Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 2 Feb. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Magic Trip [DVD] (DVD)
Fascinating documentary into a part of Ken Kesey's life and the Merry Pranksters.
Also a good insight on LSD when it first began tests and street use.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fascinating!, 20 Sept. 2011
This review is from: Magic Trip [DVD] (DVD)
I saw this film in the theater and found it to be a fascinating testament to an amazing man and a time in space that is hard to put into perspective. Did the Merry Pranksters change the world? By driving across America, handing out LSD, did they raise the consciousness of a generation? That could be debated, but what cannot is the fantastic footage from that period. Although not a perfect film by any means, it is defitely worth a view.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The original Magical Mystery Tour, 3 Feb. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Magic Trip [DVD] (DVD)
This pre Beatles Magical Mystery Tour shows Ken Kesey paving the way with his Merry pranksters by starting out in 1964 on a real psychedelic trip in a painted bus. This is the real event of "The Electric Cool Aid Acid Test" . The Merry Pranksters helped show the way to what the Beatles discovered many years later. Captured on film this is a historic documentry of the pioneers of psychedelia clearly shows the spirit of revolution that evolved in the early sixties.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Tremendous DVD covering a piece of modern American History, 22 Jan. 2012
By 
Johnny boy (In excellsis deo) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Magic Trip [DVD] (DVD)
I just got around to watching this and it is a truly marvelous documentary covering an enormously important era of modern American History. Regardless of whether or not you are familiar with the
Merry Pranksters you will learn a lot about the 1960s counterculture and the dawn of the San Franciscan underground by watching this remarkable film. Top marks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Magic, 20 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Magic Trip [DVD] (DVD)
This film is great. A tour de force of insight into the pre-hippie revolution. These guys started it all and the amount of authentic footage is mindboggling....a must see!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Review, 20 Mar. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Magic Trip [DVD] (DVD)
Odd,eccentric home movie.

For those interested in the LSD trip and the feel for the era this is an interesting and valuable time capsule.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars ... seen this on the TV some years back and enjoyed it or a version of it, 2 Nov. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Magic Trip [DVD] (DVD)
I had seen this on the TV some years back and enjoyed it or a version of it. It was a mad period how they got away with it though is anyones guess. It was new a few years later would be a different out come, with the anti hippie, anti civil rights atmosphere and the Vietnam war. This visual documentary sits well with Tom Wolfe's 'The Electric Kool–Aid Acid Test.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great film - made fantastic use of the original footage, 30 Jan. 2012
By 
C. Irwin "Shizzling" (UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Magic Trip [DVD] (DVD)
This documentary takes footage shot by Ken Kesey and the Merry Pranksters, primarily on a journey in a psychedelically painted school bus, from California to the 1964 World's Fair in New York and back, but also covering the emerging hippy/acid rock scene in San Francisco.

The nature of the equipment (hand held 16mm cine cameras with audio recorded on reel to reel tapes) and the operators (who were off their heads on one or more drugs for the majority of the filming), meant that previous attempts, by Kesey himself, to edit the footage into a coherent narrative had failed.

The technique used in this documentary, taking the original footage and using voiceover and overlaid psychedelic graphics, along with some properly synched audio where it was possible, really works. What amazed me was the sheer amount of material that was shot, together with the freshness of it. It gives an insight into the idealism of the time, and it doesn't ignore the damage that the hedonistic lifestyle wreaked on some of the participants.

There are a few sequences - the farmer towing the bus out of sand, and a cop questioning the travellers at the roadside - where you wonder just what 'straight' people made of people who were so off their heads on LSD. Did they realise, or was awareness of the hippy/freak lifestyle not that high?

All in all I thoroughly enjoyed the film. I've watched it twice so far and I'll certainly be watching it again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great film., 18 Oct. 2011
By 
ANITA "AF" (Glasgow, Scotland.) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Magic Trip [DVD] (DVD)
Saw this in the cinema. I always preffered Ken Casey and the Merry Pranksters to Timothy Leary and his Harvard pals. This film will show you why...they were much more fun.
Although the footage is obviously old the film somehow manages to come across as very current. Very well put together. I would recommend this movie to anyone interested in 'sixties culture'. I don't think handing out free LSD lifted the consciousness of America but the film about it lifted my spirits. Great stuff.Borderline Dreamtime
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Storming Heaven, 26 Mar. 2013
By 
Alan Orgill "Oggi" (Nottingham) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Magic Trip [DVD] (DVD)
Quick delivery, and a classic, yes I agree that it is not the best quality but sorry to the haters HD did not exist when this footage was filmed, get a grip and enjoy it for what it is - great nostalgia. Thank you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Magic Trip [DVD]
Magic Trip [DVD] by Alex Gibney (DVD - 2011)
£8.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews