Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

2.2 out of 5 stars16
2.2 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 19 February 2013
OK, I didn't expect miracles from this as it's a relatively cheap mike, but I did expect to be able to tell some improvement in directionality and sensitivity over the iphone itself. In tests recording the same source in various orientations/volumes/distances, I can barely tell any directionality, hardly any extraneous noise filtering and certainly no improvement in sensitivity. In fact, as another review has noted, it introduces significant hiss compared to the phone itself. Not only that, but the connection design/mount is such that it can't cope with even a relatively skinny case. Ultimately, a complete waste of even the little money it costs. You'd be better fashioning a cone out of paper and using that to put the phone in to help it catch more sound!
0Comment|9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 November 2013
Completely useless product - it didn't work! It also turns out that the internal microphone of the iPhone 5 is far superior so I wasted my money buying it!
11 comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 December 2012
The title says it all. It feels cheap and nasty and it is. Given that it is a microphone I should mention the sound quality. Quality isn't a word that should be used with this product. The audio has a permanent hiss and to make it totally useless it picks up wind noise in a dead calm. Don't even think about buying one. Ever.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 March 2013
This is a relatively cheap option for an external mic, and has performed well so far. It's small enough to pop in a pocket, and did well to record a number of vox-pop interviews in a noisy environment with reasonable clarity using the narrow field option rather than the wide angle option. It's also proved better at outdoor recording when it comes to reducing wind noise on a blustery day - something which the small built-in mics on iPhones are really poor at. My main criticism would be build quality which is not very solid. However, given that it is for very occasional use and relatively cheap I can live with this.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 May 2015
Better than the mic on the phone, but can get similar directional coverage by cupping your hand around the internal mic.
It's not going to replace being a lot closer
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 February 2014
The Microphone added further distortion, and was much worse than the native iPhone 5S microphone. Please don't waste your time!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 December 2015
Did not work at all. We never managed to make it work with either an iPhone 4S and a iPhone 5
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 November 2015
waste of money, you couldn't hear the difference from using the iphone mike.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 May 2015
The microphone on my iphone 6 picks up better with out it
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 August 2013
This product is a great idea, but fails to deliver on performance.

When tested, it would only work with the downloadable free app and no other apps. It would not work with audioboo or any of my other installed audio recording apps. It looked as if it is a video only recording device and as such, if this is the case, it should be made explicitly clear in the description. For me, this would be a major issue, as I do a lot of impromptu sound recordings.

Design flaws:

(1) You have to take your iPhone out of any case you may be using

(2) The battery cover is only held in place by two small wires, which given how much power it uses, could well break at an early stage within the product's life cycle. It is very hard to both undo and replace the cover.

(3) It doesn't seem possible to angle the microphone from anything other than the presets, for fear of breaking it. In the field, this would be an irritation.

Overall, the build quality is flimsy. For all of the above reasons, I could not recommend this microphone to anyone who is at all serious about trying to get good quality recordings, as pointed out by other reviewers, it is no better than the iPhone's built in microphone.

Additionally, my microphone was not working properly and had to be sent back, for a refund.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See one answered question


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)