Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Music Making.
Despite this being a fusion of the unlikeliest of styles, i.e. Scottish/Irish folk,bluegrass,jazz,classical, this is music making of a very high order, played with great feeling and virtuosity. There is a cohesion between the musicians that usually only comes after years of playing together. The "Average Customer Review" has been pulled out of shape by somebody elsewhere...
Published on 28 Dec 2011 by STEVE (Millport, Scotland)

versus
2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Too serious.
Let's be fair, this is beautiful music, but it feels pretty po faced. I was expecting more irreverence and, simply, joy but it was not forthcoming. What should be virtuoso musicians having fun with a popular format, feels instead like the stiffness of the concert hall brought to the square dance. Despite repeated listening I still feel this way. Sorry.
Published on 1 Feb 2012 by smahman


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Music Making., 28 Dec 2011
This review is from: The Goat Rodeo Sessions (Audio CD)
Despite this being a fusion of the unlikeliest of styles, i.e. Scottish/Irish folk,bluegrass,jazz,classical, this is music making of a very high order, played with great feeling and virtuosity. There is a cohesion between the musicians that usually only comes after years of playing together. The "Average Customer Review" has been pulled out of shape by somebody elsewhere giving it one star because it didn't arrive wrapped in cellophane, so I feel compelled to accord it five to help redress the balance. Lots to enjoy here, cellophane or no..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Goat Rodeo sessions, 3 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Goat Rodeo Sessions (Audio CD)
It takes some listening to but the more you listen the more you hear- it's my favourite c.d.- it just gets better and better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simply brilliant, 18 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Goat Rodeo Sessions (Audio CD)
This is one of the albums I put on when I want to feel good. Great music. I can't say it any better than that.
C
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bluegrass by maestros, 14 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Goat Rodeo Sessions (Audio CD)
Bluegrass by internationally renowned classical musicians. Lots of fun being had by all. Thoroughly recommended for either American folk or classical fans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Everything and more, 29 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Goat Rodeo Sessions (Audio CD)
I just love this CD, it is great to play in the car on long journeys, or just have as my Sunday music(or any day music for that matter)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars YoYo and friends...what more is there to say?, 19 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Amazing CD. I saw these guys live at Hollywood Bowl and couldn't get enough. Never thought I'd be a big fan of bluegrass, but if it's always like this, sign me up!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars PK, 18 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Goat Rodeo Sessions (Audio CD)
Great album.
Something very special by a group of very talented musicians.
Chris Thile is a man genuinely interested in creating good sounds.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderfully balanced mix of styles., 8 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Near perfect fusion of modern classical with bluegrass and the odd hint of celtic folk thrown in. I came to this from a love of Chris Thile and the Punch Brothers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars amazing, 8 Feb 2013
By 
John William Mckissock (barcelona) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Goat Rodeo Sessions (Audio CD)
Great service, and fantastic CD. Cant take it out of the CD player, a must for all serious music lovers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic, 16 Jun 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Goat Rodeo Sessions (Audio CD)
This album is great from the start to the end!

I listened quite repeatedly to is the first days and was enthralled, than I listened to it again a few weeks later and still liked it very much.

The musicianship on this album is very high and the song very diverse. I highly recommend this album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Goat Rodeo Sessions
The Goat Rodeo Sessions by Yo-Yo Ma (Audio CD - 2011)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews