Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not entirely about Donnie
This is a readable book which goes into some detail about things not covered in the original work. It also shows just what courage and dedicaiton Joe Pistone had in working undercover in describing some events he did not include in the original work. The book goes on to give an insiders account of the trials he was a witness for (and plenty for which he was not) and...
Published on 24 Sep 2007 by Exmatelote

versus
0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars dreadful!!!
Probably the worst book I have read. Held so much pomise of being a good book. Should have concentrated on the business in hand rather on bigging up Joe Pistone. Whilst I agree he did a courageous job and did it well the book should have been about the team!!! There is no I in team.
Published 24 months ago by john cooper


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not entirely about Donnie, 24 Sep 2007
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a readable book which goes into some detail about things not covered in the original work. It also shows just what courage and dedicaiton Joe Pistone had in working undercover in describing some events he did not include in the original work. The book goes on to give an insiders account of the trials he was a witness for (and plenty for which he was not) and discusses some of the tactices the FBI used to ensure convictions. It also covers what became of him in his career after he was revealed to be an agent (and the FBI does not smell of roses here). In all an interesting read, though at times it is a little difficult to follow as he writes extensivly about every major mafia trial from the early 1980's onwards and sometimes it is difficult to follow who he is talking about and what the connection is to Donnie Brasco. The guy remains a hero who helped break the mafia and for that alone it is worth reading, though I would recommend re-reading the first book before this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wow what an ending!, 22 Aug 2011
By 
Mr. Warren P. Gibbard (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Donnie Brasco: Unfinished Business: Shocking Declassified Details from the FBI's Greatest Undercover Operation and a Bloody Timeline of (Kindle Edition)
This book follows on from Donnie Brasco story by Joe Pistone. It even mentions who killed Sonny Black towards the end.

This is an excellent read and I've read it 3 times. If you want an excellent story however look for 'The Good Guy's by Bill Bonanno AND Joe Pistone. This was amazing and it's even better on audio book. So too is Bound By Honor by Bill Bonanno.
I hope Pistone will put some other audio books together in the near future.

Pistone and Bonanno's biggest fan
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Donnie Brasco: Unfinished Business, 1 Jan 2011
I am pleased that I ordered Unfinished Business as it provides more detail and incisive commentary on the Donnie Brasco operation. Joseph D. Pistone aka Donnie Brasco is a true American hero and reading his story is inspiring and illuminating. Well done Joe!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Book, 30 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a follow on from Donnie Brasco, the original book. Well written and easy to read a must for anyone who wants a deeper look at the American Mafia as they trully are. No loveable rogues!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars interesting read, 20 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Donnie Brasco: Unfinished Business: Shocking Declassified Details from the FBI's Greatest Undercover Operation and a Bloody Timeline of (Kindle Edition)
A great insight to the highly dangerous work of the courageous undercover Donnie brasco. I was hoping for more stories from when he was undercover but there wasn't as many anecdotes as I hoped for. Still a great read though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great conclusion to a true life story, 3 Jan 2014
By 
D. Slater "Book bug" (Uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
After reading Donnie Brascoe I had to read this to find out what happened to Agent Joseph Pistone once he was no longer under cover. I was not disappointed, very interesting reading what happened to him and how he lived his life after Donnie Brascoe
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great read, 18 Nov 2013
By 
B. J. HOUSE (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Donnie Brasco: Unfinished Business: Shocking Declassified Details from the FBI's Greatest Undercover Operation and a Bloody Timeline of (Kindle Edition)
Really enjoyed the book, I had seen the film and this fills in the gaps and covers the years that follow including the trials and internal politics.

Well worth a read
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Dad loved this book, 15 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
My dad loves anything to do with the mafia and has already read and re-read Donnie Brasco's first book. This follows on from it and Dad says he thoroughly enjoyed it as it went into things more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A good follow up, 18 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Donnie Brasco: Unfinished Business: Shocking Declassified Details from the FBI's Greatest Undercover Operation and a Bloody Timeline of (Kindle Edition)
Although its not as exciting or dramatic as the first book it does a fantastic job at explaining what happened after he came out from undercover and the trials that followed.
If you liked the first book you'll probably be interested by this but just don't expect it to be made into a movie.

Still a good read though
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars wise guys, 22 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Like the ten wise guys that our f.....ing president put to hang out around Rome for finding the right way....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews