Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Damned Fine Stuff, 5 Oct 2011
By 
Mr. R. C. Neil "spirit of vambo" (Prestwick Ayrshie) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Damned / The Chiswick Singles- And Another Thing (Audio CD)
Glad to see all these tracks on one disc. This provides a master class in how to create the perfect single. All of the A sides here should have been huge hits. Inventive , creative and imaginative but also great fun I have fond memories of listening to the vinyl versions of all of these. How wonderful as well to have the full "Friday The 13th" ep available on cd again. "Limit Club" is a stone cold classic. One of the greatest periods from one of the greatest bands.If you don't own a Damned album this would be the ideal place to start.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Leicester Bangs Review (2011):, 27 Oct 2011
By 
Leicester Bangs "words-R-us" (Leicester, England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Damned / The Chiswick Singles- And Another Thing (Audio CD)
The Damned - The Chiswick Singles... And Another Thing (Ace)
The Damned were only signed to Chiswick Records for a couple of years, but it was a successful collaboration, resulting in two albums, the exceptional "Machine Gun Etiquette" and the ambitious but flawed punk-prog epic, "The Black Album". The singles from the period, collected here (with extras) show a band more than willing to experiment, and a group of individuals all mixing different influences into the pot.

Kicking off with their Chiswick debut "Love Song", who can forget the manic pop thrill of Algy Ward's planet rumbling bass intro as first witnessed on Top Of The Pops (circa 1979), as Dave Vanian distorts and disfigures the traditional love song into something brilliantly perverse and intentionally hilarious. Typical line: "I'll be the rubbish, you'll be the bin". "Smash It Up" (banned by the Beeb, of course) encouraged just that, "I Just Can't Be Happy Today" and "The History Of The World (Pt 1)" indicated they were at their pop songwriting peak, and "There Ain't No Sanity Clause" is simply the best punk Christmas song ever.

The b-sides throw up some long mislaid gems. "Noise Noise Noise" is fabulously rough `n' ready, but instantly loveable. Their cover of The Sweet's "Ballroom Blitz" unmistakably features Lemmy on bass and not forgetting the just plain brilliant "Rabid Over You". Add to those many delights the CD debut of the complete "Friday The 13th" EP, and you've another fantastic and essential Damned release from Ace. Well-done chaps!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Missing, 12 Feb 2012
This review is from: Damned / The Chiswick Singles- And Another Thing (Audio CD)
Great collection ...... but where's "I'm So Bored" extra track on Lively Arts release. Almost complete. Some of the tracks available on expanded editions.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars at long last, 5 Nov 2011
By 
Gavin R. Turnbull (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Damned / The Chiswick Singles- And Another Thing (Audio CD)
Finally a complete release with all the different versions plus, the cherry on the cake, the complete Friday The Thirteenth EP. At last the vocal version of Billy Bad Breaks, the fabulous Limit Club and the Mick Jagger cover Citadel. Me and my 3 year old daughter Alice have been bouncing around the room instead of doing anything useful. Bliss.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars REALLY DAMNED GOOD, 3 Jan 2012
By 
K. Fotheringham (TAYSIDE,SCOTLAND) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Damned / The Chiswick Singles- And Another Thing (Audio CD)
superb cd of all there chiswick label output, this was the period i got into the band 79ish and MGE was 1 of the greatest punk albums ever sound is excellent and artwork and booklet very detailed indeed..its a must have ...i have a small gripe why was the radio edit of just cant be happy today not included it has diffrent lyrics etc and i could be wrong but i remember having a 12ich copy of sanity clause which was a remix with more pronouced vocals ..but as the chiswick peroid ended with big beat records issuing damned singles...they may have issued this ..no doubt someone will remind me ...BUT FOLKS GET THIS CD Damned / The Chiswick Singles- And Another Thing
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Chiswick Years, 8 July 2013
By 
J. Farnworth "Jeff F" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Damned / The Chiswick Singles- And Another Thing (Audio CD)
So here it is and about time! If you cant find a copy of The Long Lost Weekend get this!

From open to close this is THE DAMNED! Young angry and raw.... they still have it now but this is bits and bobs of the best!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Porky prime cuts..., 10 Nov 2012
By 
D. Parkin - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Damned / The Chiswick Singles- And Another Thing (Audio CD)
...and if you've ever idly read the scratchings etched into the vinyls, then you'll know what I mean! If, by some benighted chance, you have not had your ears opened to this band previously, then this is a good place to start. What persuaded me to shell out my cash in these hard economic times was the ....And another thing element. As noted by another contributor, 'I'm so bored' is mysteriously lacking, but on the plus side it does include the 'fiddling about' version of Antipope (with some echoes of 'Flowers of Romance'to my ears) which I nearly bought as a hard-up student back in the early eighties but never did, "Over the top" by Motordamn (which prefigures the later 'Vision Thing' by the Sisters of Mercy in its riff - or is it just me? Listen for yourself and decide), and best of all the Friday 13th EP with its estimable version of Citadel by the Rolling Stones.
I'm not sure quite why, but the clarity of the Captain's contribution to 'The History of the World (Part 1)' appears to have been captured here rather more clearly than on the other released 'single' version that I have on 'The Black Album'.
As it says in the blurb on the label, "Definitely not Punk Rock ordinaire."
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Another Great Damned CD!, 13 Feb 2012
This review is from: Damned / The Chiswick Singles- And Another Thing (Audio CD)
This was a Christmas present for my husband who is possibly the Damned's greatest fan! He told me it was excellent and had some singles on it that he didn't have (amazing)!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A must have for any Damned fans, 6 Feb 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Damned / The Chiswick Singles- And Another Thing (Audio CD)
A great collection of Damned Chiswick classics in a beautifully packaged case containing a 28 page booklet crammed with memorabilia and photographs. It's a must have item for every Damned fans collection. I love it. A real bargain.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 18 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Damned / The Chiswick Singles- And Another Thing (Audio CD)
nice
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews