Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Listen with Prime Learn more Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.9 out of 5 stars13
4.9 out of 5 stars
5 star
12
4 star
1
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 12 November 2011
What an awesome melodic rock album!!
All songs are great from start to finish!!
Featuring Michael Eriksen, singer of the Norwegian band Circus Maximus.
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 November 2011
Melodic hard rock at its best.
For fans of 80's Europe and Leverage it'a must buy!
And the icing on the cake: on vocals one of the most talented singers in the biz, mister Michael Eriksen of Circus Maximus fame!!
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 December 2011
This is the best album for the year 2011 and one that will be discussed for the years to come! Melodic rock doesn't get any better. Songs are all killers, no fillers and mr Eriksen's voice is a treat to the ears.If you are a fan of Europe of the "Out of this world" & "Prisoners in Paradise" era, this is the best present you can give yourself! Plain awesome.Period.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 February 2012
Just when you think real quality AOR/80's Metal is gone forever The Magnificent spring up from nowhere and deliver what can only be described as the best AOR/80's Metal album of the last decade. It is completly and utterly sensational, it's that good....no, actually, it's better than that.

I'm a child of the 80's and melodic metal/AOR just grabbed me then and ever since there's been very little in the way of genuine quality AOR to fill the void, apart from the odd offering by Danger Danger, W.E.T. and Terry Brock (not Strangeways though!). That is until this was released. I stumbled across a review of it elsewhere that gave it 9.5/10 so I had to check it and I was simply blown away. Most albums have a few good tracks on them, maybe as many as four or five, but quite honestly every single track is complete and utter class, not a bad song anywhere. Sure there's those who'll scoff at the 80's Metal style lyrics, gripping riffs, swinging chorus' and the simply amazing virtuoso guitar playing but personally it's exactly what has always floated my boat (and us AOR aficionados should make no excuses for that) so be assured that this delivers all of that and more in super-tanker sized loads. I simply cannot find the words to compliment it enough.

So if you're reading this review then my guess is you're into this style of music so don't waste another second and just buy it. It's the best money you'll spend this year, absolutely guaranteed.

Put the kids to bed, get out the iPod, plug in some quality headphones, sit back in that comfy chair and be utterly blown away.

Enjoy.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 April 2012
My recent purchasing of some albums by the excellent "House Of Lords" resulted in Amazon bringing this album to my attention via my personal recommendations. I'll be honest and say after listening to (and enjoying) a few samples, I initially downloaded the album from a file sharing site. However, after what can only be described as a 58 minute AOR eargasm, I came straight back here to order the CD! It just wouldn't be right not to purchase such an excellent album. Powerful, melodic vocals, crunching guitars, soaring synth, this album makes perfect use of all these staples of the genre to craft 12 songs of the highest quality. Whilst hats are certainly being tipped towards the greats of the past (Europe, Journey etc), "The Magnificent" are definitely bringing the genre into the 21st century with their own fresh slant. Magnificent in name, Magnificent by reputation, simply put: Magnificent.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 December 2012
Bought this after playing the album on Spotify. Truly one of the greatest AOR albums ever released. Up there with Journey's 'Escape', Icon's 'Night Of The Crime' & Valentine's self-titled debut cd. A classic for the ages. All true AOR lovers MUST buy this album. You will NOT be disappointed.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 January 2014
What an album, superb songs throughout and not one 'filler' in sight. Every track is a joy to listen to.
Love Melodic Hard Rock, then this is a must album for your collection. Well worth the money spent on this CD.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 November 2011
Delightful, soulful, colourful. Inspiring, uplifting melodies, which until now one would believe that only by angels could ever be conceived.

Obviously, we 've been living since the middle of the past decade the era of the scandinavian dominance in the melodic hard rock field, which, following the path of the Abba school, has contributed to the realising the beauty of the world with some (or even the most)of the finest music of all time, as bands like H.E.A.T., Grand Illusion, work of art, Grand design, crazy lixx (sweden), brother Firetribe, leverage (Finland) do (to name but a few but the most impressive ones).

Such a band is of course the Magnificent (Norway/Finland) which has donated to the present as well to the future generations a collosal melodious masterpiece.
This music must also function as a point of referance for those among the musicians who are lovers of high quality music, encouraging them to apply every effort needed in order to expand what they might consider as limit. With this cd they now have a proof that it can be done!
11 comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 November 2012
Quality AOR, great songs. This album has restored my faith in what has essentially become a tired genre with rehashed ideas and plagiarism.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 April 2013
THIS IS SUPERB ,EVERY SONG IS EXCELLENT ,SUPERB VOCALS WHAT MORE CAN I SAY BUY,BUY ,BUY YOU WONT BE DISSAPOINTED.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)