Customer Reviews


66 Reviews
5 star:
 (59)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Rafferty Masterpiece!
Many would have it that Gerry Rafferty's classic subsequent album 'Night Owl' is his best - but probably only his most memorable by the title being the same as the hit single that was taken from it, but I've always believed 'City To City' to be his best work, and it just so happens to include his biggest selling single 'Baker Street'.

Every track on this...
Published on 26 Mar 2008 by FAMOUS NAME

versus
1.0 out of 5 stars Great album abysmal pressing.
One of my favourite albums. I had two copies of this delivered but the pressing is awful. Surface noise is unacceptable and fidelity is limited. One of the records was warped. At over £30 I would expect more.
Published 1 month ago by Mike Rolland


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Rafferty Masterpiece!, 26 Mar 2008
By 
FAMOUS NAME (UNITED KINGDOM) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: City To City (Audio CD)
Many would have it that Gerry Rafferty's classic subsequent album 'Night Owl' is his best - but probably only his most memorable by the title being the same as the hit single that was taken from it, but I've always believed 'City To City' to be his best work, and it just so happens to include his biggest selling single 'Baker Street'.

Every track on this album is a masterpiece - catchy and memorable after only the first hearing, and I challenge anybody to say otherwise.

Music at its best - a 70s classic!

Five Stars!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Home And Dry, 13 Dec 2011
By 
D. J. Roberts (Hertfordshire, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: City to City [Collectors Edition] (Audio CD)
This is an outstanding remaster. I played the album earlier and am now playing it again as I write.

I am hearing it as intended/recorded for the first time. The original vinyl and cd issues were not very good, but even within this context the sound of this remaster is vast. Rafferty's voice sounded weak and didn't seem to be up to some of the material on the original releases, but not now. His voice is right there, clear, detailed, powerful and expressive. I thought I'd had heard "Baker Street" as many times as I usefully could, but not now. A revelation.

I am hearing things in the arrangements I have never before heard and I have been playing this album since 1978 - "Stealin'Time" is just a different song with huge dynamics, the vocal arrangement of "Whatever's Written In Your Heart" in particular is spine tingling.

The packaging is as rubbish as only EMI could manage. There are no lyrics in the booklet but this is no big thing - every word in every song is crystal clear. But the "bonus" disc on this occasion is really worth a listen.

The sax intro to "Island" has just had me looking round to see if the guy was playing in my room.

To hear one of my most cherished albums like this was beyond all realistic hope or expectation given the sound of the original releases. The music shines and the full extent of Gerry Rafferty's talents is clearly revealed.

This is very,very good indeed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars QUALITY AND QUANTITY, 8 Feb 2005
This review is from: City To City (Audio CD)
Ten tracks all lengthy and not one duff one in sight. This is a very more-ish album, the melodies and harmonies run over the smooth music like silk over genitals!! There is a real warmth to Rafferty's voice and you get the feeling that this man has a sense of humour. There are some really mellow moments in "Stealin' Time" and "Island", some very upbeat moments in "City To City" and "Home And Dry" and theres the very emotionally stirring "Whatever's Written In Your Heart" with its strong gospel like vocal arrangement. The production on this album is spot-on with a good full sound running through it. Once your familiar with this album it will become a healthy addiction...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars They don't make 'em like this any more., 8 May 2007
By 
John Williams (Apeldoorn, Netherlands) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: City To City (Audio CD)
You can tell there are no duds on this album by the way everyone seems to have their own favourite track. Even the classic 'Baker Street' fails to put any of the other tracks in the shade. My own favourite is 'Whatever's Written in your Heart'; so smoothe, so apparently simple, but with a unique compound time signature, layer upon layer, that really pulls you in. Great voice, great saxophone playing, great production. I love all of the songs on this album. No need for a 'best of' collection; they are all here!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


26 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "...I've Been Stealin' Time...But Now I Know It's Time To Cross That Line..." - City To City by GERRY RAFFERTY (Collector's), 11 Sep 2011
By 
Mark Barry "Mark Barry" (London) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: City to City [Collectors Edition] (Audio CD)
*** THIS REVIEW IS FOR THE 2011 2CD 'COLLECTORS EDITION' ***

In truth - I've probably not touched a needle on this vinyl album since I played it to death for the whole of 1978. And re-listening to it now some 33 years after the event on this fabulous new CD - I'm properly taken aback at just how good "City To City" really is. Musically accomplished and lyrically deep - it's a genuine Seventies melodic masterpiece. But let's get to the details of this 2011 sonic overhaul first...

UK released Monday 5 September 2011 as a 2CD set - "City To City: Collector's Edition" by GERRY RAFFERTY on EMI 5099908726728 breaks down as follows:

CD1 (59:09 minutes):
1. The Ark
2. Baker Street
3. Right Down The Line
4. City To City
5. Stealin' Time
6. Mattie's Rag
7. Whatever's Written In Your Heart
8. Home And Dry
9. Island
10. Waiting For The Day
Tracks 1 to 10 are the album "City To City" - released in the UK in January 1978 on United Artists UAS 30104 and April 1978 in the USA on United Artists UA-LA840-G. It reached Number 6 on the album charts in the UK and Number 1 in the USA.

Track 11 is "Big Change In The Weather" - an album outtake that was put on the B-side of the 7" single of "Baker Street"

CD2 (28:57 minutes):
Tracks 1 to 8 are all PREVIOUSLY UNRELEASED - 4 'Original Demo' versions of album tracks - "Baker Street" (3), "Mattie's Rag" (4), "Stealin' Time" (6) and "City To City" (7), an 'Original Demo' version of the B-side "Big Change In The Weather" (2), an 'Early Studio Version' of "Take The Money And Run" (5) and two new short inclusions - "Instrumental Intro" (1) and "Instrumental Outro" (8).

Housed in a 3-way foldout card pack, the 12-page CD booklet is graced (if you could call it that) by JOHN PATRICK BYRNE'S 'original' album artwork - a gruesome cartoon of some biker with bad teeth and a Gerry Rafferty badge on his leather jacket. It was wisely ditched as 'too' much - thereby leaving United Artists to use Byrne's stunning 'guitar in his lap' painting instead. There are hugely personal liner notes by friend and fellow musician RAB NOAKES with the text peppered by photos of the terminally unhip Rafferty with his trademark tinted glasses and straight hair. In truth, the booklet is massively underwhelming, but its shortcomings are quickly forgotten when you hear the opening 40 seconds of "The Ark" - when you're hit by the SUPERB NEW SOUND QUALITY...

Remastered by DENIS BLACKHAM at Skye Mastering in Scotland - the audio quality is truly spectacular - warm, present and full of details you haven't heard before. And when there's hiss present like on the epic slow builders "Stealin' Time" and "Whatever's Written In Your Heart" - it hasn't been engineered out of existence - it's been allowed to breath. After the squashed grooves of the overcrowded 50-minute-plus vinyl album and the dullard EMI CD that's been on the marketplace for decades - every track suddenly feels like a revelation now. I've raved about Denis Blackham's tape work before - he has over 900+ mastering credits to his name across decades of music - Sandy Denny's "The North Star Grassman And The Ravens", Talk Talk's "The Colour Of Spring", the award-winning 2009 7CD Topic Records Box Set - "Three Score & Ten" - this is up there with those much-praised reissues...

Highlights include the jaunty and sweetly musical "Right Down The Line" and the fantastic train-song "City To City". Every instrument on the iconic "Baker Street" is suddenly in your face and has real power. And I'd forgotten just how beautiful "Stealin' Time" is - and with words that now seem sadly prophetic (lyrics above). His love of Irish music comes out in "Mattie's Rag" and the album finishes on the cool and upbeat "Waiting For The Day". The non-album B-side "Big Change In The Weather" makes its first appearance on CD here - and it's a cracker - a great track.

As you can see from the total playing time above, the 'outtakes' on Disc 2 may be short, but they're shockingly good. Mastered by ANDY PATTERSON in 2007, they are book-ended by two new 30-second instrumentals that would have worked beautifully on the finished album, but time restraints probably meant their exclusion. The fully-instrumented demo of "Baker Street" now shows that Rafferty came up with the famous Sax solo note-for-note while "Mattie's Rag" loses the slightly cod-Irish feel of the finished album cut - and is better for it. The 'Early Studio Version' of "Take The Money And Run" is fantastic - the finished song would turn up on his next album "Night Owl" in 1979, but here it's fully formed and 'so' good - a reminder of how 'hooky' his melodies were. Gem-award goes to "Stealin' Time" - the first to be acoustic only and its gorgeous - pared-back and still as powerful as the church-huge finished item on Side 2 of the original album. And when he sings "...so goodnight...yeah goodnight..." on "City To City" you genuinely wish there was more of this. What an impressive songwriter he was.

Niggles - when "Baker Street" was released as a 7" single on 3 Feb 1978 in the UK - it caused an absolute radio sensation. Economically paired down for single release, it packed a HUGE PUNCH. The result - it was played daily - and I mean globally. In the USA alone it clocked up over 1 million radio plays in its first year alone and has been a Rock Radio staple ever since. The point? Track 2 is the full 'album version' running to 6:11 minutes, but the 7" single is an edit at 4:10 minutes and is by far the most commonly known cut - to the point where the full album version may even seem odd to some people. And yet this much-loved single version isn't on a 'Collectors Edition' - a really dumb and sloppy omission. Again the other 2 tracks issued as 7"s off the album were "Whatever's Written In Your Heart" and "Right Down The Line" - also 7" edits at 5:15 and 3:42 minutes respectively - but again a no-show on either. There's ample room for all 3 edits on Disc 1 and they should be on here.

The reproduced John Byrne artwork on the inside of the tri-gatefold card pack is from his 1971 debut solo album "Can I Have My Money Back Please" and is nicely done - but the booklet in thin and mediocre. There are USA and Foreign picture sleeves to most of the singles - not here. The original vinyl album never included the lyrics in the UK - and the new booklet was a perfect opportunity to expand on that - especially as his words were so good and so intelligent. None of the musicians are interviewed - especially HUGH BURNS and RAPHAEL RAVENSCROFT who respectively did the stunning guitar and sax work on "Baker Street". There are no interviews with Billy Connolly his old sparring-partner in The Humblebums or Joe Egan his song-writing collaborator in Stealer's Wheel. On the upside - at least we can now read the track-by-track musician credits on Page 11 of the inlay, which were almost indecipherable on the rear of the original LP sleeve. But the packaging smacks way too much of what EMI could get away with - when you could imagine that if Edsel, Ace or Raven had handled this, it would have 24-page minimum affair - and properly annotated to give the great man the respect he is so clearly due. They may be small pedantic points I know, but they're worth making when EMI is charging you full whack on this. Still - there is at least the superb new sound quality to savour...

To sum up - despite the ok-only packaging, there's a superb new remaster of the album - and outakes on Disc 2 that actually warrant the word bonus.

Born in Paisley, Scotland in 1947, Gerry Rafferty had indeed been "...stealin' time..." and lost his lifelong battle with alcoholism in January 2011. I wish he could be around today to hear the heaps of praise this superb new sonic overhaul will undoubtedly garnish among fans and musicians alike. And I think I now know why Denis Blackham so 'lovingly' remastered this album - both the music and Gerry Rafferty himself engendered huge affection.

Rest In Peace you wonderful songwriter and I hope the "...goodnight train carried you home..."
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Masterly Re-Mastering, 24 Nov 2012
By 
P. H. Cartwright "9f" (Crawley, Sussex, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: City to City [Collectors Edition] (Audio CD)
In the dying days of CD at last someone has properly re-mastered "City to City" by Gerry Rafferty. From time to time I would drag out my LP and put it on the faithful Voyd turntable just to hear how "Baker Street", "Right Down the Line" and all the other great tracks should really sound. No longer. The sound quality of this re-mastered CD is really up to standard. I'm listening as I type this and it's an unmitigated joy. The bonus material just adds to the pleasure.

A great singer/song writer at last gets the sound reproduction quality his talents deserve. Well worth buying even if you have "Baker Street" ten times already.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Right down the line, 17 Jan 2013
By 
GlynLuke (York UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: City to City [Collectors Edition] (Audio CD)
I play this guy`s music as much as I play anybody`s. Once you`ve fallen for Gerry Rafferty`s songs, and that rough-velvet voice, you have to hear more and more.
This is almost like a Greatest Hits, at least the first few tracks are, but nearly every song Rafferty recorded has a sparkle to it. I hadn`t heard this album`s wonderful opener till I bought the CD, a beautiful song called The Ark, which must rank as one of his very best compositions. Then we have a string of stunners: the immortal Baker Street, the gloriously catchy love song Right Down The Line, the busy, ebullient title track, followed by the slower Stealin` Time, then his lovely song to his daughter, Mattie`s Rag.
After that - well, more wonders. Whatever`s Written In Your Heart is another winning song, as are Home And Dry and Island. The album itself closes with yet another great number, Waiting For The Day.
Honestly, I can`t fathom why Gerry Rafferty wasn`t camped out near the top of the charts for most of the seventies and eighties. So many terrific songs, so few actual hits. Everyone who`s ever listened to a radio for more than a day or two will have heard the unignorable Baker Street, but there are so many more songs to discover from this tuneful, lyrically intelligent perfectionist.
There`s an extra track on the first of these two CDs, the B-side of Baker Street, another excellent song called Big Change In The Weather. CD2 is made up of mostly demos, and is a fascinating document in itself.
I`ve come to love this troubled Scotsman more and more, realising what a treasure we had in our midst, and how much he was perhaps taken for granted while he was alive. All his songs are worth hearing. What a legacy!
Gerry Rafferty died in 2011, and he is very much missed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simply the best, 1 Jan 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: City to City [Collectors Edition] (Audio CD)
If you have a top 50 favourite albums, then this one MUST be in it, an absolute classic album from a consumate singer/songwriter. From the first time I ever heard Baker Street, that wonderful sax and electrifying guitar solo and those haunting lyrics I was hooked. This was one of those albums I played the grooves off back in the 70's, in fact, I would probably have to put in my top 10 favourite albums of all time.

The songs are exquisite, well crafted and hit you right in the heart, as well as the afore mentionned London street famous for Mr. Holmes, "Whatever's Written In Your Heart", "Right Down The Line", "The Ark", "Stealin' Time" and "The Island" are just song writing at it's best, I have not emough superlatives to describe this music, f***in' Awesome!!

The benefit of this CD is the extra disc of demo material that adds to your understanding of the genesis of this album, it is a must buy.

The loss of Gerry Rafferty 1 year ago (what an appalling start to 2011) was tragic and left a massive void in the music world continuum, this CD is a fitting tribute, buy it, enshrine it, listen to it every day, this memory must live on.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent songwriting!, 11 Sep 2007
By 
This review is from: City To City (Audio CD)
With colourful harmonies, meaningful lyrics and excellent songwriting, this album is one of the best Gerry Rafferty has made. It is a great album for an introduction to his distinctive sound. Each of the songs has grown on me, in particular I like 'The Ark', 'Right Down The Line' and 'Whatever's Written In Your Heart'. All of his music is very soulful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Start your Gerry Rafferty collection - enhance your life, 5 April 2013
By 
Charles Petrie Jnr (Aberdeenshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: City to City [Collectors Edition] (Audio CD)
Buy this album! Originally issued in 1978, it a collection of timeless, soulful, heartfelt displays of emotion through words, music and singing touched by a higher power. This edition carries welcome additional tracks but the substance is in the original album's songs. Gerry singing makes it sound easy but his vocal range is Orbisonesque, his vocal tone unique and instantly recognisable. His communication goes beyond singer of songs, which catches you in unguarded moments, drawing raw emotive responses that leave you in awe of his talent time and time again. Supported by fabulous musicians and singers that came together and gave the world a perfect gift that keeps on giving, Gerry's musical integrity shines. The much played Baker Street is superb but is not the best song on an album filled with life enhancing tracks - which should give a clear example of the quality here.
I have a fond memory of seeing Gerry at a performance in Aberdeen. He walked on stage to rapturous applause and cheering; when it subsided a lone voice called out of the darkened theatre "Gerry, yer magic!" to which he humbly replied "Thanks very much". Five stars doesn't cover it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

City to City [Collectors Edition]
City to City [Collectors Edition] by Gerry Rafferty (Audio CD - 2011)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews