Customer Reviews


217 Reviews
5 star:
 (102)
4 star:
 (51)
3 star:
 (26)
2 star:
 (9)
1 star:
 (29)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars FIGHT, LOVE, LIVE
The movie opens with a brief historical background. Europe is in turmoil and only three French superheroes can save it!

As the main characters are introduced we get a quick feel for the movie that it will be light, humorous, Indian Jones adventurous, with our heroes emulating superheroes as they enter the secret vault of Da Vinci to steal his invention plan for...
Published 18 months ago by The Movie Guy

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars There Can Only Be One For All
The Three Musketeers has been out of copyright for a long time now. So long in fact that we have seen dogs playing the main characters (and I'm not talking about the Kiefer Sutherland version of the film). No matter how far `Dogtanion' stretched the source material, that 80s cartoon was a perfect book to screen adaptation when compared to `Resident Evil' director Paul W...
Published on 18 July 2012 by Sam Tyler


‹ Previous | 1 2 322 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Horrible, painfully unfunny mess, 9 July 2013
By 
Flmfn (Netherlands) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Three Musketeers [DVD] (DVD)
How Paul W S Anderson is still in the film business is beyond me (and many others, judging by IMDB). He was a one-hit wonder with the excellent sci-fi horror Event Horizon, but has produced, directed nor written anything worth watching ever since (and thought that having the highly overappreciated Mila Jovovich star in almost every project he has done since was a good idea...). I watched this film because it stars two of my favorite actors, Matthew McFadyen and Mads Mikkelsen. Unfortunately, I had to cringe my way through almost 2 hours of watching these two very talented actors humiliate themselves in the most anachronistic, unfunny and unexciting "adaptation" (I use that term very freely here, as really this has about as much to do with Dumas' novel as ninjas and airships have to do with early 17th century France) of the well-known story.

I can appreciate a good tongue-in-cheek action/adventure movie and anachronisms don't bother me (a historian) either, if the film they're in is done well. This drivel however proved a total waste of time. Perhaps it's fun for an audience of under ten-year-old boys, but nothing more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Une version incroyable et ridiculeuse but fun, 26 Aug. 2013
By 
Ken Raus "Ken Raus" (Lugdunum) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: The Three Musketeers [DVD] (DVD)
Dumas meets Verne in this comic cartoon version of Les Trois Mousquetaires which is played mainly for fun like a steam punk 21st century Carry On Musketeering which has a very good orchestral score.

I can't comment on the 3-D as I bought a French dvd which may run slightly shorter for the option of a French dub for linguistic authenticity which,of course doesn't bother most lazy Commmonwealthers at all but it does give this popcorny film that little frisson of realism removing the generic and smug posh and cockney accents that homogenised Spielberg and Jacksons The secret of the Unicorn and indeed,the Lord of the Rings...without the dub 1630's English soldiers at the Tour de Londres speak French albeit that's slightly more likely then as than now.

As to the thespians,a fat English comedian plays his stereotypical silly self in a cameo no different to his buffoon role in Lesbian Vampire killers which was great fun despite its relative critical panning and teutonic amazon Jovovich does her killer feminist acrobatics from her series of sci-fi films,a Dane does his one-eyed psychopath again so that the film is full of typecasty tropes which makes the style a tad predictable but still zesty enough bubblegum fun for all that,it's a populist not literal or literary version...to make true versions of famous books one would need the money for filmy lengths inattentive audiences might not even find endurable like The Lord of the Rings was which was exceptional because of the much more recent Tolkien book cult that underpins the films in which Bloom wore fair hair and blue eyes like the Englishman he doesn't look like here-his performance in this film is excellent,though,even an advance for an actor oft accused of woodenness which isn't apparent here.

Le cinematographie est tres bon,the film is enjoyable and it entertains and is only marred,for me,mainly at the end by a musically lame extro by an old boy band but this use of popular music is becoming a fashion in the dumbing down of literature in an illiterate age and few will mind...good to know Dumas is seen by those who probably don't read.Lesbian Vampire Killers [DVD] [2009]Resident Evil [DVD] [2002]Valhalla Rising [DVD]The Lord of the Rings Trilogy (Extended Edition Box Set) [DVD]Bathory: Countess of Blood [DVD]Sleepy Hollow [DVD]
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars 3 Musketeers!, 10 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Three Musketeers [DVD] (DVD)
I love ordering from Amazon as I know I receive my items in perfect condition and this was no different. I arrived before the estimated delivery date and was an ideal film to watch with my nephew.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Proposterous but entertaining "sailpunk" travesty of Dumas, 10 Dec. 2012
By 
Marshall Lord (Whitehaven, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Three Musketeers (Blu-ray 3D + Blu-ray) (Blu-ray)
Anyone who reviews more than a handful of Hollywood big-budget films is likely to run out of ways to say "entertaining nonsense." Even within a crowded field of films answering that description this travesty of Alexandre Dumas's novel is an extreme example - it is nearly as entertaining as the first "Pirates of the Caribbean" film and even sillier than the third one.

I would be tempted to apply the cliche "so bad it's good" except that, from the bizarre espionage mission in Venice with which the film opens to the surprise ending, the actors and director clearly knew exactly what they were doing - having fun without taking history, the original book, or the laws of physics too seriously, and shamelessly stealing ideas, plot devices, visual presentation and wardrobe ideas from everywhere from "Mission Impossible" to "The Matrix."

Indeed at least one piece of blatant plagiarism was from Mattel's "Barbie and the Three Musketeers [DVD]" where one of the villains of this version of the story, Milady de Winter (Milla Jovovich) takes a leaf from the book of the heroines of the Barbie version by removing the long skirts of her elaborate court costume before carrying out an acrobatic burglary in which she has to penetrate utterly anachronistic anti-theft defences.

If the genre of retro science fiction or alternative history which has people adapting nineteenth century technology to build machines with 21st century capabilities long before such devices actually existed is sometimes called steampunk, the extreme examples in this film should perhaps be called sailpunk. They feature such things as dirigible airships, which is unlikely enough in the 1620's, and which appear to be able to control their movement using sails for propulsion, (oh please!) and to have enough lift to carry a heavy armament including traditional 17th century cast-iron cannons (yeah, right!) and a huge and crude 17th century version of the maxim gun.

The acting, given that it aims for fun rather than sophistication throughout, was excellent. D'Artagnan is played by Logan Lerman but the dominant figure among the heroes is Mathew MacFadyen as a brooding and cynical Athos. Ray Stevenson is entertaining as a hedonistic Porthos and Luke Evans as the pious but lethal Aramis. This bunch of musketeers scarcely needs additional comic relief but it is provided anyway by casting James Corden (Smithy from, and one of the writers of, Gavin and Stacey) as the servant Planchet, who in this version is servant to all the musketeers (in the book they had one each).

Orlando Bloom is both amusing and sinister as the Duke of Buckingham, presented as being both a super-spy and ruler of England in all but name just as as Cardinal Richelieu (Christoph Waltz) is the most powerful man in France.

I don't think it's much of a spoiler to give away that Constance in this film (Gabriella Wilde) does not appear to be married: she has some amusing exchanges with D'Artagnan, while Juno Temple plays Anne of Austria and Freddie Fox plays Louis XIII.

Special effects were extraordinary and probably part of the reason that you could suspend disbelief so easily in what was basically such a preposterous film that it should never have worked. But if you watch it strictly for laughs, it does.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Three Muscateers, 29 Nov. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Three Musketeers [DVD] (DVD)
A familiar story but updated for newcomers. It's fun, with a likeable cast and great family viewing.Perfect popcorn film for all!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars 3D Enhances the experience!!!, 31 May 2012
This review is from: The Three Musketeers (Blu-ray 3D + Blu-ray) (Blu-ray)
I liked this movie in 2D. But as I am a great lover of 3D, I thought to try this in 3D and I am not disappointed. As the movie is shot in native 3D, the depth holds well in almost every scene. The 3D works well in the scenes of Airships and all explosion scenes where the debris pops towards the viewer. The movie is best enjoyed in 2D, but the 3D adds to the experience. The 3D works well but it's not Cutting-Edge 3D (So 4 stars), even though it's shot in Native 3D. I recommend to try this in 3D as the price is less for a 2 Disc Combo pack.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good vs Evil romp, I loved it, 29 Feb. 2012
By 
S. R. Cantle "Filmlover" (Hampshire UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Three Musketeers [DVD] (DVD)
I was surprised at how much I enjoyed this 21st century take on the Musketeer saga. The main focus thankfully is action rather than character development and you can feel the input of Andrew Davies on what is a comedy script. No-one takes much of it very seriously, with the action and special effects, which are excellent, driving the film on quickly, with plenty of surprises. I especially liked Ray Stevenson as the heavy musketeer and Mads Mikkelson reprising his role from Casino Royale as the baddie. In fact all of the male leads were excellent. The main female leads by contrast were much more restrained and really could have hammed it up a little more. Milla Jovovich (She who was The Fifth Element) in particular could have made a lot more of her chief female baddie part and the casting of the other main actresses was a little flawed I think. But all in all, a highly entertaining movie and certainly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Awful Rubbish - the 3 Musketeers this is NOT !, 7 Dec. 2012
This review is from: The Three Musketeers [DVD] (DVD)
My problem with this heap of rubbish is not the direction and not even the fairly wooden acting (although having seen the actors in other things their poor performances are almost certainly down to Anderson) - No, the worst part of the film is the script !

This is not, by any strectch of the imagination, "The Three Musketeers" as Dumas wrote it, or even as Dumas dreamed it in his worst nightmares. This is a utter piece of utter crap and follows Hollywood's usual failure of trying to compensate for a poor script with lots of special effects. There is a zero level of historical feeling and an even lower level of plausibility - you have to be a very unusual person to 'suspend disbelief' on this one !

If you want a Three Musketeers movie then go for Lester's version and if you want this sort of thing then simply stay with Anderson's other stuff. This really was a case of can I have two hours of my life back please ? Watching this was a complete waste of time, it didn't entertain on ANY level.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Visually astounding!, 1 Mar. 2012
This review is from: The Three Musketeers [DVD] (DVD)
The picture is one of the best you're likely to see and not only that, the design of what you're seeing is astounding. This really blew me away and despite a very average last third, there was so much to look at I didn't seem to mind.

It starts off really well with good writing, comedy and fun/interesting characters. It's fair to say I was entertained all the way through, despite the obvious and slightly dissapointing ending. I thought there would be more and that it would be a lot cleverer and intricate than it was.

Kids will love it and most adults (who haven't turned to the darkside of endless jibbering politics, war and finance to the detriment of all their relationships) will have a good time too. You definitely need to have the light of youth, or a at least a few cherished embers (regardless of age), to enjoy a film like this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not what I was expecting, 4 July 2014
This review is from: The Three Musketeers [DVD] (DVD)
As much as I like the story of the musketeers this film is unfortunately quite poor. It's cheesy in places with cringing moments and overall it is too farfetched. The film has a good list of actors but the story does not do the much loved tale justice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 322 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Three Musketeers (Blu-ray 3D + Blu-ray)
The Three Musketeers (Blu-ray 3D + Blu-ray) by Paul W.S. Anderson (Blu-ray - 2012)
£5.80
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews