Customer Reviews


53 Reviews
5 star:
 (50)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A solidly constructed Waiters Friend, 24 Jan 2012
By 
C. Irwin "Shizzling" (UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Le Creuset Wine Accessories WT110 2 Step Waiters, Black (Kitchen & Home)
Almost a decade ago I bought a Waiters Friend style corkscrew when on holiday in France. In all of the intervening time it served me faithfully until, unfortunately, it got lost on a camping trip.

I decided to replace like with like and ordered a VacuVin Waiters Friend Corkscrew from Amazon. I was tempted by this Le Creuset corkscrew at the time, but I reckoned that one would be much the same as any other and plumped for the cheaper item. Initially I was happy with the Vacuvin, but after about 6 months the metal of the cantilevered silver part of the product sheared off while I was in the middle of opening a bottle. Examining the broken parts I realised there was a stress point at one of the hinges and this had failed because the hinge assembly was not robust enough.

I went back to Amazon and this time I did buy the Le Creuset item, with the intention of examining it before use to see if it looked fit for purpose. I think it is.

The designers at Le Creuset seem to have identified that same weak point and designed around the problem by making the bottom part of the assembly slide. This means that the bottom half of the assembly slides out of the way when you do the first pull on the cork, but when you shift it to use the top half, it slides in line with the bottom half, so that the force is transmitted along the metal rather than through the hinge.

I've only owned it a few weeks but I don't expect this corkscrew to fall apart on me. If it does, I will first eat my hat and then amend this review to let other potential buyers know.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars amazing, 3 Feb 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Le Creuset Wine Accessories WT110 2 Step Waiters, Black (Kitchen & Home)
i work in a busy bar, i would stuggle with a cheap waiters friend. got this, looks sexy, feels great and lastly opens every bottle seamlessly. great buy! and everybody asks to use it and dont bother with thier own now!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Le Creuset wine waiter, 13 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Le Creuset Wine Accessories WT110 2 Step Waiters, Black (Kitchen & Home)
Excellent bit of kit. As with all Le Creuset items, good quality. I wish more bottles of wine came with corks nowadays so I could use it more often
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 2 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Le Creuset Wine Accessories WT110 2 Step Waiters, Black (Kitchen & Home)
Sturdy and easy to use, well worth the money.
Cheaper ones not as easy to use and seem to break quickly
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great bottle opener, 15 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Le Creuset Wine Accessories WT110 2 Step Waiters, Black (Kitchen & Home)
Fantastic bottle opener from a reputable maker. Depending on personal preference some may prefer a 2 pull bottle opener with a hinge rather than a push element to it,like pulltaps/pulltex bottle openers, but without practice and experience these can take longer to learn how to use. (from experience training staff members) I bought this for a work colleague who is used to using a normal manual household opener. For her this is perfect. easy to use, nice to hold, has a decent weight behind it; which for me is a sign of a better quality bottle opener. excellent product. great price
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent product, 23 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Le Creuset Wine Accessories WT110 2 Step Waiters, Black (Kitchen & Home)
Good solid item that feels like it will last for years and more importantly it does as it says on the box,
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best waiters friend, 6 Nov 2012
This review is from: Le Creuset Wine Accessories WT110 2 Step Waiters, Black (Kitchen & Home)
After years of bar and wine work, this is the pretty much the best waiters friend Iv seen.

It's easy to use, looks good, sturdy and I can tell it will last long. It makes ease of bottles that can be normally troublesome!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars so far so good, 3 Oct 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Le Creuset Wine Accessories WT110 2 Step Waiters, Black (Kitchen & Home)
Product arrived promptly. Does what it's meant to do. Looks stylish. Very practical and sturdy so able to deal with those temperamental corks! Would recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great tool, 18 July 2012
By 
Mr. Mark Plant "origamimark" (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Le Creuset Wine Accessories WT110 2 Step Waiters, Black (Kitchen & Home)
Need to open a bottle of wine, and have friends who prefer a beer ? This will handle both requirements easily and stylishly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars ... a present and so far I have heard nothing bad about it, 8 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Le Creuset Wine Accessories WT110 2 Step Waiters, Black (Kitchen & Home)
This was a present and so far I have heard nothing bad about it. In fact, it was very well received.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Le Creuset Wine Accessories WT110 2 Step Waiters, Black
16.00
Usually dispatched within 2 to 3 weeks
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews