Customer Reviews


21 Reviews
5 star:
 (17)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars If you only watch one more film, make it this one!
I'm going to find it very difficult to express in words how much this film means to me; not because of any deep, personal involvment, but simply becasue it is so utterly watchable. This is one of those offbeat, quirky little films that simply blows you away, without you knowing why or how exactly. Keitel and Hurt's performances are wonderfully subtle and underplayed, and...
Published on 8 Sep 2006 by Billy

versus
1.0 out of 5 stars DVD in German language only!!
This DVD cannot be put into English. It is ONLY in German!!! What can I do?? Can you send me one in English?
Published 4 months ago by Kathleen Chiti


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars If you only watch one more film, make it this one!, 8 Sep 2006
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Smoke [DVD] [1996] (DVD)
I'm going to find it very difficult to express in words how much this film means to me; not because of any deep, personal involvment, but simply becasue it is so utterly watchable. This is one of those offbeat, quirky little films that simply blows you away, without you knowing why or how exactly. Keitel and Hurt's performances are wonderfully subtle and underplayed, and I found it was the little, irrelevant things that fasinated me so - such as the way Hurt's character draws his little Dutch cigars through his lips before lighting it, and the fact that Auggie (Keitel's character), despite being a cigar connoisseur, smokes simple filter cigarettes.

This film won't appeal to all, but if you like your American films to come with a little less 'Crash, Bang, Whallop!' and a bit more intelligence, then you just have to buy this dvd.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars THOUGHTFUL ENTERTAINMENT: Excellent Keitel/Hurt pas de deux, 24 Aug 2006
By 
F. Sweet (Midwestern USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Smoke [DVD] [1996] (DVD)
This is the kind of off beat film that begins far away from its main point. So in a sense, it takes you on a journey. Especially, if you've grown up in very large urban centers where there were local neighborhoods with ancient, musty old small stores run by engaging proprietors this scene and story will resonate with you. But even if you did not enjoy the benefits of New York City's inner city, many of the characters can be similarly identified in daily rural life in Arkansas.

The grizzled and contemplative cigar store proprietor Auggie Wren is masterfully played by Harvey Keitel. He plays a man hanging on to his business while trying to sqeeze out of the dreariness of each day some kind of meaningful life. He doesn't go out to meet life ... it comes to meet him in his cigar store. A customer and not quite neighborhood friend played to its understated fullest by William Hurt, is a formerly celebrated novelist Paul now struggles with his tragic life and getting back to writing. The thread which connects the action is pulled through the film by a street wise teenage "black kid" calling himself "Rashid" is very well acted by Harold Perrineau Jr.

Everyone is searching for something in SMOKE. Rashid, his father; Paul his lost interest in life; and Auggie his lost meaning of life. Not all of the movie takes place in the cigar store ... b ut a lot of it does, and perhaps like Hitchcock in REAR WINDOW or THE ROPE, the photography and direcrting make it work. But there are many other scenes on sites to provide both variety and action.

This film not only works it is a terrific journey that promises to take you through many ideas and situations that are familiar and some bizarre. But they are always interesting and enjoyable. That's what entertainment is about. It is a good idea to see this movie in a settled-in-for-the-night state. Full enjoyment in it requires attention that inevitably gives way to immersion.

I agree with those reviewers who wrote that at least Keitel and the screen adaptation of this film earned its 1995 Academy Award nominations. See for yourself.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Art Of Storytelling, 18 May 2004
This review is from: Smoke [VHS] [1996] (VHS Tape)
This film is all about the storytelling. It deserves to be a bigger film than it was because it doesn't need to rely on explosions and action to be great. Its mainly due to the superb script which was written by some dude who i've never seen one of his other movies or even heard of any. But when you got 3 of hollywoods finest in the cast (Harvey Kietel, William Hurt & Forest Whitaker) then your always gonna end up with a film of the highest standards. If your looking for something that you can follow, that relys more on its story and its characters, then this is just about as good as it gets. recommended viewing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The weight of smoke, 12 Oct 2006
By 
This review is from: Smoke [DVD] [1996] (DVD)
Harvey Keitel may have run off with what plaudits there were for this hidden gem of a movie, but for me it is the performance of William Hurt that infuses the film with it's thoughtful, mellow, non-idealogical flavour.

There are a couple of scenes which Keitel and Hurt perform memorably together, one involving a collection of photographs and the final scene of the movie which is 'Augie Wren's Christmas Story' originally written by Paul Auster, and the creative spark behind the writing of the script. If you were to watch these two scenes alone I'd still recommend buying this film.

The dialogue is sharp and the direction leaves the actors to act, allowing them time to deliver as much with body language as with the spoken word. All of the cast shine (even Forrest Whittaker!) and apart from a slightly unconvincing eye patch the movie is absolutely flawless.

If you are at all interested in good contempory cinema this is an essential watch, and then a must have DVD. Enjoy it, it's a rare thing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent stuff, 3 Mar 2002
This review is from: Smoke [VHS] [1996] (VHS Tape)
I havn't seen this film since it first came out and can barely remember anything it, except that it is a great film. One of my favourites. A few things that I do remember are that I watched it on tv one morning and had a load of homework to do and knew that I should have been doing that but couldnt drag myself away from this piece of art. Thats what it is, art! Also, I hardly ever get emotional about films, but there is one scene at the end when the guy spends Christmas or Thanksgiving at this old ladies house because she thinks he is her son. Very touching.
I dont smoke and I like this film! Theres another great scene that I like where the two friends are looking through the photo albums of the corner outside the shop. That scene made me want to take up photography, and I did. Such an influential film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A strange film that grabs your interest from the start, 28 May 2000
By 
michael ratcliffe (Ilkley, west yorks United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Smoke [VHS] [1996] (VHS Tape)
Although nothing exciting happens in this movie, the dialogue and characters draw you into it and won't let go. I watched this movie at 3.00am, dog tired, sleepy, yet couldn't get to bed because I couldn't stop watching. It will make you laugh at times, make you smile most of the way through, and it will touch you. Virtually all the scenes take place with a static camera, so a roving camera doesn't get in the way.
Excellent acting, excellent dialogue.
Don't let the video cover photo fool you. None of the characters appear this way in the movie. In a way, it disappoints me that such a photo is used for the cover. It cheapens the film somehow. For one thing, Keitel doesn't have a beard in the movie. For another, the young blonde (Ashley Judd)DOES NOT look at all like that in this movie!
If you want a film that makes you listen to what the characters say and doesn't depend on violence or eye candy to make it interesting, then get this movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars DVD in German language only!!, 15 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Smoke [1995] [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
This DVD cannot be put into English. It is ONLY in German!!! What can I do?? Can you send me one in English?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Smoke Gets In Your Eyes....!, 22 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Smoke [DVD] [1996] (DVD)
Love this movie....watched it through several years ago and thought it fantastic....so....to now possess it for myself and watch it any time I choose, GREAT !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Film, 11 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Smoke [DVD] (DVD)
The video is in good condition and I really enjoyed the film.
Keitel and Hurt are always good. All the cast was good and a beautiful story with a great soundtrack
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Humanity and integration, 21 Sep 2013
By 
Margit Bjerg (Rønne, Denmark, DK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Smoke [1995] [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
I think this film is made for "the thinking people". It contains many levels of human existence and has a wonderful humour in store.
And a lot of "it happens by chance"- issues.

I knew this film before I bought it as well as I know Austers books. The co-operation between Wang and Auster is also a sort of a cultural integration project.

I choose films more concerning the instructor than the film stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Smoke  [1995] [Blu-ray]
Smoke [1995] [Blu-ray] by Paul Auster (Blu-ray - 2012)
£8.42
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews