Customer Reviews


71 Reviews
5 star:
 (37)
4 star:
 (20)
3 star:
 (9)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


61 of 62 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Really enjoyed this series
I'm a big fan of crime dramas and always have higher hopes for British ones. I really enjoyed D.C.I Banks particularly because the stories were really gripping and I always love a good 'who dunnit?' mystery which most of the episodes are. The series follows D.C.I Alan Banks and the Serious Crimes Unit and a series of murder mysteries which the force are called to. Each...
Published on 17 Nov 2011 by Miss S. Hocking

versus
27 of 30 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A bit disappointing
I have read and enjoyed most of the books by Peter Robinson but these adaptations leave a fair bit to be desired! I don't understand why the books haven't been filmed in chronological order so that the personalities of the characters can be developed though the series. Annie Cabot is especially poorly portrayed with none of the depth of relationship she and Banks have...
Published on 3 Mar 2012 by Learning is fun!


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

61 of 62 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Really enjoyed this series, 17 Nov 2011
By 
Miss S. Hocking (Cornwall) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: DCI Banks [DVD] (DVD)
I'm a big fan of crime dramas and always have higher hopes for British ones. I really enjoyed D.C.I Banks particularly because the stories were really gripping and I always love a good 'who dunnit?' mystery which most of the episodes are. The series follows D.C.I Alan Banks and the Serious Crimes Unit and a series of murder mysteries which the force are called to. Each double episode (there were three stories so six episodes) has a self contained plot but the character's own subplot stories continue throughout the whole series. The very first double episode isn't quite as good as the second and third (my main reason for 4 stars) but it's still really great so push past if you find it a bit slow. The storylines are actually really clever especially 'Friend of the Devil' and 'Cold is the Grave' and got quite creeped out by the latter as it's so well written.

UPDATE!! - As I purchased this DVD but reviewed it based on watching when it was broadcast on TV, I've only just noticed a lovely surprise. I didn't know before this series, there was a double episode called 'Aftermath' that was broadcast in 2009/10 and this is included in the box set so an extra double episode for you - which was actually very good also!

D.C.I Banks himself takes a while to become likeable but I really grew to like him as the series progressed, and that's the same for the other characters but as they are more revealed you grow to like the whole team.

The acting is pretty good too, not really amazing but enough to keep you interested. Overall, a good crime drama that keeps you guessing with really original story lines. I'm hoping for another series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


38 of 40 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Outstanding, 3 Dec 2011
By 
Markus Ronald "Ronnie" (Israel) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: DCI Banks [DVD] (DVD)
I have given this series five stars, because it deserves five stars. I love police dramas and this series is up there with Waking the dead, Silent witness and anything by val mcdermid and a lot of other great British serials.
Stephen Tomkinson is just a natural as DCI Banks. ITV could not have chosen any better. He just moulds into the role and there is nothing pretencious about the guy which makes him so believable. The cases are hard and at times not easy to watch as we see the worst in human beings. This is not done for show or ratings, but merely to show how evil people can get. Dci Banks comes across as your average copper and he is far from that. There is a lot more to him than meets the eye and his character developes with the series.

Hopefully ITV will continue this great series as it has tremendous potential. With so much rubbish on tv today this series was a breath of fresh air and i recommend it most highly. So put it in your Christmas stocking!

Not for the faint of heart!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars rebus..... metcalfe...... thorne..... now DCI Banks, 25 Dec 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: DCI Banks [DVD] (DVD)
i missed this when it was on TV and had been ooooh and aaaaaaaahing about whether to buy it or not, but after reading reviews on here, i took a chance and thank god i did. the pilot two parter aftermath started off well, did kinda lose it at some points (not in a bad way) still enjoyable. then the Playing with fire, which was brilliantly enjoyable. kept you guessing.
Friend of The devil another fantastic episode which has a link with the pilot episode (aftermath)
then the final one Cold is the grave which in my opinion is the best one, and i am hoping for a second series. the acting, directing is brilliant and well adapted from Peter Robinson's DCI Bank novel series. i thought this type of show was dying, after wire in the blood had finished and their hasnt really been any really absorbing detective dramas in awhile. Stephen Tompkinson who i know from BBC's old show In Deep. plays DCI Banks well, though a bit emotionless at times. i havent read any of the novels so i dont know if it keeps to the books or not. so again i am happy that this exists. as waking the dead, wire in the blood, messiah, have all but faded out. with most channels more concerned with ratings and the pointless reality shows yada yada yada... am glad to have taken a chance on this show. great drama from ITV... all we need now is more. i would like to see some adaptations of Peter James Roy Grace novels. but hey have to wait and see...... hope this review is helpful, sorry havent done any of the plots to the stories. im just lazy :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


27 of 30 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A bit disappointing, 3 Mar 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: DCI Banks [DVD] (DVD)
I have read and enjoyed most of the books by Peter Robinson but these adaptations leave a fair bit to be desired! I don't understand why the books haven't been filmed in chronological order so that the personalities of the characters can be developed though the series. Annie Cabot is especially poorly portrayed with none of the depth of relationship she and Banks have. Nor is Banks given any persona outside the police force so we learn virtually nothing of his children, relationship with his ex-wife, love of music etc making him appear rather shallow. This is a great shame as the books should have made excellent television and I've been wondering why they hadn't been filmed before.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Really enjoyed the first 2 episodes...., 29 Feb 2012
By 
Roo B (New Zealand) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: DCI Banks [DVD] (DVD)
... and expect to enjoy the rest! A interesting new detective, played very sympathetically by Stephen Tomlinson.Hope there will be more.....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Terrific police procedural, 16 Jan 2012
By 
Ewan (Sydney, Australia) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: DCI Banks [DVD] (DVD)
Anything with Stephen Tompkinson in it is generally very good. He's an actor who always gets viewers on his side. This is very well written and produced crime. The female sidekick is irritating and a bit of a bitch but she's probably just playing the part as a good actress! The stories are excellent, but they should be because they are from the best selling novels of Peter Robinson. Incidentally the locations and cinematography on this show are exceptional. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brings Peter Robinson's Books to Life, 28 Feb 2014
This review is from: DCI Banks [DVD] (DVD)
There are four "stories" in this series and each one is broken into two parts of 45 minutes each. My partner and I thoroughly enjoyed this series; we found it exciting and very well filmed. Will watch again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Thin, 23 Jan 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: DCI Banks [DVD] (DVD)
I haven't read the books, but the series disappointed me. The first two episodes both ended with a young, unstable female character being harangued by Banks, leading her to a sudden volte-face. I don't mind suspending disbelief, but this is a bit much.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful Scripts, Plots. But..., 1 Jun 2013
By 
Stargazer (St.Kilda, Victoria Australia) - See all my reviews
This review is from: DCI Banks [DVD] (DVD)
I've read with interest several of the reviews on here, and learnt a few things. The first was that this TV series has been transferred from a series of books. I gather that the characters were more detailed than the TV series showed. It makes sense. I couldn't understand the character of DS Annie Cabbot (Andrea Lowe) at all. One moment she and Banks are seconds away from a kiss, then she is telling their boss what her investigations involving Banks, have turned up. DCI Banks (Stephen Tomlinson) has a perfectly reasonable explanation as to why he doesn't confide all to DS Cabbot, and life goes on, seemingly with no recriminations.This of course is nonsense,as one or both of them would be told to put in for a transfer.
The plots themselves are well written, the story lines get our rapt attention and the twists and turns during murder investigations certainly whet the appetite.
Stephen Tomlinson's facial expression is gloomy and stays that way. The weight of the world is on his shoulders, but something more should be required to assist in the characterisation of DCI Banks. Instead, Tomlinson does come across as one dimensional on occasion - this detracts from the series. His turgid delivery of lines adds to this sense of gloom and doom.
In summary DCI Banks as a series has many fine points - at times its plots are captivating, interesting. The characterisations in some cases should have been a lot better than they were - and the Director could have improved on this. I'd give it ***and a half stars if I could - but will settle for four.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars DCI Banks in Brazil, 25 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: DCI Banks [DVD] (DVD)
I love Peter Robinson`s books and these video scripts are very well written.
The actors are also very good. I have just received the second season and
I am looking forward to seeing it.
Best regards from Rio de Janeiro.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

DCI Banks [DVD]
DCI Banks [DVD] by Stephen Tompkinson (DVD - 2011)
7.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews