Customer Reviews


39 Reviews
5 star:
 (16)
4 star:
 (16)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Negative Scanner
What a great bit of kit, I have transformed hundreds of negatives into positives, so simple to use , couldn't praise it highly enough.
Published 21 months ago by Bridget Donald

versus
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars OK but very basic
simple to use quick to set up. Getting negatives into the holder is difficult - the lug to hold the negative is badly positioned. My main critism is the the lighting on the base of the unit is uneven, resulting in photos from negatives being lighter at the sides than in the middle, and vice versa for slides.
Published 13 months ago by Colin Mackay


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Negative Scanner, 24 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: GMYLE (TM) 35mm Negative Film Slide Scanner USB 5.15 Mega CMOS Sensor Digital Image Photo Color Copier Windows
What a great bit of kit, I have transformed hundreds of negatives into positives, so simple to use , couldn't praise it highly enough.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars USB power problem ?, 28 Jan. 2014
This review is from: GMYLE (TM) 35mm Negative Film Slide Scanner USB 5.15 Mega CMOS Sensor Digital Image Photo Color Copier Windows
I was given this scanner as a present and have used it to scan numerous slides and negatives from the 1970s with reasonable results. I have read other reviews of this item saying that the scanner only worked intermittently. I had a similar problem with the scanner at first but realised if I plugged it into the USB connectors on the rear of my desktop PC it worked correctly but if plugged into the front USBs, sometimes the scanner worked, sometimes other times it didn’t. I assume the USBs on the front of the PC cannot supply enough power to run the scanner. I am happy with the scanner now I realise how to make the unit work correctly
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars works well, 30 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: GMYLE (TM) 35mm Negative Film Slide Scanner USB 5.15 Mega CMOS Sensor Digital Image Photo Color Copier Windows
does exactly what i need the slide container was a bit fiddly to open but once used a few times became easier
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars This slide scanner does the job well, 9 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: GMYLE (TM) 35mm Negative Film Slide Scanner USB 5.15 Mega CMOS Sensor Digital Image Photo Color Copier Windows
Having had a slide scannner before which was impossible and ineffective to use, this is extremely the opposite. It iis simple to use and does the job well, even on 30-year-old slides. Excellent value.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Recomended Modification, 4 Sept. 2014
This review is from: GMYLE (TM) 35mm Negative Film Slide Scanner USB 5.15 Mega CMOS Sensor Digital Image Photo Color Copier Windows
Works well and fairly easy to use. Software was a bit slow to load on Windows 7 but did it in the end.
One thing I could not understand was why the film negative and side holders have a thin plastic inlay over all the holder window holes, this was bonded-in and was not a protective cover as such.
My tip to improve the image quality more is just to pull of the plastic strip and you will see a slight improvement in the clarity and colour of the your negatives (and presumably slides as well). To prove this before you remove the plastic strip just put a negative into the scanner without the holder and save the image then do a comparison with the same image in the holder with the offending plastic strip still fitted. It will be fairly obvious to you then that the plastic strip will soon be heading fairly rapidly to the nearest bin. Why they fitted it I have no idea, it's would not be needed as a heat shield from the light source within the unit as it almost certainly uses a fairly cool running LED.
Having said all of the above, if you do the above modification I recommend (takes no time at all to remove) it will do a fine job on most of your old snapshots. So get them out of your loft and buy this scanner and have some fun.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars OK but very basic, 27 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: GMYLE (TM) 35mm Negative Film Slide Scanner USB 5.15 Mega CMOS Sensor Digital Image Photo Color Copier Windows
simple to use quick to set up. Getting negatives into the holder is difficult - the lug to hold the negative is badly positioned. My main critism is the the lighting on the base of the unit is uneven, resulting in photos from negatives being lighter at the sides than in the middle, and vice versa for slides.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars New Possibilities in my Photo World, 27 Nov. 2012
By 
Lynn Ross (Brodick, Isle of Arran, Scotland) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: GMYLE (TM) 35mm Negative Film Slide Scanner USB 5.15 Mega CMOS Sensor Digital Image Photo Color Copier Windows
I'm very pleased that I can now digitise my slides at a reasonable price, something I've been wanting to do for years. The samples I've tried have worked out well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars works just like it said on the box, 6 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: GMYLE (TM) 35mm Negative Film Slide Scanner USB 5.15 Mega CMOS Sensor Digital Image Photo Color Copier Windows
This item is ideal if you have a pile of photos in packets in the drawers with the original film still inside. I had a pile of 35mm film strips that needed scanning and uploading to my laptop and it worked very well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars GMYLE (TM), 20 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: GMYLE (TM) 35mm Negative Film Slide Scanner USB 5.15 Mega CMOS Sensor Digital Image Photo Color Copier Windows
Simple software. Simple hardware. Easily understandable. Efficient to use, and high degree of electronic content. Result with slide pictures excellent
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Negative film scanner, 17 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: GMYLE (TM) 35mm Negative Film Slide Scanner USB 5.15 Mega CMOS Sensor Digital Image Photo Color Copier Windows
Simple and easy installation instructions, nice to see old negatives that you forgot about being saved to computer, I'm a pensioner and found it so simple, would recommend to a friend
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews