Customer Reviews


44 Reviews
5 star:
 (41)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ross Kemp, 14 Oct. 2009
By 
John Warner (London, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is an excellent box set, bringing the reality of war to the tv screen, shows what our armed forces has to go through on a daily basis in afghanistan. Ross Kemp is brilliant the right man for the job,he should be given an oscar for braving the elements of close quarters fighting. This box set is well worth getting,i would reccommend it to anyone who likes this sort of thing. It is unmissable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


36 of 37 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A proper view of the troops, 2 Jun. 2009
By 
Tangerine "tangerineman" (North Yorkshire) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
For me this series is a true reflection of the conditions that the British troops have endured fighting in Afghanistan. At times you get a flavour (and it can only ever be a very small idea of what it is to be involved in a fire fight) of how it feels to be under fire and even pinned down. On several occassions Ross Kemp and his cameraman appear to be quite close to the action with bullets fizzing close to their bodies. Ross Kemp is clearly very proud of the troops and the effort they put in as well as how professionally they conduct themselves. So am I. It is also clear that Ross wanted this documentary to be truly reflective of what conditions are like for those away in Afghanistan. This comes through well. This isn't an attempt to add glamour to what is happening out there. It is showing us just what it is that those troops are doing. It shows how committed the enemy is and how well organised they are. The troops clearly respect their enemy and rightly so. And it shows how some won't come back. It is a huge sacrafice and one that we should all be grateful for. The bravery of our troops is what comes through most of all. I would recommend anyone to watch this to gain an appreciation for what our armed forces are doing in Afghanistan. It is a difficult thing to portray without people suggesting that Ross Kemp is trying to make the war glamourous. Watch this and you will see that is not the intention. It is hard to watch sometimes as it is heart breaking to watch comrades shed tears for friends they have lost. Watching the families is harder still. But this DVD will remain as something people can watch for years to come so that they too can see how the sacrifices that have been made were not in vain. Those that have fallen will not be forgotten. Ross Kemp should be thanked for having the stomach to do this. At times it is clear he is worried but he does it anyway. Just like all the troops do - day after day. I thoroughly recommend this DVD boxset. It is a real insight.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great footage, sincerity host, 10 July 2009
By 
Rene Jorgensen "puje12" (Denmark) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This series is just incredible. The footage is amazingly up close and personal and is probably as close to actual war as most people will want to get. Ross Kemp comes across as incredibly sincere and honest. Unlike many other documentary film makers, Ross Kemp really gets personally involved with the individual soldiers and he seems to care a lot about them.
At a few instances in the series, it is also clear that Kemp tries his best to help the soldiers out when in the field.
In closing, the intense footage could have been achieved be other film crews, but it's the host that really makes this series something special.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Eye opening Documentary, 12 Oct. 2009
By 
I have to say that after watching this DVD my opinion of Ross Kemp was greatly enhanced, what a guy, hats off to him and his film crew, in at the sharp end showing in sometimes harrowing detail life in Afghanistan, Its plain to see Ross's admiration of the troops serving there but it was also evident that he was truly moved by the deaths of soldiers, I doubt any other TV personality could have carried out this kind of reporting, But this DVD is not about Ross Kemp, Its about the lads living and dying out there, if you feel anything for the lads out there then buy this DVD and try and understand what it must be like to be a soldier out there, God bless them all and thanks again Ross for bringing it to us in graphic detail.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Everyone should watch this, 1 July 2009
By 
After a number of people said I should watch this, I purchased it from Amazon and watched it back to back. Quite simply fantastic, a brilliant insight into what our Forces are currently dealing with in Afghanistan. Everyone should watch an episode to try and understand the pressure and pure danger they face every day they are in the field. My hat off to Ross and his team who take a huge risk in pulling this off.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Kemp in Action!, 8 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ross Kemp - The Afghanistan Collection [DVD] (DVD)
Brought this as a present for my son, who has now spent hours watching the whole set from start to finish! Ross Kemp gives an extraordinary insight into army life. Product is exactly as described and arrived on time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Reality of War, 27 Dec. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ross Kemp - The Afghanistan Collection [DVD] (DVD)
The friend I bought this boxed set for is an ex-soldier. His main comment was that each of the DVDs reflects the true but awful reality that our forces face day in and day when they are deployed to Afghanistan. Only those with a heart of stone could possibly fail to be moved by the courage and bravery of the soldiers and how they face up to the dangers all around them, the acts of real heroism and tragically the fatalities and the horrendous injuries to our young men and women. Reading or listening or watching news stories do not bring the 'real' thing to life - the DVDs do. Excellent!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ross Kemp, 12 May 2009
By 
S. A. Meer - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
We enjoyed this series on the tv.It was screened late in the evenings so my son missed a few episodes so we decided to buy it so he could keep it and watch it all. He enjoys anything to do with the army so found this thrilling, sad at times, and eductional. Hope he does another series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant!, 4 Nov. 2009
By 
Alistair Mair (Yorkshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Although filmed a few years ago it is still very relevant to what is happenening now. Ross kemp is honest in his opinions and doesnt refrain from showing how hard the life of soldiers at war can be not just for them, but for their families aswell. It gives an insightful view into how the men on the ground really feel about the war and is at the same time entertaining without compromising the reality of what they go through. To anyone who is thinking about buying this, do it and you wont be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars An honest look at the daily work of a soldier, 7 April 2010
By 
Christoph Schroth (Offshore all over the World) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Ross Kemp and his team created an honest and authentic look at a soldiers daily life on the front lines. It is not judgmental towards politics and reasons for the war but an insight into their lives from the end of training to the actual fighting in Afghanistan. In the second part he returns to Afghanistan one year later to follow up on the progress of the operation and the authenticity is not lost in any way. Personally I enjoyed the second half even more than the first as there is more actual footage of life in the field rather than of the training phase and the interviews of soldiers and their families. This documentary does not try to make things sound good for the sake of the viewer or the UK governments image. Ross Kemp is not trying to be an action hero during any stage of the series and he is clearly scared on more than one occasion during the shown firefights. I can only recommend this to anyone wanting to have more insight than what is shown on the news or written in the papers. It shows the real thing, up close and personal.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Ross Kemp - The Afghanistan Collection [DVD]
£12.10
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews