Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars BETTER THAN GO-PRO BY FAR
WATERPROOF, indestructible, looks how an action cam should look, wish it could do 60fps but other than that its an awesome bit of kit - search youtube- Project Doggy-Vision to see the first time i ever tried this camera out- attached to my Old-English Sheep-dog then sent him into a lake with it recording. Handled it brilliantly. Microphone even works under water and works...
Published on 2 May 2012 by RoguePlank

versus
19 of 20 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars not compatible with Sandisk Ultra and Extreme cards
Sadly Contour doesn't seem to think its important to give this information, even though they are very well aware about this :(
It seems like a lot of people discover this issue AFTER purchase
Published on 27 April 2012 by Michael


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars BETTER THAN GO-PRO BY FAR, 2 May 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Contour ROAM Handsfree HD Action Camera (Camera)
WATERPROOF, indestructible, looks how an action cam should look, wish it could do 60fps but other than that its an awesome bit of kit - search youtube- Project Doggy-Vision to see the first time i ever tried this camera out- attached to my Old-English Sheep-dog then sent him into a lake with it recording. Handled it brilliantly. Microphone even works under water and works after water as well, which is more than could be said a big chunky square gopro in a big plastic case. whack a 32gb sd card in it and set to record in 170degree 720p or 120degree full 1080p and record for at least 3 to 4 hours continuously. the lens can be rotated depending on how the camera is mounted and the laser-level is a very neat touch. My family use our camera for attaching to nerf guns, attaching to helmets for motorcross riding, mountainbiking, i attach it to the hull on my sailboat, mountainbiking or just for general filming really, its a great camera and looks how an action camera really should, and lives up to the hype better than any gopro box could. also incredibly easy to use- 2 buttons- 1 shows you if it has battery and memory space left or not (green, orange or red light), the other starts and stops recording. dont even have to switch it on, just slide the big rubber slider forwards and start going mental!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars What you see/ Useful Information, 29 Jan. 2012
By 
Arthur Wyatt (London England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Contour ROAM Handsfree HD Action Camera (Camera)
Before I got this device I was concerned about having only wide angle shots 170deg? However the results are like what you actually see. Is it really 170 deg? I estimate field of view is about 150deg (on 1080P) Like the human eyesight?. Yes simple to use. Too simple? It would be nice to be able to change from video to photo mode without using a computer. Video quality is excellent. Of course you get a bent fisheye effect when going through doorways because of the wide angle but that does'nt seem to matter when on the road. I wonder if an android app would be able to change the settings? This would be great as PCs are too bulky to take on holiday compared to a 7 inch Android.
If one could switch between photo and video when out and about it would get *****
Micro SD card plugs into Android at 1080p and plays without any difficulty.

LATER INFORMATION Configuration of Frame rate, Video format, photo settings etc are held on micro SD card, So one can set cards sepearately file FW_RTC Can be edited in Android Word app or Text editor.
YOU CAN ADJUST PICTURE/VIDEO SETTINGS ON HOLIDAY WITHOUT A PC OR ANDROID NB Change micro SD cards with different settings made for each. care easy to drop and loose!

USE BESTDEAL HANDLEBAR MOUNT £6.59 ON AMAZON PRIME USING CAMERA THREAD ON BASE TO ATTACH TO BIKE
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 20 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars not compatible with Sandisk Ultra and Extreme cards, 27 April 2012
This review is from: Contour ROAM Handsfree HD Action Camera (Camera)
Sadly Contour doesn't seem to think its important to give this information, even though they are very well aware about this :(
It seems like a lot of people discover this issue AFTER purchase
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


31 of 34 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good picture but difficult to publish., 20 April 2012
By 
H G MILLICHAP "H" (St.Leonards on sea, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Contour ROAM Handsfree HD Action Camera (Camera)
The Contour Roam is a nice little camera and for it's size is quite remarkable.
I bought it to record rides on my motorcycle and especially on dirt roads where it could get wet and mucky. The Roam is waterproof unlike their other models. It also has a standard camera mounting (tripod) thread in the bottom which is just as well because I couldn't figure out any other way to fix it to the bike than with a R.A.M. camera mount that I already had. The mounts supplied require quite a flat surface to glue to so they didn't match my crash helmet or anywhere on the bike.
The video pictures you get from this camera are really good quality even on the 720P setting but you do need the 32Gb card to get a days outing on.
Now for the lost star in the rating. The recordings are in .MOV format and you need to have Apple Quicktime to play them. I don't/didn't have anything to do with Apple stuff but have had to download that program (free) to see what I've recorded. I also found that when I uploaded the videos in .MOV to YouTube the quality was rubbish as if the formats were not compatible. Also the program that you get with the camera "Contour Story Teller" is not an editing suite. So you can't clip, crop, edit or connect two movies into one bigger one. I did some searching and found that you can edit, connect and convert the videos to .WMV by using "Windows Live Movie Maker" also free, fortunately. The results doing this are very good and the uploads to YouTube come out fine but it all adds to the time needed to process the videos.
The other thing to say is ; be prepared to use a lot of memory on your PC. The video files are big which, I guess, is why they're such good quality.
So to conclude. The camera does what it's supposed to do. i.e. take good quality videos. But the makers haven't got a dedicated editing suite to go with it and the videos need converting before they can be uploaded or used on non Apple devices.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Basic sports cam, 31 May 2012
By 
M. Foster (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Contour ROAM Handsfree HD Action Camera (Camera)
Although the optics qualities are good, it is seriously let down by very poor microphone (in my experieince) and the fact that the camera's settings cannot be reconfigured on the fly without a laptop/PC. However, if you are happy to stay with the same camera settings (video resultion, stills freuqunecy, field of view etc.) whilst you are out and about and you are lucky enough to obtain one with a working mircophone, then this is a sleek and functional sports gadget.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good image quality for such a small cam, 27 April 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Contour ROAM Handsfree HD Action Camera (Camera)
Nice little camera, good image quality.
The 170deg wide angle in 720p video is from corner to corner, which means that the in the horizontal plan it's less.
That also means that in 1080p the angle in the same horizontal plan is less than 135deg.
That being said, I find that the angle is perfect in 1080p, it just seems too wide angle in 720p.

The video quality is very good even in low light, but the right side of the image is slightly blury, something that's only noticeable on still videos or pictures.

Price to quality, I recommend it. It would be perfect with a stabilisation system, but that would also make it much more expensive.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Contour ROAM HD, 8 Mar. 2012
This review is from: Contour ROAM Handsfree HD Action Camera (Camera)
I've been really impressed with the quality of the footage from this camera. My primary reason for getting it was to get details from cars that tip me off my pedal-bike, as I wasn't in a fit state last time to get the relevant info and the bike repair ending up costing me. I can easily make out number plates by reviewing the footage from this camera.

I also plan to use this camera whilst mountain biking and use it as a video diary/photos for my cycle trips - next one is London to Paris! One downside I see is that I cannot alter the camera settings (eg alter from photo mode to video mode) on the unit itself (the reason I gave it 4*). This is a setting on the microSD card that is changed on a computer. 2 ways around it though - 1) use an additional SD card with the appropriate setting, or 2) change the setting file using a mobile device/laptop. A microSD card was not included with this camera, but you can get a 32gb class 4 card for under £20 these days which will store plenty of footage (much longer than the battery will last).

The 2 mounting stickers that come with it are OK, one is currently attached to my bike helmet and feels solid enough, although the contours on helmets these days don't give you too much flat space from which to stick a mounting pad.

Overall, a very nice, well built ergonomic camera for ~£150
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars WOW, 1 Feb. 2012
By 
S. C. Young - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Contour ROAM Handsfree HD Action Camera (Camera)
Wow. Straight out of the box, what a product! Video quality - even not on full HD - is brilliant. Remember to go online onto the contour website to get software so you can tweak it. The audio works OK but not too well if you're cycling at speed although at rest it's fine. Get a 16GB stick as a bare minimum. Enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars So its safe to say that the waterproof casing is brilliant. Only thing i'd suggest is attaching the mount ..., 20 Aug. 2014
This review is from: Contour ROAM Handsfree HD Action Camera (Camera)
I use mine for surfing, it came apart from the mount two weeks ago in the sea and i thought i'd never see it again. Turns out it washed up and was handed in today... still working after two weeks floating around in the Ocean. So its safe to say that the waterproof casing is brilliant. Only thing i'd suggest is attaching the mount to the camera itself via a leash of some sort to avoid it being ripped off in a bad tumble.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Contour Roam, 26 Mar. 2013
This review is from: Contour ROAM Handsfree HD Action Camera (Camera)
It is not too bad, but I rate it 2 because it is not worth the money. Whenever you use it where there are sunlight/shadow spots (like in the woods in a sunny day) you only get white spots everywhere and images are the worst you can imagine. Even when you switch from shadow to light you get a white screen for a couple of secs at least. It behaves same as very cheap camera made in China
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Contour ROAM Handsfree HD Action Camera
Out of stock
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews