Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen in Prime Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.0 out of 5 stars291
4.0 out of 5 stars
Format: Blu-ray|Change
Price:£5.52+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 13 January 2013
the film is a weird mix of steampunk and knockabout comedy with a nod to Pirates of the Caribbean in passing. If you ignore the fact that you know the original Dumas work, it is excellent.
The service, delivery etc was great
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 January 2016
Visually excellent. Great fun. Dialogue was good. Logan looked like a little boy around those heavy weights, although his sword play action was excellent. I laughed a lot. Much, much better than might have been the case.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 March 2014
Great film. and great service.
I originally watch this film in 2D. But Now I have 3D TV I thought I would have another look. Much more enjoyable. You get totally immersed in the film and the quality is amazing.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 March 2012
SPOILERS (Although there's not much to spoil).

Basically, reading the reviews on this film, people fall into two categories. The first are people who loved this as it was "action packed" with "great visuals" and could appreciate the deliberate parody style. The second are people who barely recognised the Three Musketeers Story at all, as it was so diluted with Hollywood style cliché and sheer stupidity.

I get it, some movie executive said "Hey, you know the Three Musketeers? Well why don't we re-do it but with loads of CGI, loads of explosions and over the top action sequences? After all, they've just done it with Sherlock Holmes and that was successful right? Oh yeah, and in the process we'll throw in some completely fictional stuff like flying air ships just to jazz up that completely commercially unviable old story that Dumas wrote!"

Now I know this film is obviously aimed at a certain demographic. I also am fully aware that this film was deliberately over the top to almost parody levels. However for me it fell way short of the mark. If it wanted to be a parody, it was no where near funny enough. If it's sole purpose was to be an over the top action flik then it achieved that in spadefuls but was just too much. Those that think that a film crammed with CGI can forego story telling, plot, acting, cinematography, finesse, tension, characterisation and subtlety will love this, much like they probably loved Transformers.

Well, I'm sorry, but I'm with the other people on this forum who hated this film.

It's like someone has found a copy of Alexandre Dumas' The Three Musketeers and fed it into a machine that drains everything admirable from it.

The story is weak. Really weak. How can planting a diamond necklace in The Duke of Buckingham's possession and making it look like he's having an affair with the queen of France make it so that the Cardinal can take power exactly?

The acting, particularly Bloom is laughable. To say that he is hammy in this film is like saying that the Great Wall of China is 'a big wall'. And don't even get me started on James Cordon. I'm not his biggest fan at the best of times but the only character in any other film that is anywhere near as annoying was Jar Jar Binks in The Phantom Menace. Yes, he really is that irritating in this film. Also, what's going on with the accents? The French court is made up of American, Continental and English accents. Eh? At least make the effort to make everyone speak with the same accent.

Other issues: Flying airships? Martial arts? Gatling cannon? Need I say more?

As another reviewer has already said in his review, this is not an attack on the action genre. I, like many others, love action films. This film however, is a cheap hack job on a classic story. It's obviously meant to be a tongue in cheek adaptation of the original story but it has gone waaaaaay to far. It has no style, substance or even enjoyability as it is so ridiculous in it's execution.

In short, a complete mockery of a fantastic story with absolutely nothing redeemable about it. There will undoubtedly be people who say "you didn't get it" and for the record, I'd like to set those people straight. I did get it. Really I did. It's just that it was so appallingly executed that it was almost cringe worthy to watch.

There are loads of excellent adaptations of The Three Musketeers. For crying out loud, don't waste your time and money with this farce.
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 July 2014
Have seen better.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 May 2014
I love all the films on the three musketeers since I was a small child many many years ago. now its for the grandchildren to enjoy these swash buckling stories bang up to date in magnificent 3d wow
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 October 2013
Poorly acted, but still great fun, with some amazing special effects.

An exciting, swash-buckling adventure that all the family can enjoy.

I look forward to the sequel.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 December 2013
Mary had a little lamb and every where Mary went the lamb was shire to follow.
Jack and Jill went up the hill to fetch a pail of water.
Humpty Dumpty had a great fall.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 September 2014
NOT BAD
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 October 2013
I love the three musketeers and hadn't expected much from this one but actually it was great and fun, great effects and really good 3d. A surprisingly good watch.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)