Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen in Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars12
4.8 out of 5 stars
5 star
10
4 star
2
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£11.43+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 5 October 2011
Glad to see all these tracks on one disc. This provides a master class in how to create the perfect single. All of the A sides here should have been huge hits. Inventive , creative and imaginative but also great fun I have fond memories of listening to the vinyl versions of all of these. How wonderful as well to have the full "Friday The 13th" ep available on cd again. "Limit Club" is a stone cold classic. One of the greatest periods from one of the greatest bands.If you don't own a Damned album this would be the ideal place to start.
22 comments|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 October 2011
The Damned - The Chiswick Singles... And Another Thing (Ace)
The Damned were only signed to Chiswick Records for a couple of years, but it was a successful collaboration, resulting in two albums, the exceptional "Machine Gun Etiquette" and the ambitious but flawed punk-prog epic, "The Black Album". The singles from the period, collected here (with extras) show a band more than willing to experiment, and a group of individuals all mixing different influences into the pot.

Kicking off with their Chiswick debut "Love Song", who can forget the manic pop thrill of Algy Ward's planet rumbling bass intro as first witnessed on Top Of The Pops (circa 1979), as Dave Vanian distorts and disfigures the traditional love song into something brilliantly perverse and intentionally hilarious. Typical line: "I'll be the rubbish, you'll be the bin". "Smash It Up" (banned by the Beeb, of course) encouraged just that, "I Just Can't Be Happy Today" and "The History Of The World (Pt 1)" indicated they were at their pop songwriting peak, and "There Ain't No Sanity Clause" is simply the best punk Christmas song ever.

The b-sides throw up some long mislaid gems. "Noise Noise Noise" is fabulously rough `n' ready, but instantly loveable. Their cover of The Sweet's "Ballroom Blitz" unmistakably features Lemmy on bass and not forgetting the just plain brilliant "Rabid Over You". Add to those many delights the CD debut of the complete "Friday The 13th" EP, and you've another fantastic and essential Damned release from Ace. Well-done chaps!
0Comment|11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 November 2011
Finally a complete release with all the different versions plus, the cherry on the cake, the complete Friday The Thirteenth EP. At last the vocal version of Billy Bad Breaks, the fabulous Limit Club and the Mick Jagger cover Citadel. Me and my 3 year old daughter Alice have been bouncing around the room instead of doing anything useful. Bliss.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 February 2012
Great collection ...... but where's "I'm So Bored" extra track on Lively Arts release. Almost complete. Some of the tracks available on expanded editions.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 January 2012
superb cd of all there chiswick label output, this was the period i got into the band 79ish and MGE was 1 of the greatest punk albums ever sound is excellent and artwork and booklet very detailed indeed..its a must have ...i have a small gripe why was the radio edit of just cant be happy today not included it has diffrent lyrics etc and i could be wrong but i remember having a 12ich copy of sanity clause which was a remix with more pronouced vocals ..but as the chiswick peroid ended with big beat records issuing damned singles...they may have issued this ..no doubt someone will remind me ...BUT FOLKS GET THIS CD Damned / The Chiswick Singles- And Another Thing
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 November 2012
...and if you've ever idly read the scratchings etched into the vinyls, then you'll know what I mean! If, by some benighted chance, you have not had your ears opened to this band previously, then this is a good place to start. What persuaded me to shell out my cash in these hard economic times was the ....And another thing element. As noted by another contributor, 'I'm so bored' is mysteriously lacking, but on the plus side it does include the 'fiddling about' version of Antipope (with some echoes of 'Flowers of Romance'to my ears) which I nearly bought as a hard-up student back in the early eighties but never did, "Over the top" by Motordamn (which prefigures the later 'Vision Thing' by the Sisters of Mercy in its riff - or is it just me? Listen for yourself and decide), and best of all the Friday 13th EP with its estimable version of Citadel by the Rolling Stones.
I'm not sure quite why, but the clarity of the Captain's contribution to 'The History of the World (Part 1)' appears to have been captured here rather more clearly than on the other released 'single' version that I have on 'The Black Album'.
As it says in the blurb on the label, "Definitely not Punk Rock ordinaire."
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 July 2013
So here it is and about time! If you cant find a copy of The Long Lost Weekend get this!

From open to close this is THE DAMNED! Young angry and raw.... they still have it now but this is bits and bobs of the best!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 February 2012
A great collection of Damned Chiswick classics in a beautifully packaged case containing a 28 page booklet crammed with memorabilia and photographs. It's a must have item for every Damned fans collection. I love it. A real bargain.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 February 2012
This was a Christmas present for my husband who is possibly the Damned's greatest fan! He told me it was excellent and had some singles on it that he didn't have (amazing)!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 December 2015
excellent
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)