Customer Reviews


31 Reviews
5 star:
 (21)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Imaginative, Magical & Mysterious
I would say that this book is aimed at children aged 9 through to mid-teens, although I am a lot older than that and loved it.

Brian has been left with his grand parents who he has only met on two previous occasions. His father is `missing' and his mother is trying to sort out a new house and a job because of the financial situation they have found themselves...
Published on 11 April 2012 by A. Rose

versus
2 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Brian, His Granddad & The Cup of Ages
The story was very much influenced by the Harry Potter series. Felt the characters chosen were for 'political correctness'. However, was irritated throughout by the spelling and grammar error, mis-punctuation (continually in speech!) and non-recognition of homonyms and homophones. Does no editor read these books, which are obviously self-published? As it is children...
Published on 2 May 2012 by Simone


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Imaginative, Magical & Mysterious, 11 April 2012
By 
A. Rose (UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Brian, His Granddad & the Cup of Ages (Kindle Edition)
I would say that this book is aimed at children aged 9 through to mid-teens, although I am a lot older than that and loved it.

Brian has been left with his grand parents who he has only met on two previous occasions. His father is `missing' and his mother is trying to sort out a new house and a job because of the financial situation they have found themselves in. Very quickly Brian realises that things aren't quite normal at his grand parents house and, although he starts off rather sceptically about magic, he finds himself getting deeper and deeper into a very strange unknown world of magic potions, good monsters and bad demons. Brian becomes friends with two `good monsters', Sam and Hadley and they all meet up with two more children, Norman and Audrey, who also have parents that have `gone missing'. The mystery deepens and with the help of Violet who they meet at the tavern where they are staying in this weird underground world, they tackle fire monsters and demons to try to save their parents, magical rubies and the Cup of Ages. The final two or three chapters are enticingly terrifying cliff hangers that will keep all voracious young readers up until past their bedtime to find out what happens.

I found this story well constructed with rich narrative and imaginative plot lines. There's no need to worry about bad language or anything you wouldn't want your child to read about, it's perfect for all children from 8 or 9 upwards.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars He downloaded this book based on the fantastic reviews and he wasn't disappointed, 4 Feb. 2015
My 8 year old son received a Kindle for his Christmas present. He downloaded this book based on the fantastic reviews and he wasn't disappointed. He loves reading and this book did not disappoint him - he finished the book within a few days and is looking forward to reading the sequel. Judging by the reviews - think I am going to read it myself.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars AMAZING, 20 Feb. 2015
My 9 year old daughter has just finished this fantastic book. It kept her really gripped, with exciting new adventures along the way. Her favourite characters were Sam and Hadley, two funny monsters who always bickered and got up to mischief!! Excellent writing and we look forward to the sequel.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic book....!, 23 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Fantastic read and not just for children. I loved it as much as my sons. Would definitely recommend it. Couldn't put it down. Hope there's more soon from this author!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great read for young adults, 14 Nov. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The story centers around a young boy named Brian who's forced to move in with his Grandparents after his father leaves and his mother has to move away for a new job. No sooner than he arrives than strange things start happening.

After a number of intriguing number of events Brian is suddenly plunged into a world of magic when his Grandfather is kidnapped and Brian is attacked by a fire demon. But help is at hand when Brian is rescued by two friendly monsters, Sam & Hadley, who are rounding up other "at risk" children.

It's among these other children that Brian meets Audrey and Norman who explain to Brian about the magical world he has now been exposed too and all three become firm friends and find out that a powerful demon is trying to gain immortality and has kidnapped their parents to achieve his aims.

From here the three young adventures work together to set about solving the mystery of the disappearing parents and how they can stop the demon. Along hey way they meet a cast of colourful characters and get involved in many exciting adventures.

A great read for young adults.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brillantly magical and it even gets better as you go along, 17 Sept. 2012
By 
frenchie - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Like Harry Potter, they said? Nah! Ok, if you really, really want to make a comparison, you could say Audrey is Hermionish (i.e, a know it all) and that Grandma's rock cakes remind you of Hagrid's cooking (and mine) but no, Brian, His Granddad and the Cup of Ages is a magical book in its own right. So many things, situtations and personages are unique to it. It is brillant, and as you read along, the excitment is growing. It starts a bit slow but pick up the pace pretty quickly. A passage I really liked is the battle of Coffingrave Square on the opening eve of Abner's Antiques Shop. It was truly spectacular and it is only then than Brian discovers his own hidden magical abilities. It is also a story of friendship, loyalty and solidarity. Four children, four different backgrounds, four personalities but one goal. When the leader of the Demons, Deevilmon, is near to defeat Brian, he can only taunt him in triumph by shouting ''You alone cannot defeat me!'' But when Norman (who has been thrown out of his wheelchair) drags himself towards Brian and cries ''But he is NOT alone'' and all the three other children come to the rescue, I felt like cheering.
Ah, you may think, spoiler. Nope, because were all the children strong enough together to defeat such powerful evil being?
Well, read the book and find out.
Brian, His Granddad and the Cup of Agesis a well written book, the characters are very endearing (especially the Monsters and in particular Hadley and Willy Googalak) and plausible, the dialogues are good. Mr Katobi does go on a bit when he makes a speech, but hey, who I am to complain, I think I do the same with my review. I was also pleasantly surprised to see that the book is available in print, too.

But the best part is that I am sure there will be a sequel. It has to be. Because I, for one, need to know what happens to you know who is imprisoned in the Norsip ball. And the author has left a doubt about a traitor. Has the real traitor really been uncovered? I think that alone leaves the door opened for a sequel, am I right? I hope so, because I am ready for more magical adventures.
And undisputed 5 stars from me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A lovely book for children of all ages including......., 6 April 2012
By 
Pyewacket "czarnowice" (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Brian, His Granddad & the Cup of Ages (Kindle Edition)
ones in their 50's! If you and your children are all Harry Pottered out then this book will come as a lovely surprise. Yes, there are similarities to a certain extent as the book has magic in it and monsters too.

Back to the plot. Brian is sent to stay with his Grandparents when his Father suddenly disappears and his Mother is desperately rushing around trying to find a job and also a place for them both to live. His first impression of the house is that everywhere he looks, there are bookcases, even in the kitchen. The books aren't even the kind he would like to read either so he is upset to find himself stuck indefinately in an old fashioned house with two old people.

Things take on a menacing mood very soon when he is awoken one night by screaming which appears to be coming from downstairs. He eventually manages to get out of his bedroom to see what is going on and is met by a monster! I don't want to say too much here as it would be a spoiler. Anyway, another monster appears who seems to have more common sense than the first one and tells Brian that they have to get him out of house as soon as possible. How though? Well, I can tell you this, all the bookcases have a very important part to play in this lovely story.

When Brian and the two monsters (Hadley and Sam) arrive at their destination with Brian, he finds there are two other children who are in the same predicament. Norman who is disabled and in a wheelchair and Audrey. It would seem that their parents have also disappeared much like Brian's Grandparents have. This is where the story really begins in earnest.

I liked this book a lot as the author has made use of a play on words exceptionally well, used anagrams expertly and in general has written a thoroughly enjoyable book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars HARRY POTTERISH, 7 April 2012
By 
Eleni - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Brian, His Granddad & the Cup of Ages (Kindle Edition)
When eleven year old Bryan is send to live with his grandparents after his father's disappearance, he suspects that there is something strange about the kind-hearted but slightly obnoxious elderly couple and their overstuffed house. Soon, he realizes that strange doesn't begin to describe his situation, as his grandparents are kidnapped in the middle of the night, and he is taken by two monsters to the magical city of Coffinsgrave, travelling through bookcases. In Coffinsgrave, along with his new friends Norman, Audrey and Violet, he learns incredible things about his magical inheritance and embarks on a perilous adventure, determined to save the magical community, find his father, and reunite with his grandparents.

The book is well written and the plot is imaginative and gripping. The characters, especially the four children, are well developed and believable, and I definitely think that young readers can identify with them. The story beautifully conveys the message that friendship, bravery and determination conquer all. Also, I thought that the idea to use books and bookcases to travel from place to place, was brilliant and very original.

I don't usually like to compare books, but as I can see that some enthusiastic reviewers here found this better than the Harry Potter series, I could not resist the temptation. The influence in both plot and characters is undeniable, and the book does aim at J.K. Rowling's readers, who miss Harry Potter, after the end of the series, but I wouldn't go as far as to say that it is better.

Although I enjoyed reading this book, I found the ending a little disappointing and I am worried that it might even be disturbing for some young readers, so I think it is best for parents to read this book before giving it to their children.

I was given a free copy by the author, but that did not influence my opinion in any way.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Totally Readable........Love It!, 26 Sept. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I bought this thinking my children would love to read it.....they haven't as yet had the chance 'cos I am!
I think it is very well structured towards teens and adults alike, and I find at the end of every chapter I want to read more.

The plot is suitable to its target audience, it has some good twists and the dialogue is appropriate to the characters ages. I can't wait to find out what happens in the end.

What a great book, highly recommend it :-)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars For readers who like little monsters- ages 9 and up, 6 Sept. 2013
This is a great children's book for ages 9 and up about a boy named Brian who goes to live with his grandparents for a while and finds out that they are strange....and then two monsters come into his bedroom and the adventures begin....so if your child likes furry monsters, they will love the book.

I gave a smart 9 year old this book to read...he is not done yet, but he told me that he is really liking it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews