Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn more Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars20
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£15.44+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 28 December 2011
Despite this being a fusion of the unlikeliest of styles, i.e. Scottish/Irish folk,bluegrass,jazz,classical, this is music making of a very high order, played with great feeling and virtuosity. There is a cohesion between the musicians that usually only comes after years of playing together. The "Average Customer Review" has been pulled out of shape by somebody elsewhere giving it one star because it didn't arrive wrapped in cellophane, so I feel compelled to accord it five to help redress the balance. Lots to enjoy here, cellophane or no..
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 100 REVIEWERon 2 November 2011
Chamber bluegrass eh? Who'd have thought it? I'm not big on classical music but can only admire Yo Yo Ma's enthusiasm for taking on new projects and you know this one shouldn't work, yet somehow it does. Starting with a traditional Irish/Scottish reel in Attaboy, this style is revisited in various other tracks whilst other styles are tried out on the likes of a bluesy Quarter Chicken Dark, traditional folk on Here and Heaven, a more classical style piece in Franz and the Eagle and the haunting No one but you. The closing track is the only dissapointment for me varying as it does between jazzy avant garde breaks and off-kilter classical sort of stuff. Whilst possibly the most ambitious track on the album it jars against the melodic breezyness of the other tracks and its abrupt ending leave one rather in the lurch. It's a shame as the rest of the album is superb and the combo work well together. Still highly recommended though
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 April 2013
Bluegrass by internationally renowned classical musicians. Lots of fun being had by all. Thoroughly recommended for either American folk or classical fans.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 August 2014
For the adventurous listener, these performances show just what a collective of superb musicians there is on this disc. This may not be initially to everybody's taste. But be patent and you will discover something that is musically exciting, with outstanding recorded sound. I have a hunch this will gather new friends if there is any justice out there.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 January 2016
Phenomenal album by these renowned musicians, I wouldn't say no to another collaboration. Aoife O'Donovan and Chris Thile's harmonising vocals are flawless on Here and Heaven and No One But You are flawlessly beautiful. Here and Heaven is one of my all time favourite songs, incredible strings, amazing musicians.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 December 2015
Yo-Yo Ma has produced some brilliant jazzy CDs, as well as some supreme Classical work. My favourite, of the 'jazzy' type is 'Appalachian Journey.' 'Goat Road Sessions' doesn't have the same immediate appeal, for me. But I shall listen to it often.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 November 2011
The last track is ended so abruptly that it leaves you with a deep feeling of "I want more!". This is not classical or blues or jazz or Irish/Scottish music per se but a mixture of all of them with a couple of tracks rounded with the angelic voice of Aoife O'Donovan.

These guys surely have had great fun making this album. It's noted they understand each other very well and each one should be very generous because being geniuses as they are playing their own instrument, the balance between them sounds perfect.

Highly recommendable!
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 February 2014
Amazing CD. I saw these guys live at Hollywood Bowl and couldn't get enough. Never thought I'd be a big fan of bluegrass, but if it's always like this, sign me up!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 February 2013
Near perfect fusion of modern classical with bluegrass and the odd hint of celtic folk thrown in. I came to this from a love of Chris Thile and the Punch Brothers.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 February 2012
Let's be fair, this is beautiful music, but it feels pretty po faced. I was expecting more irreverence and, simply, joy but it was not forthcoming. What should be virtuoso musicians having fun with a popular format, feels instead like the stiffness of the concert hall brought to the square dance. Despite repeated listening I still feel this way. Sorry.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£10.99
£12.01

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)