Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars13
4.8 out of 5 stars
5 star
11
4 star
2
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
Format: MP3 Download|Change

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 2 September 2012
Garrett plays any musical notes on the violin with consummate grace!

The classical reworking of Michael Jackson's "Smooth Criminal" is full of surprises and bursts with excitement throughout.

"Who Wants to Live Forever?" is dark, eerie, shockingly intense and operatic, and there is a sense of urgency that time is running short while there is so much to experience in life.

Debussy's free flowing "Clair de Lune" (moonlight) is beautiful and dreamlike. The shimmering violin melody and subtle harmonies evoke images of misty landscapes and a flowing river glistening in silvery moonlight.

"He's a Pirate" opens with calm and rising harmonies promising epic adventure (and a whiff of romance in the air). Jack's comic theme takes over, with all his pirate swagger and bravado. The over-the-top action music is great fun: heroic violin battles stylishly with elegantly menacing orchestra force in a swashbuckling tango; various percussion interjections add fun distractions while fog dissipates and small waves rock the boat during brief transitions (rumbling notes, mid-pitched strings). The track ends emphatically as if to incite curtain calls.

"Summertime" sounds very New York. The classical violin rendition, jazz-inflected and misty, perfectly captures the emotional ambiguity. The slow lilt is mesmerizing and the sweet soaring riffs are sensational yet intimate like loud whispers.

"Hungarian Dance No. 5" delights with fluid rhythm, expressive melody, wide leaps between notes, beautiful double stops and frequent key shifts at a ravishing mix of tempos.

In "Chelsea Girl" the emotionally charged violin tenderly kisses good-bye to every note to create a gorgeous tune.

Garrett has a new take on Vivaldi's "Summer" and it sounds like this: intense lightening flashes and loud bangs of thunder, followed by hail storm and heavy rainfall (flying bows at lightning speed!), rinsing dust off lush green foliage and refreshing the air.

"Air" starts off with teasing, even-paced keyboard notes, then the violin takes up the theme and sings the beautiful soaring tune with the most romantic inflection like early morning breeze.

"Thunderstruck" is loud fun, belting out rapid violin phrases, malicious tunes, majestic melodies, hard rock riffs, short sharp sonic stabs and loud bangs and blasts, all in rapid mutating rhythms following a pop song structure.

"New Day" is infinitely lyrical, compelling repeated listening to the poetic violin melody meandering through myriad emotions.

In "Ain't No Sunshine" the unhurried, impromptu musical phrasing has a laid-back feel.

"Rock Prelude" opens with space themed celestial soundscape and a star is born, bursting into melodic Rock in Baroque-tinged fast harmonic rhythms reminiscent of Bach.

"Winter Lullaby" features a lovely violin tune, cute and sweet at a baby-step tempo. Insistent shakes of tambourine (middle section, background) make the soft, velvety violin even more huggable.

In "Zorba's Dance" the flirty, playful violin tune is infinitely improvisational and so inviting that no one would hesitate to join the fun and dance the night away.

Bonus: See booklet for Garrett's amusing stories and musical ideas prefacing each track.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 February 2013
Fantastic album. I am currently learning the violin and was after something to encourage me and be inspirational. I certainly got that from this album. I will defiantly be ordering more David Garret albums.

He mixes classical and rock together to get something purely unique!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 April 2012
I have never even heard of this artist until very recently, but someone sent me an email and I clicked on it and found this superb musician.

This CD is fantastic and plays 'classical' pop like Smooth Criminal amongst all the other items. If you like classical style, then I would suggest that you buy this as it is fantastic, although a little mourmful in plsces. I have it in the car and play it on longer than average journeys, as it helps to pass the time pleasantly. I would be extremely surprised if anyone was disappointed in the Album, and personally I intend to purchase another CD as soon as my finances allow, which should be next week or the end of it, as my money comes into my account on Tuesday.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 November 2012
There is something very energetic but not aggressive about David's playing.
If you have seen any of his youtube videos you will see a real showman and this comes across in this performance too.
The "He's a Pirate" theme from Pirates of the Caribbean is a particular favourite and most inspirational for my 7 year old son who is learning to play the violin.
A great mix of modern and the best of traditional pieces brought to life by an amazing player.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 June 2009
Encore does indeed leave you wanting more from this talented player. Just relax in a warm bath and let this music wash over you. The cover isn't bad either!!!!
0Comment|11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 May 2011
I must admit I've found this cd mesmerizing...truly good! David's style is so unique that even if you don't play of listen specifically to classical music, but are just a casual listener you'll love it, because in the end it's always a matter of good melodies well played.
Somebody told before that this kind of projects have already been done (Vanessa Mae, or the cough-cough Bond, etc...) in the past, & I listened to some of those albums as well, but to say it short, I've preferred his excellent style because you can feel that is genuine, you know, it's like a voice that singing is able to deliver an emotion (& live is equally brilliant).

So I'm curious to see which other songs or pieces of symphonies he'll decide to arrange for his own taste, because it's always a twist on a traditional or however popular (rock/cinematic) tune dressed up of a fab new disguise: & of course, also his own original compositions he's beginning to offer to his audience...the thing in my opinion, that distinguish himself from others, is that in any case he's truly respect of the original vibe of the song: you won't find an overly glossed production in studio, or a typical heavy club-pop (with synth) arrangement to it, that's why I've appreciated this once enfant prodige, without fearing anymore that he's another (the umpteeth) pretty face of an hungry market...so, bravo D., keep up the great work!
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 December 2012
He plays beautifully. However I would have preferred a less predictable choice of themes. All the same, I have no regrets about purchasing this and will be on the lookout for a soothing mix of music on another of his albums.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 February 2014
LOOOVE the cd!!!! It arrived quicker than expected which was nice, and in excellent condition. i love the music & can listen to David Garrett to my hearts content now :-)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 April 2014
Very relaxing music and excellent violin playing by David Garrett. Well worth listening to, would definitely recommend his album "Encore".
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 April 2014
Because this rating fits my feelings about the CD. I love most everything he plays. It is just a matter of degrees.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£7.09
£7.09
£6.99
£7.99

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)