Customer Reviews


37 Reviews
5 star:
 (23)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent tool that get the job done right and correctly
I purchased this tool because I had broke the retaining clip off of a Cat6 Ethernet cable I have going into my router. The Ethernet cable I have is around 20 meters long and is boxed in, so rather than removing the boxing (which would be a hassle) I thought it would be easier for me to just replace the connector on the end of the cable instead.

So with this in...
Published on 31 Oct 2012 by Fatboy

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars good average item
quite a solid crimping tool, not the most precise tool i have ever owned but does the job. i bought it for the 10 rj45 plugs included, saving me having to buy separate but they were really poor quality. Wrong length heads mean they do not clip into the sockets.
Fair priced crimper, arrived promptly, would buy from these guys again.
Published 12 months ago by Mr. Alwyn Evans


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent tool that get the job done right and correctly, 31 Oct 2012
By 
Fatboy (Cumbria, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Modular Plug Crimp, Stripping & Cutting Tool includes 10 RJ45 Plugs (Electronics)
I purchased this tool because I had broke the retaining clip off of a Cat6 Ethernet cable I have going into my router. The Ethernet cable I have is around 20 meters long and is boxed in, so rather than removing the boxing (which would be a hassle) I thought it would be easier for me to just replace the connector on the end of the cable instead.

So with this in mind I needed to purchase this Modular Plug Crimp, Stripping & Cutting Tool (which is a must and is needed if you are replacing the connectors) to put the RJ45 connectors onto the cable.

This was the first time I had put one of these connectors onto the cable and it was a fairly easy job with this Modular Plug Crimp, Stripping & Cutting Tool. This tool has two cutting/stripping blades. These done an excellent job at cutting through the RJ45 cable. Also next to the bottom blade is a little cut out. With this cut out you place the RJ45 cable in it, close this tool, and turn the RJ45 cable 360 degrees, then open the tool. This perfectly cuts through the outer insulation, but leaves the thin 8 wires/insulation untouched. You then just remove the cut piece of outer insulation to reveal the 8 wires.

After placing the wires in the correct order and pushing them all the way into the Cat6 RJ45 connectors I'd purchased separately Cat6 RJ45 LAN Crimps Ends Connectors TWO PIECE Bag of 10.

It was then just a matter of inserting the RJ45 connector into the appropriate place in this tool, I then kept pushing the cable into the RJ45 connector to ensure that the wires were right up at the far end of the connector for correct placement, then while doing this I closed/clamped down the tool to push the gold connections onto the wires. Don't be scared to apply too much pressure has a lot of pressure needs to be applied to ensure the gold connectors are pushed all the way down, if they are not, then you will not be able to insert the RJ45 connector into the router.

This was the first time I had attached an RJ45 connector and with this excellent, and excellent quality tool it allowed me to do the job easily and correctly.

If you will be doing and occasional bit of RJ45 connector replacement (like me) then this tool should serve you well.

The tool is excellent value for money, especially when you get 10 RJ45 Cat5 connectors with it too, which would probably be around £2-£3 on their own.

I can highly recommend this tool!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent tool., 13 Sep 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Modular Plug Crimp, Stripping & Cutting Tool includes 10 RJ45 Plugs (Electronics)
Having never attached an RJ45 plug to a cable before I was a little apprehensive about using the tool. However after watching a couple of vids on Youtube I found it really easy to use. It worked perfectly first time - a good tight connection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars good average item, 6 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Modular Plug Crimp, Stripping & Cutting Tool includes 10 RJ45 Plugs (Electronics)
quite a solid crimping tool, not the most precise tool i have ever owned but does the job. i bought it for the 10 rj45 plugs included, saving me having to buy separate but they were really poor quality. Wrong length heads mean they do not clip into the sockets.
Fair priced crimper, arrived promptly, would buy from these guys again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Tool has so far not disappointed... plugs is a different story, 24 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Modular Plug Crimp, Stripping & Cutting Tool includes 10 RJ45 Plugs (Electronics)
As the subject line reads, the tool has so far not let me down and has worked a treat. The plugs are of poor quality though and break easily.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good value for money and fairly straight forward to use, 4 Nov 2014
This review is from: Modular Plug Crimp, Stripping & Cutting Tool includes 10 RJ45 Plugs (Electronics)
The tool performed as expected, very easy to use and you are provided with a pictorial explanation for each cutting blade associated with the device. If you are unfamiliar with terminating RJ45 connectors to Ethernet cables then there are a number of good You Tube videos available to help.

The Ethernet plugs are of reasonable quality so not sure why some previous reviews said they were poor.

Good value for money
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars First crumpets worth every penny, 12 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Modular Plug Crimp, Stripping & Cutting Tool includes 10 RJ45 Plugs (Electronics)
This is the first crimpers I have bought and it is worth every penny. Arrived on time and does exactly as it says on the tin.
I got this as part to help wire a home network project. The extra rj45 plugs was a nice touch and to be honest they were the little extra that helped me buy this product :-)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars ... a few cables so far and so far so good., 3 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Modular Plug Crimp, Stripping & Cutting Tool includes 10 RJ45 Plugs (Electronics)
Have done a few cables so far and so far so good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Pins don't line up, 15 May 2014
By 
M Ward (Bedfordshire, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Modular Plug Crimp, Stripping & Cutting Tool includes 10 RJ45 Plugs (Electronics)
The crimping tool has worked fine, and all 10 plugs work, but they needed to be crimped twice turning the tool round in between to get a fully working plug.

The RJ45 plugs are handy, but a little loose when connected to my switch.

Overally, can't complain at the price, but does require a bit of a work around
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Absolute rubbish, 2 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Modular Plug Crimp, Stripping & Cutting Tool includes 10 RJ45 Plugs (Electronics)
Crimping teeth of tool out of line with plug when inserted to crimp ends of cable also blob of paint stuck to one of the crimping teeth.
Widened jaw fixing holes out in an attempt to line jaws up with the eight copper blades in plug, to no avail jaws would not crimp with any positive action. Tried three plugs none crimped
Should have listened to myself when ordering ,because I know if you buy cheap you invariably buy twice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Something dont work right, 14 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Modular Plug Crimp, Stripping & Cutting Tool includes 10 RJ45 Plugs (Electronics)
Either the crimp or the ends are dodgy as the first end I used crimped OK but after that, the rest of the pins on the ends I used would result in the 2 end pins not being crimped as on closer expection when pushing the crimp tool together, the pins slipped off the prongs and did not get pushed in. Had to reverse in the crimp and crimp 4 times
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews