Customer Reviews


152 Reviews
5 star:
 (66)
4 star:
 (38)
3 star:
 (17)
2 star:
 (6)
1 star:
 (25)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Surprisingly entertaining period romp
I didn't have particularly high hopes for this latest version of Dumas' ripping yarn but, by 20 minutes in, I found myself thoroughly enjoying it. If you can excuse the steampunk styled anachronisms, this movie actually follows the original novel reasonably closely. We have the dashing young d'Artagnon from a noble but impoverished family, heading to Paris to seek fame...
Published 16 months ago by Cartimand

versus
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars We had an off day...
After failing in a scheme to steal Leonardo Da Vinci's airship blueprints, the Musketeers are disbanded by Cardinal Richelieu leaving Athos, Porthos and Aramis on the streets of Paris.

D'Artagnan has set off from Gascony with dreams of becoming a musketeer himself, not realising that they have been disbanded.

D'Artagnan manages to offend Athos,...
Published 1 month ago by Mr. Corey S. Newcombe


‹ Previous | 1 216 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Surprisingly entertaining period romp, 2 Dec 2012
By 
Cartimand (Hampshire, UK.) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: The Three Musketeers (Blu-ray 3D + Blu-ray) (Blu-ray)
I didn't have particularly high hopes for this latest version of Dumas' ripping yarn but, by 20 minutes in, I found myself thoroughly enjoying it. If you can excuse the steampunk styled anachronisms, this movie actually follows the original novel reasonably closely. We have the dashing young d'Artagnon from a noble but impoverished family, heading to Paris to seek fame and fortune. Advised by his father not to shy away from trouble, he soon picks fights with the evil Rochefort (superbly played by Mads Mikelsen) followed by three battle-hardened and world-weary Parisians, who turn out to be the musketeers of legend. The Macguffin of the queen's jewellery is in here too and Milla Jovovich as Milady is far more convincing and comfortable than she was as Joan of Arc.

It's fun. It's witty. It's a bit camp (the fashion-conscious King Louis and Orlando Bloom's Buckingham in particular). The 3D is quite impressive and adds an extra element to the already significant amount of eye-candy on offer here. Blu-ray picture quality is exceptional. The soundtrack is pretty good and very clever use is made of surround sound.

Obviously you'll need to suspend disbelief to a significant degree at the zeppelin dog-fight sequence but, if you're looking for a swashbuckling romp that is played with huge gusto and showcases the 3D medium almost to the degree of Avatar or Prometheus, The Three Musketeers 3D is certainly worth a look.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars We had an off day..., 14 Mar 2014
This review is from: The Three Musketeers (Blu-ray 3D + Blu-ray) (Blu-ray)
After failing in a scheme to steal Leonardo Da Vinci's airship blueprints, the Musketeers are disbanded by Cardinal Richelieu leaving Athos, Porthos and Aramis on the streets of Paris.

D'Artagnan has set off from Gascony with dreams of becoming a musketeer himself, not realising that they have been disbanded.

D'Artagnan manages to offend Athos, Porthos and Aramis on different occasions and challenges them all to duels.

However before the duels can take place they are attacked by guards, trying to arrest them for illegal duelling. The ex-musketeers and D'Artagnan fight off the soldiers, leading to the four men becoming a band with the motto of "All for one, and one for all".

Count Richelieu is not only determined to be rid of the musketeers, but also schemes with Athos' former lover Milady to undermine the reign of King Louis and his wife....

I usually like Andersons movies. They are all lambasted by studios, but since his movie 'shopping' I have enjoyed his popcorn flicks, because they aim to entertain the masses, and not to bother the grey matter.

It stops here. From the word go, I knew I wasn't going to enjoy this, one was because it was in 2-D and it vexed me that every character at one point aimed something at the screen, and secondly, it seems that Anderson has become self aware and has just made a movie that even he wouldn't enjoy.

It's nonsense and no amount of talent on screen can make up for the turgid script, lame performances and the longing for Alan Rickman to appear on screen and chew the script up.

There is no continuity and even though the though of airship battles and bullet time flips were endearing, on screen they feel old.

It's a rare case of me thinking that the 3-D may have improved the film, and the twist of the knife was the promise of a sequel.

Never before have I longed for Sheen, Sutherland, and Platt.

A bad movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


47 of 53 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Behold! The Clockpunk Musketeers!, 26 Nov 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Three Musketeers (Blu-ray 3D + Blu-ray) (Blu-ray)
As the other reviews for this film will suggest, it's best to watch this film expecting a swashbuckling adventure which gleefully dispatches with historical accuracy - if you're wanting an adaptation which is true to the historical period in which the Dumas novel was set, you'll only be annoyed by this film (I can't remember D'Artagnan being Californian in the book...).

Instead, think of this film as a cover version of the Dumas story by Jules Verne fans cranked up on sugar, which replaces horses and carriages with airships. The expected armoury of swords are accompanied by the King Louis XIII era's version of machine guns. If something can be blown-up, it will be. If a device can be given a steam-punk or, indeed, clock-punk makeover, the production design department will be all over it.

The performances are mostly fine - though Matthew Macfadyen is an excellent stand-out as the cynical Athos - and most of the actors seem to have been given free reign to have fun with their characters. Orlando Bloom, as the Duke of Buckingham is channelling Ziggy-era Bowie and wearing Lady Gaga's dancers cast-off wardrobe to marvellous effect.

I suspect that nobody in the cast was under the impression that they were in an Oscar-bait film and have calibrated performances accordingly, nobody more so than the charmingly villainous anti-hero of the piece, Cardinal Richelieu, embodied by Christoph Waltz as part-venerated religious leader, part-Snidely Whiplash schemer, leading a merry dance around his foppish royal charges with a smoothly venomous look in one eye and a manner which recalls the affronted surprise of a career politician caught with his fingers in the biscuit barrel.

The action set-pieces are lavishly mounted and conceived presumably to be at their most effective when presented in 3D - I saw this theatrically in the format and can only imagine that in 2D you will be wondering why every sword fight has to find a moment for a stray blade to jab out at the audience and why every explosion is intended to make you literally duck in your seat as thousands of wooden splinters make a bee-line for your eyes.

Your enjoyment of this movie (and it is certainly a movie rather than a serious artistic statement rendered in celluloid) may pall if you're unconvinced by the current obsession with making every film a 3D spectacular. If you view this film instead as a cheeky, B-movie crowd-pleaser which has no pretensions towards being anything other than a breathless, knowingly absurd adventure, you'll have a great time with it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Abysmal, 14 April 2014
This review is from: The Three Musketeers [DVD] (DVD)
Poke your eyes out with sticks rather than sit through this phenomenally bad film. Ray Stevenson is the only actor not hamstrung by mis-casting and D`Artagnan has a face (and a stupid wig) you would never tire of punching which, along with some cheap-looking CGI and Paul Anderson`s heavy hand on the tiller (when will he stop casting his squeeze, Milla, in his tatty films?), results in a stinking mess that all involved apparently thought would launch a franchise! Comedy indeed!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars rubbish, 20 Feb 2014
By 
I. Donnelly "idon" (UNITED KINGDOM) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Three Musketeers (Blu-ray 3D + Blu-ray) (Blu-ray)
waste of money avoid,wish i had of held on to my finances,there are much better versions of the three Musketeers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Rubbish, 26 Dec 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Three Musketeers [DVD] (DVD)
Watched it with my son. I don't mind films that you don't have to ponder over if the action is good. Poor action and fight scenes which is what the film is about.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Horrible, painfully unfunny mess, 9 July 2013
By 
Flmfn (Netherlands) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Three Musketeers [DVD] (DVD)
How Paul W S Anderson is still in the film business is beyond me (and many others, judging by IMDB). He was a one-hit wonder with the excellent sci-fi horror Event Horizon, but has produced, directed nor written anything worth watching ever since (and thought that having the highly overappreciated Mila Jovovich star in almost every project he has done since was a good idea...). I watched this film because it stars two of my favorite actors, Matthew McFadyen and Mads Mikkelsen. Unfortunately, I had to cringe my way through almost 2 hours of watching these two very talented actors humiliate themselves in the most anachronistic, unfunny and unexciting "adaptation" (I use that term very freely here, as really this has about as much to do with Dumas' novel as ninjas and airships have to do with early 17th century France) of the well-known story.

I can appreciate a good tongue-in-cheek action/adventure movie and anachronisms don't bother me (a historian) either, if the film they're in is done well. This drivel however proved a total waste of time. Perhaps it's fun for an audience of under ten-year-old boys, but nothing more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 25 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars All for one and one for all, 20 Oct 2011
By 
Mr. R. W. Graham (Lincoln, U.K.) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This is a good fun romp, the latest version of the classic tale is not to be taken seriously in any way whatsoever. Done very tongue in cheek with good action scenes and decent performances, this is a good fun film the whole family can enjoy though it has to be taken with a huge pinch of salt as 17th century airshps do battle. Yes, you read that right, airships. The cast are all good, all the classic characters are there, D'artagnan, Porthos, Aramis, Athos, Milady, Rocehfort, the Cardinal, it starts with the musketeers on a mission impossible type mission that goes wrong, then goes to a year later with D'artagnan heading to Paris to be a musketeer, the classic story, and gets involved in a plot involving Lord Buckingham and his airships. The film is daft, yes and takes liberties with the plot of the novel but as i said it's all done very tongue in cheek with everybody involved hamming it up like there's no tomorrow. And the end screams sequel.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Worst version ever!, 15 April 2014
This review is from: The Three Musketeers [DVD] (DVD)
Logan Lerman is the worst actor ever. Every time he was on screen I cringed. I felt embarrassed for the other actors. This is truly awful. Just to recap - Logan Lerman was truly terrible. A major plot device was an insult to his horse. I can confirm that the horse is a better actor than Logan Lerman. in fact Logan Lerman was so bad that I started to think that Tom Cruise could actually act - yes Logan Lerman is that bad.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A well known tale with a twist, 28 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Three Musketeers [DVD] (DVD)
Good clean fun with the same old story. Add in the twist of the air baloons and it's just the same tale, updated a bit and with something to beef the story up a bit. Suitable for kids of virtually all ages with lots of swords, little in the way of violence, music, bangs, a classic goody , bady (dressed in black) a villian and a heroic youngster. Good stuff with lots of bit parts by well known big name stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 216 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xb42314a4)

This product

The Three Musketeers (Blu-ray 3D + Blu-ray)
The Three Musketeers (Blu-ray 3D + Blu-ray) by Paul W.S. Anderson (Blu-ray - 2012)
5.25
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews