into the programme and its characters the trails and tribulations John Sullivan endured to come up with the masterpiece the show is.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ONLY FOOLS AND HORSES, 23 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Graham McCann's book is a brilliant read. It gives the full background story to the long-running and very popular tv comedy, and helpfully provides a guide to every episode. A great publication!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars AN INTERESTING READ, 3 Sep 2013
Being a keen follower of OFAH,and yes watching the jumbled episodes of Gold I found this book enjoyable. I took to be an overview of the programme, and not a blow by blow account of each episode and how it came to fruition. This book is for the keen amateur, not the obsessive who will obviously have far greater knowledge of the series, and its nuances. I am not sure I would pay £20 for the book, price from Amazon, but for a good introduction to the genre, and overview of each episode, which I found useful as a reference point then this is a good starting point.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars brilliant, 19 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Highly reommended by my son as I got it for one of his birthday presents.He really enjoyed it as he is a masive OFAH fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very enjoyable, 20 April 2013
I read this book with enthusiasm. I did not notice any of the aforementioned mistakes. I really enjoyed the anecdotes and history of the times.

I am surprised some reviewers are criticising the author for giving his views. After all this is not a reference book.

All in all, I found this book thoroughly enjoyable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Only Fools & Horses - Book, 28 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Delivery excellent. This was a Christmas present for a friend; he hasn't read it yet, but the book was of reasonable quality.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A good read, 14 Aug 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Always loved the comedy show and this book (Only Fools and Horses) I thought was a good read, happy times.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews