Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Listen in Prime Learn more Shop Men's Shop Women's

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars19
4.4 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£11.54+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 20 September 2011
To say that I was a little excited to hear that 'The Rifles' were releasing their third studio album was an understatement. At the same time however, I was slightly concerned that they may feel forced into changing their style to finally make it into the big time. Whilst the new album does demonstrate a more 'radio-friendly' sound, the rifles do not sacrifice what has made them successful to date, that is, bouncy, uplifting music!

Songs such as 'Tangled up in Love' and 'Long Walk Back' are likely to be what this album is remembered for, but these are complemented well by others, 'Falling' being one track that gives everyone a moment to just catch their breath!

It has long been professed that 'The Rifles' are Britain's most underrated band but hopefully with their latest effort, they will be given the opportunity to make chart playlists and be heard at the country's biggest festivals!

Purchase this album and enjoy!!!
0Comment|10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 September 2011
Its 2005, the Rifles enter a music scene bristling with guitar pop with their 7 inch single Peace and Quiet. And it was evident from that point on that they would outlast many of their peers.

Well, no, actually. Truth is they were just one of many bands trying to stand out in an oversaturated scene. Skip ahead to 2011 and they are still here however. Their previous output has admittedly shown increasing promise, and Freedom Run is their best outing yet.

Yes it has harmonies ('Coming Home'), it has strings ('Tangled Up In Love'), and pianos ('Long Walk Back'), and skyscraper guitars ('Sweetest Thing'). They move beyond the Jam model. In this sense Freedom Run is not unlike Falcon by the Courteeners.

But what I like most about this album is an overall feeling of contentment. Gone are the angsty songs about failing relationships and disillusionment, replaced with relaxed songcraft. The walls aren't crashing around them anymore, nor are they looking for something else. Its sounds like they have found that all elusive peace and quiet, and are happy to be there.

It is difficult to see where the band will go from here - they don't seem to be threatening the mainstream (although 'Falling' does scream advert!) and there can't be that much more to say. But it is nice to know the Rifles don't seem to feel they have anything to prove to anyone, and if this is their last album, then its a very fine happy ending.

Picks: 'Long Walk Back', 'Tangled Up In Love', 'Falling'
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 April 2016
Brilliant band, brilliant album! Quite different to their earlier sound but I think this might slightly better, some songs have a beatles feel to them a little. I got this as a gift for my partner who is a fan of this band and he loved it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 October 2014
The Rifles are yet to release a bad album.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 January 2016
Just discovered The Rifles. These are all excellent tunes, melodic with an obvious nod to the sixties. Songs you will love and be singing along to.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 January 2016
A fantastic album from a band whose music is evolving quite beautifully. It sounds like a modern day Beatles album with a bucket of fresh hooks!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 September 2011
The Rifles are a band that I have increasingly learned to appreciate. Their music is catchy and upbeat, and a real pleasure to experience.

This new album does differ from the Rifles previous albums, a fact that I personally like. So be-warned, don't expect 'The Great Escape Part 2'. I know its tempting to create the same old same old if it worked so well the first time, which the Great Escape did, but its nice to see a band trying to be creative and pushing the boundries a little.

This said, if you liked the Great Escape and you are prepared to be a little open-minded you will love this album. Some really good quality well-written songs which you can listen to again and again, and still get something new out of every time.

My favorite song on the album is Eveline. I'm not sure why, it just got me the first time I heard it.
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 April 2012
On first listen I was sceptical of the latest Rifles offering. Entitled "Freedom Run", their third album exchanges the reverb-laden fast-paced indie tunes of albums past for at times almost 60s-esque pop songs, laden with strings, layered vocals and various other things that 2006-Rifles wouldn't have been seen dead producing.

2 or 3 listens later and I was converted. This is a VERY good album. Yes it's poppy at times - almost cheesily positive in places - and sounds nothing like the Rifles (as we have known them up til now). But it is musically VERY VERY good! Try listening to it in the Springtime sunshine without smiling. I challenge you to hear it's melodies without a spring being added to your step (whether you are moving or not... but I should add that this is excellent running music).

It kicks off heroically with "Dreamer" and it's relentless thudding drumbeat, coupled with the first of many beautiful guitar riffs that colour this album. A few songs later we are presented with unbridled positivity in "Sweetest Thing" and "Tangled Up in Love" - something that only really works when the accompanying music is life-affirming to match - check! "Eveline" follows the Smiths' lead in providing harsh/sad lyrics ("I'm gonna clip your wings and break your loving arrow... my Eveline, you're forever mine") with a backdrop of contrasting happy, danceable music. The quality drops off slightly in the 2nd half of the album, but by the time the last refrain of final song "Cry Baby" has sounded, you should be in a thoroughly chirpy mood!

In short, the Rifles have done it again. Will they get a drab of recognition from the music media or record buying public? Of course not! But if that bothered them they surely would have stormed off the indie circuit years ago. Does it bother me? No... all that bothers me is that 3 weeks ago I had virtually forgotten about the awesomeness of this cronically under-rated band.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 February 2015
Fresh find would recommend
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 October 2011
The Rifles have now produced three excellent albums. The latest offering being a somewhat more thoughtful affair with superb atmosphere created throughout the album. Such an underrated band and I really hope Freedom Run gives them the recognition they deserve. Highly recommended and catch them live if you can!
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)