Customer Reviews


77 Reviews
5 star:
 (58)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


23 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars KJV: 400th Anniversary Edition
Although I use modern versions of the Bible, I always want to have the Authorised Version (KJV) as a reference and because of its poetic form. This edition is excellent for use in the Kindle and I liked the paragraph style.
Published on 31 Dec 2011 by Brian36

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great KJB, but issues with the software
I downloaded this onto my android for using as a reference back up for study. the text itself is fine, and the typeface can be enlarged to a good size if needed.
My only real gripe is that it is difficult to flip between different books quickly - if I am looking at Matthew, and then want to flip to say, Psalms, and then back to Matthew etc, it is a fairly clumsy...
Published 23 months ago by electricstonehead


‹ Previous | 17 8 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Bible reading, 26 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: King James Bible: 400th Anniversary edition of the book that changed the world (Kindle Edition)
Find this version of the bible hard to read, will continue to persevere, nothing more to say on the subject
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Very good overall - but has no headings per story., 24 Mar 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: King James Bible: 400th Anniversary edition of the book that changed the world (Kindle Edition)
Overall of course this is an excellant bible. However, I used to seeing headings. For instance the feeding of the 5,000. It does not give any headings so one can't find a story.
Of course the Chapters are named.
I decided I'll used a paper one when at home and the kindle on the move.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


40 of 84 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Schitsophrenic, 19 April 2012
This review is from: King James Bible: 400th Anniversary edition of the book that changed the world (Kindle Edition)
As popular as this book is, I don't really see why it has such a wide fan base.

An ambitiously epic work, it is unfortunately very badly written; the book lacks any sense of pace and contains very little in the way of character development. Some of the volumes are essentially unreadable, and most consist of hundreds of un-realised ideas that are never really tied up into a satisfying conclusion. There is no real closure.

The first half doesn't even contain the main protagonist (just his father), and when he does finally turn up, his dad appears to have become a different character. He also gets killed off way too early. I liked the setup of the awkward love triangle formed by the father, Mary and Joseph, but this is never really elaborated upon: an opportunity sorely missed.

The editing is also quite curious... what you might consider to be the meat and bones of the story is repeated 4 times, without explanation. You get the feeling that the collaboration of authors were unable to come to any consensus on how the book should proceed, and the compromises that they have made have caused it to fall far short of their expectations.

Most of the rest of the book is a tedious exercise in bureaucracy.

The strangest (but also the best) bit is at the end. The characters here, whilst a bit one-dimensional, totally kick arse, and there are some pretty good plot twists. I gave it 1 instead of 0 because of this last section, which I feel could have been released alone to provide a much more compelling and coherant read. On its own, I would give that part 4 out of 5, and suggest any fan of fantasy fiction to give it a go.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Paperback Bible, 19 Mar 2013
By 
Mr. R. W. Mellard "r_mellard" (Harrogate, Yorkshire, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
If used, it is so badly made that it will split and fall apart. If you need a cheap one by your be bed, it could work for you.
Not tecommended
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The Bible, 15 Jan 2013
It was ok. Didn't really believe in the main character and the story didn't make much sense. It was also quite preachy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A good fairy story, 13 Jan 2013
By 
M. Dove (Dorset UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: King James Bible: 400th Anniversary edition of the book that changed the world (Kindle Edition)
Best fiction ever. A garbled and much edited history of obscure tribes in Middle East 2 - 3,000 years ago with implausible explanation of the origins of both the Earth and mankind
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 24 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Poorly written in the beginning, huge claims without evidence, 27 Dec 2012
By 
Sytri (Berkshire, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: King James Bible: 400th Anniversary edition of the book that changed the world (Kindle Edition)
How this book could inspire people to let go of their critical thinking and kill people who do not like it is beyond me
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 17 8 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews