Customer Reviews


56 Reviews
5 star:
 (30)
4 star:
 (13)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (6)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Clear voice, accurate, but large and a bit chunky
I was after a speaking watch for some time, purely for use at night when it's difficult to see a normal watch.

PROs
----
Accurate; it gets a time signal every day (assuming you're not living in a lead-lined room, and even then you can just leave it on the window sill during the day and it will pick up the time within a few minutes)

Clearly...
Published 12 months ago by Ralph Bacon

versus
7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A BIT ON THE LARGE SIZE
It may be that I need to go to Specsavers, but in the pictures I see what looks like a conventional sized ladies watch. In reality it is as large as a man's watch - worth bearing that in mind if you want something subtle. It's working fine though so no complaints on that score.
Published on 19 Dec 2012 by Amazon Customer


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Clear voice, accurate, but large and a bit chunky, 10 Dec 2013
By 
Ralph Bacon "Aresby" (Milton Keynes, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lifemax/RNIB Ladies Talking Atomic Watch 407.2 with Strap (Watch)
I was after a speaking watch for some time, purely for use at night when it's difficult to see a normal watch.

PROs
----
Accurate; it gets a time signal every day (assuming you're not living in a lead-lined room, and even then you can just leave it on the window sill during the day and it will pick up the time within a few minutes)

Clearly spoken. Although during the day you might think "not loud enough, surely?" I can assure you that at 2am it's more than loud enough. Man's voice, BBC English, and optionally will speak the date too.

Large face with nicely contrasting black hands and white face (other options are available too but this seemed the easiest to read).

Not only is it accurate the voice and hands all match up so you don't have to adjust it. Not ever, not even after the daylight saving hour. Brilliant!

CONs
----
Large for a 'ladies' watch, but as it's primarily for the partially sighted it's probably a good thing.

Chunky. OK, this was probably the biggest surprise, in how thick it was from front (the watch face) to the back of the watch, probably due to all the electronics. Not a deal breaker but not the most stylish of watches for day use. However, if you are visually challenged then its function will be of much more importance than how chunky it is. And as I said, it's only used at night.

Strap was leather with a buckle. Useless for quick changes. So I replaced it with an expanding bracelet from a market man-in-a-van and it's great. Annoyingly, other models in the same range come with either a bracelet (clasp) or expanding bracelet strap just not this black-hand on white face version. Typical.

Conclusion
----------
Excellent for what it is intended for. A bit chunky for day-to-day use and certainly larger than most 'ladies' watches but you must remember who it's aimed at. I'd buy this again, most certainly.

---

[If you found this review helpful please up-vote; it you didn't, don't down-vote - leave a comment to help me improve this and my other reviews]
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Talking Watch, 13 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lifemax/RNIB Ladies Talking Atomic Watch 407.2 with Strap (Watch)
I bought this watch for my mother and we are both impressed at how easy it is for a person with limited sight to use. She will not have to worry about how to check the time because the radio signal does it all for her. She can now easily check on the time and know that it is accurate.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lifemax Ladies Talking Watch, 2 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lifemax/RNIB Ladies Talking Atomic Watch 407.2 with Strap (Watch)
The first watch I received caused some problems after about 2 weeks.
Firstly the battery gave out,so I had that replaced at a well known jewellers.
This was quickly followed by the watch unable to keep any sort of time,which was
very confusing at first because the instructions are quite complex. After several
attempts of setting the time it became obvious that the watch was faulty.So I returned
the watch to Amazon , who sent me a replacement very promptly. The replacement watch
has worked like 'clockwork',excuse the pun', and I am more than happy with the product.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A BIT ON THE LARGE SIZE, 19 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lifemax/RNIB Ladies Talking Atomic Watch 407.2 with Strap (Watch)
It may be that I need to go to Specsavers, but in the pictures I see what looks like a conventional sized ladies watch. In reality it is as large as a man's watch - worth bearing that in mind if you want something subtle. It's working fine though so no complaints on that score.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars PERFECT, 10 Nov 2013
By 
Mr. M. Powell (uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lifemax/RNIB Ladies Talking Atomic Watch 407.2 with Strap (Watch)
NO SETTING NEEDED. WENT STRAIGHT TO CORRECT TIME.
GREAT PRODUCT FOR BLIND GRANDMOTHER.
TAKES AWAY ALL THE FRUSTRATING RESETTING OF THE NON ATOMIC MODEL.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Watch for mum, 27 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lifemax/RNIB Ladies Talking Atomic Watch 407.2 with Strap (Watch)
Perfect for the job! Mum is very forgetful but now she has the day
Date and time at the press of a button. Excellent!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Too bulky, 11 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lifemax/RNIB Ladies Talking Atomic Watch 407.2 with Strap (Watch)
The clock face was perfect but the watch on the whole was far too bulky. This was a gift for my daughter who has very small wrists, she said the bulkiness made the watch very uncomfortable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars TALKING WATCH, 24 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lifemax/RNIB Ladies Talking Atomic Watch 407.2 with Strap (Watch)
My wife is registered blind and has found this watch easy to use. It is very sturdy with a good strap but it is slightly on the bulky side.
Very pleased
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Quality Control, 19 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lifemax/RNIB Ladies Talking Atomic Watch 407.2 with Strap (Watch)
I purchased this Lifemax ladies talking watch and was impressed with it, however after six months a button fell off, and Amazon's replacement service was first class except when I received it, the replacement watch's hands did not work. I think the manufacturer needs to examine their quality control.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Instructions probably too complicated !, 16 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lifemax/RNIB Ladies Talking Atomic Watch 407.2 with Strap (Watch)
Looked good when I opened it, followed the first instruction to set it up, and left it for ages on a windowsill as instructed. Not only did the hands show the wrong time- but the speaking clock didn't say the correct time ,and it didn't correspond with what it said on the watch ! I will have to send it back ,as either it is faulty ,or I just didn't get the instructions right...which were very complicated !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews