Customer Reviews


701 Reviews
5 star:
 (439)
4 star:
 (103)
3 star:
 (76)
2 star:
 (37)
1 star:
 (46)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Harry Graduates To Super Hero
If this film was a one off, I would classify it as
excellent and well worth the money to buy and watch.
It's the bleakest of all the Harry Potter movies and
captures the insidious rise of the Nazi style atmosphere
of Voldemorts control for power over the magic world.
Ratcliffe, Watson and Grint are given more leverage to
act and they do it...
Published on 15 April 2011 by Mr. David Stanton

versus
11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Picture quality not good
I eagerly awaited my copy, which was delivered very speedily. However we were disappointed with the picture quality, especially in the darker scenes. The movements appeared blurred and jerky. It almost seemed like a copy - not sure whether to return it?!! Loved the film though and can't wait for the next.
Published on 16 April 2011 by SUE


‹ Previous | 1 271 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Harry Graduates To Super Hero, 15 April 2011
By 
Mr. David Stanton (London, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
If this film was a one off, I would classify it as
excellent and well worth the money to buy and watch.
It's the bleakest of all the Harry Potter movies and
captures the insidious rise of the Nazi style atmosphere
of Voldemorts control for power over the magic world.
Ratcliffe, Watson and Grint are given more leverage to
act and they do it perfectly, which gives the film
the quality that hasn't been present for too long.
I really liked the dilemma of the Malfoy's who dreamt
of superiority over others but still have a trace of
morality because they're not willing to kill for it.
Luna's father tells Harry and friends the story of the
Deathly Hallows which begins to shed light on what
Voldemort is truly after and the daunting task of what
Harry has to do to become victorious.
I enjoyed Harry delivering some comeuppance to Delores
Umbridge and there are many other moments to marvel at
as well as keep you on the edge of your seat.
Despite the dark atmosphere there's humour and touches
of great affection which shouldn't leave a dry eye in the
house.
I totally recommend this to anyone who wants to see
a great movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


96 of 114 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars At Last!, 9 Dec 2010
This one is for lovers of the books - not "non fans" or smug critics who do not appreciate the genius of JK Rowling or the original target audience she was aiming to reach with her books i.e 11 to 18 year olds. Or for those who harp on about how it is impossible to recreate the books as the media of film is so different - duhhh. With the money Warner's are making - anything is possible and thankfully this has come to pass.....

I think I have been to the cinema about 3 times in the last 10 years, but had to see this one. I was prepared to be a bit dissapointed, as I have been from Prisoner onwards. However this film is very close to the book, even going so far as to mop up plotlines missed or skirted around in the other films.
The tone of the movie is set from the outset, with poignant scenes of Hermione and Harry leaving their family homes never to return. Didn't even mind that they missed out Dudley's epiphany with regard to Harry.
The escape scene was comedic then epic in equal measure.
The wedding at the Burrow was rushed but all the important parts were there.
Criticism has been levelled at the long shots of the British countryside during the camping phase. I think that people who poo-poo these are missing the point - they set the tone of the character's isolation and separation from the rest of their world. Plus, what an advert for British tourism!
The finding of the Sword of Gryffindor and the visit to Godric's Hollow were spot on. The capture by the snatchers and the scenes at the Malfoy's manor were brilliant, thanks in no small part, to Helena Bonham-Carters joyously spiteful portrayal of Bellatrix. I'm also so glad they included Dobby this time as he has been a key character that was badly missed from previous efforts.

This film takes us as far as the arrival at Shell Cottage and of the theft of Dumbledore's wand by Voldermort. Assumedly, the next film will kick off with the break in of the Lestrange vault and the escape from Gringotts by dragon.

If the makers have given the same care and attention to the final film - I absolutely cannot wait!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


101 of 120 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, the best adaptation of the series so far., 21 Nov 2010
By 
S. Hammond "bidders86" (Oxfordshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
The Deathly Hallows Part I is by far the best adaptation of the Harry Potter series so far. Whereas the Half Blood Prince took liberties with the plot by including new scenes and skmimming over those which perhaps ought to have been longer, this movie not only is unprecedentedly devoted to the book, but captures the feel of the book exactly, without being overly miserable. This is no mean feat, as the Deathly Hallows is the most difficult and harrowing of the books, particularly with much of it focusing on the trio camping in wildnerness, it could have become tired and repetetive but the movie was very well paced and these scenes were particularly well-handled by the director and actors.

I was literally on the edge of my seat for the dramatic, sinister and action-packed parts of the movie and the tensions was brilliantly dispersed throughout, making me jump when I least expected it. More than this, the film managed to be incredibly moving and poignant, while still lightening the mood occasionally with some much needed humour. Of course, there is much less humour in this movie than in its predecessors, but that is to be expected. One of my favourite scenes was in the beginning where Hermione, knowing the danger before her, wiped her parents' memories in order to protect them. Then she walks out of her home and down the street, alone and apparently empty handed, never to return. I would go as far as to say that in this scene the movie surpassed the book, and its poignancy was enhanced by Emma Watson's beatiful portrayal of Hermione, and this movie showcases her incredible talent. There was another particularly beautiful scene, also not actually in the book, where after Hermione and Harry have been left alone by Ron for some weeks, Harry and Hermione, both coming very close to despair, have a dance to a song on the radio in the tent, in an effort to regain some normality, be silly and carefree and cheer themselves up. It could have been crass but it was really touching and exemplified so much- the burden that these teenagers shoulder, who ought to be leading normal lives and enjoying themselves.

The cinematography was amazing, and most satisfyingly for me, places like the Malfoy mansion, Godric's Hollow, the Lovegoods' House and the wilderness locations were exactly as I had imagined them! Another reviewer has said that Daniel Radcliffe was the weakest link of the trio, and I can see why, but perhaps this is simply because Watson and Grint have grown so much and surpassed themselves, whereas Radcliffe has always been consistently good. Bill Nighy as Rufus Scrimgeour was also very good, as was a surprising Rhys Iffans as Luna Lovegood's father. There was also a nominal appearance of Dave from Gavin and Stacey!

This movie was absolutely stupendous, and as near faultless as I think the Harry Potter series can get. The only criticism I can make is not of the movie itself, but of how many young children I saw in my local cinema. This film is a PG 13- scary in parts (and there was one slightly raunchy scene), and I did feel that it wasn't suitable for young children. Otherwise excellent in every way!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Picture quality not good, 16 April 2011
By 
SUE (Louth, UK) - See all my reviews
I eagerly awaited my copy, which was delivered very speedily. However we were disappointed with the picture quality, especially in the darker scenes. The movements appeared blurred and jerky. It almost seemed like a copy - not sure whether to return it?!! Loved the film though and can't wait for the next.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars BY FAR THE SCARIEST AND BEST HARRY POTTER FILM SO FAR!, 19 Nov 2010
By 
G. Stephenson - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
HARRY POTTER AND THE DEATHLY HALLOWS:PART 1 is one of the best movies i've ever seen! it is AWESOME! By far the best one so far! i hope the 2nd is as good, although if it is rated 15 i will be SO annoyed! anyway, i saw this at 8:30PM and it is so good! i cant describe it! with jump scenes and brilliant acting, fantastic CGI effects and awesome humour (dobby is hilarious!
"dobby never meant to kill, he only meant to maime or seriously injure"
trust me, you'll be laughing, crying and shaking in terror! i highly recommend this because it is the very best magical movie ever!

10/10!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


88 of 107 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stunning, 5 Jan 2011
I'm a huge fan of the Harry Potter series, and while I've always liked the films, they never usually lived up to the books. Then I saw Deathly Hallows Part 1. This is easily the best film of the series so far, and I'm looking forward to seeing the second part in July.

From the very first scene, this film sticks almost word-for-word to the book. There are a few changes; for instance, Hedwig's death is handled differently than in the book and Kreacher's tale is skimmed over a little. But, apart from that, it's very difficult to pick out any major plot changes. The writing is better than it has been on the previous films, particularly towards the end. The Godric's Hollow scenes are both moving and terrifying (possibly a little too scary for under 12s?), and the claustrophobic, desperate mood of the book is conveyed really well while the trio are travelling around the country in search of Voldemort's horcruxes. All three of the main actors seem to have pulled their acting skills out of nowhere in this film. Emma Watson is particularly good in the first scene when she erases her parents' memories, and also at the end when she is tortured by Bellatrix Lestrange at Malfoy Manor. The scene where Harry and Hermione dance to 'O Children' by Nick Cave & The Bad Seeds is one of the saddest and most well-acted scenes in the film.

Visually, this film is easily the most beautiful. It's wonderfully shot and directed, and you can see that they seized the opportunities provided by the 'road movie' nature of the story. There are amazing dark scenes, but there are also gorgeous, colourful parts. The chase through the woods is very well filmed. There is also an animated element in this film; The Tale of the Three Brothers, where the trio first hear about the Deathly Hallows, is narrated by Hermione and is very beautiful - animated to look like drawings on parchment.

Alexandre Desplat composed the score for this one, and as usual, his music is beyond awesome.

Definite highlights: Scabior the snatcher, the scene after Malfoy Manor, when Hermione and Harry are talking after getting attacked in Godric's Hollow and the animated Tale of the Three Brothers.

Bad bits: the huge build-up to Dobby's death. They gave him unnecessary amounts of screen time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Harry goes Camping., 26 Mar 2014
The clue really is in the 'Part One' bit in the title - however this ends, it's not going to be with all of the threads neatly tied off, that is just in the nature of the beast. A film in two parts! I think that's something of an achievement.

It's getting darker, which effectively means that there's less colour in it, and the central characters are much more isolated, which means that far more of the story depends on three young actors (who have each done six feature films already to be fair) and it's not set in the amazing school, so wherever they hide is going to have to be quite interesting - my favourite campsite is under the cooling tower, but the Forest of Dean looks good too, where Hermione says 'Let's just stay here and grow old' - that's a very good moment - and, just when it runs the risk of becoming boring, Ron rescues the situation by getting mad because he's bored. The big question is 'How long can you stand being stuck in a tent with three teens?' and that is as much a criticism of the book as the film, in fact the film seems to get away with it rather better.

And much of the rest is very good; starting with Hermione wiping herself out of her parents' memories - obviously it's the kindest thing to do but (as has been said before) she's a bit scary sometimes.

And then the flight from Little Whynging and Mr Radcliffe does a nice job of impersonating all the other characters - I laughed very loudly - and it all goes so badly wrong I don't blame him at all for wanting to leave The Burrow.

And the wedding is great - my favourite bit is Pa Weasley directing the erection of the marquee - but Matyelok Gibbs and David Ryall are good value, and the arrival of the Death Eaters is suitably scary, and suddenly we're in Piccadilly Circus, which must be where all the budget went on this one.

And then it's the big 'go to the ministry in disguise' bit, and there are three grown up actors pretending to be Harry, Hermione and Ron pretending to be adults, which is funny. I do wish something worse happened to that vile woman in the cardigan.

And then it's camping - the endless quest for the Sword of Griffindor so we can destroy the locket that, apart from its other malignities, makes the wearer bad tempered. Hermione is the one to spot the connection, doubtless because she's read Lord of the Rings.

If it's lacking in texture, the colour is of a washed-up extreme bleakness - this is Voldemort's Britain - witness the regulations against mixed-blood people in the Ministry scenes (Hitler's Germany and 1984). If the Dark Lord is not stopped, this is what the world will be.

And, with the locket finally destroyed, our friends get arrested, taken to Malfoy Manor; Hermione is tortured (and there is nothing at all Sapphic about that), but Dobby saves the day, and gets killed as they vanish, and the enduring image at the end of the film is Harry grieving over what in another movie (Return of the Jedi, for instance) might be a dead Muppet.

The real high spot of the film, for me, is the story-telling sequence; it's really beautifully done.

This film is about as far removed from The Philosopher's Stone as you can get, but then the world of a 16 year old looks quite different to that they knew at 11.

Doesn't it?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Not the item as displayed, 22 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Avoid this product if you want the triple play edition. Amazon sent me just the blurays (no dvd in the pack)...then just replaced them with just the blurays (no dvd in the pack) again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Decent film - Dark picture., 29 Aug 2013
By 
A. Cadwallender (Manchester, England.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I am a big Harry Potter fan, having read all of the books and bought all of the dvds. However, Deathly Hallows Part 1 is very dark, and I don't just mean the plot. The picture is dark all the way through. Even the daylight scenes are dark, as though the entire movie was shot through black gauze. Perhaps this was intentional and meant to convey the sombre story, but it rather defeats the object if you can't make out what is going on.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very good, 27 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
In excellent condition and the price was excellent as well. The fact it is special edition is a plus also
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 271 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews