Customer Reviews


89 Reviews
5 star:
 (33)
4 star:
 (26)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (8)
1 star:
 (15)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


61 of 62 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good value and efficient
Fast delivery. Easy to assemble (1 hour for one person). Machine doesn't take a lot of space. You are low seated, but movements are very efficient. You do a complete work out of your body. I had one before but this one is more productive. The only thing I was afraid about was being to tall. Fortunately it was no problem. You should not be over 6.2 ft. I just hope it will...
Published on 17 Dec 2011 by MarcelDoorschodt

versus
99 of 103 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Mine is going back!
I am not the strongest of men but this machine was very disappointing. I was hopeful given there was magnetic functionality. But even on the highest setting there was little resistance and it felt like no workout whatsoever. I called the manufacturer's helpline and they said that this product was more aimed at older people or ladies! I am going to invest in a more...
Published on 25 Feb 2012 by SVP


‹ Previous | 1 2 39 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good rower for the price, but needs setting up properly., 26 May 2013
By 
M. Rigby-Jones (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Body Sculpture Rowing Machine - Orange (Sports)
Many people have complained that even on the highest setting, this rower doesn't provide enough resistance. Mine was the same, and additionally it also made an annoying rattling noise on the highest setting. Both of these problems can be resolved in 15-20 minutes of work with some basic tools:

1 x Philips screwdriver
1 x 10mm spanner
2 x 13mm (or the original assembly tools that come with the machine)
2 x 14mm spanners

If you don't have two 13 and two 14mm spanners then an adjustable spanner will suffice for the second one, or even two adjustable spanners.

Resistance is controlled by a curved band of magnets that is moved closer to, or further from a cast iron flywheel. The adjustment action can be seen if you remove the computer from the front panel. The closer the magnets can be moved to the flywheel, the greater the resistance will be (this design uses an effect known as "eddy current braking").

Start by removing the footrests (2x 13mm spanners, the assembly tools). You than need to remove the orange/silver plastic housing around the flywheel/magnet assembly. There are two silver self tapping screws on each side that attach the housing to the chassis of the machine. Additionally there are five more self black tapping screws on the left hand housing that attach the two plastic halves together. All these screws need to be removed, making a note of the holes where the silver ones go.

With the plastic housing removed the cause of the rattling on my rower was obvious, one of the M6 screws that holds the pivot for the magnet band had sheared, clearly it had been overtightened at the factory (coupled with rather soft screws as well). I replaced both screws with high tensile socket headed screws simply because I had some. The holes that locate this pivot are slotted, and this forms one part of the adjustment required to maximise resistance on the highest setting.

1) Set the rower to maximum resistance.
2) Adjust the magnet band pivot pivot by slackening the two screws. The aim is to make the gap between the magnets and the flywheel as equal as possible over the entire length of the magnet band. It may be useful to insert some thin card between the magnets and flywheel to help with this. Once done, you will probably end up with a gap of around 2-3mm. Ensure your adjustment is not disturbed when tightening the two screws on the pivot.

The gap can now be minimised by slackening the two nuts on either end of the spindle that holds the flywheel in place, using the 14mm spanners. There is an adjuster at either end of the spindle with a 10mm nut, exactly like the chain adjuster on a motorbike.

3) Slacken both 10mm nuts by 1/2 turn and tap the spindle back (towards the magnet band) on each side to take up the slack.
4) Check the magnet clearance and repeat 3) until clearance is minimised without touching the flywheel.
5) Tighten up the two 14mm nuts on the flywheel spindle.
6) Check the operation of the rower on maximum setting to ensure the magnets do not touch the flywheel (you will hear a scraping noise if they do).
7) If you hear a scraping noise, slacken the 14mm nuts again, tighten the two 10mm nuts by about 1/4 turn and re-tighten the 14mm nuts. Repeat until you achieve maximum resistance without the magnets touching.
8) Re-attach the plastic housings to the machine, and re-fit the footrests.

This adjustment has significantly increased the resistance on my rower, and is well worth the time taken. The above may sound complicated, but it is more difficult to describe in words than to do; it is not a difficult job if you have some basic DIY skills. Overall this isn't a bad machine for the money. Build quality is adequate in most areas, but the machine is let down by slapdash assembly of the flywheel and magnet assembly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars NOT FIT FOR PURPOSE, 2 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Body Sculpture Rowing Machine - Orange (Sports)
I bought this rower even though the reviews were mixed thinking that someone will always complain even when something is pretty good. From the start the resistance mechanism was jerky and made strange noises, not instilling confidence. After five months of light use the mechanism broke and would not rewind. I contacted Amazon and they supplied a replacement. After six months of even lighter use this one as now also ceased to operate with the same fault. It as now gone in the skip! Oh, by the way, the seat is very uncomfortable and the seat rollers slowly disintegrate leaving a filthy black dust covering everything. I could go on but I'm sure you get the idea, DON'T BUY ONE.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars body sculpture rowing machine - orange, 18 Aug 2012
This review is from: Body Sculpture Rowing Machine - Orange (Sports)
This machine broke down after 1 month of use. Amazon customer service was good as they replaced the broken machine without any fuss in a very short period. However, the replacement machine also broke (exactly the same problem as before) - the problem was the recoil mechanism snapped after about a month's use. I would advise people to avoid this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Fails after a few months, spares unavailable, 15 Nov 2013
This review is from: Body Sculpture Rowing Machine - Orange (Sports)
I bought one of these elswhere in April 2013. In October the recoil mechanism failed.

I think that is poor as I only use it about an hour a week.

Worse, I have been unable to obtain spares from anywhere. I tried the UK distributors but they did not bother to reply.

If you want a disposable rowing machine then I suppose this for you but otherwise I recommend going elsewhere.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars The co, 30 Jan 2013
By 
Gordon Blunt (Rochdale England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Body Sculpture Rowing Machine - Orange (Sports)
the construction is weak and flimsy lasted about seven weeks by that time the draw fabric was fraying, the fixing screws which held it had worked loose athe pulling retun spring over wound tand locked. The design is very poor
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very Good, 17 Aug 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Body Sculpture Rowing Machine - Orange (Sports)
I am extremely pleased with this rowing machine, at first I thought that the tension levels were a bit weak ( thought I needed the highest) but when you really get working it and try to do 15/20 mins you find that you need a lower tension!! After only 1 weeks use (once a day, I noticed a difference) so I am very happy with this product and happy with Amazons delivery (I live in Spain) Only one downside and that is in the 'so called' folding option, my advice is find a place to put your machine and leave it there, the folding option is very difficult.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Not impressed, 21 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Body Sculpture Rowing Machine - Orange (Sports)
Yes, it is easy to mount, nice looking and practical with its folding capability but I agree with some of the reviewers, even at maximum setting, you don't have to work very hard so I would not recommend it for
serious work-outs.
Also, there is some fine black particles coming off from the plastic wheels rubbing on the beam (underneath the seat). It made me cough, not very healthy.
The worse thing was that after using it for 6 weeks, about 45 minutes-1h every day, the came strap came off the fly wheel.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Body Sculpture Rowing Machine, 5 Mar 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Body Sculpture Rowing Machine - Orange (Sports)
Delivery to Crete took about 12 days, very good. Getting it out of the box was an art as it is very, very well tightly packed. Dropped the heavy box on my foot which hurt but never mind !!! It took me an hour to assemble and the instructions were excellent, the best I have ever seen with goods in this format.......... no scratching of the head confused. The machine is very good value for the money but the pin to enable the machine to fold in half for storage is very difficult to get in and out, so it stays assembled. There are wheels at one end which makes it easy to move if ness. Overall it is a very sturdy and neat machine for the money. I am 5'8" and 68 kilos and fairly strong. The size of the machine is perfect for me and would also be if I was a little taller and heavier. The only down side is that being strong, the highest tension is not that much of a muscle builder as I find it easy, however, the actual movement when using legs and arms is a very good general workout and easy to use. The machine is quiet so I suggest you stick a DVD on and watch a film whilst rowing !!!!! Overall it is a very good buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Really good buy, 20 Feb 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Body Sculpture Rowing Machine - Orange (Sports)
I ordered this on a Wednesday evening and it arrived early Saturday morning, having picked it out from my favourite Amazon site as the top seller with good reviews. I'm really pleased with the look and build quality. It took me about an hour to put together on my own, but anyone methodical won't have a problem. The nuts, bolts and washers come set out in a marked packet which is duplicated within the instructions. The machine is very easy to use and has a magnetic pulley that is smooth in operation. It has a resistance adjustment for if you want a tougher work out. The computer isn't extensive, but has all the right information on display so you can measure your progress and time your workout. It's quite heavy and will fold up to a limited degree, but I have it set up permanently in a prominent spot to encourage me to use it! All in all a great buy with excellent delivery service at a really good price of £129.99.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Too small too light, 21 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Body Sculpture Rowing Machine - Orange (Sports)
This is going back ASAP , it was a gift for my son, but when it arrived proved to be too short too flimsy not enough resistance and the part holding the digital readout was cracked. The machine lifted up every time he rowed back,Really really disappointed. Had to dismantle same evening as we put it together.id say don't bother wasting your time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 39 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Body Sculpture Rowing Machine - Orange
£119.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews