Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Harsh but great - a real horror film
This is not an easy film to watch... Mostly because it's a proper horror film.

I watch quite a few horrors and too many are all gore and no story or actual fear. The strangers is a great film because it's genuinely scary and the characters are believable and relatable and that is why I liked the hike!

Some people I know love it,some people don't,...
Published 20 months ago by Lucy

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Terrible
After a terrible opening sequence we are then introduced to a group of girls who have decided to get together and head off into the woods for a hiking trip.
At first I thought this was going to be a poor version of The Descent [DVD] [2005] but it wasn't even that.

The film is very boring and really dragged along. Dialogue is stilted and the characters are...
Published 22 months ago by Mark G.


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Terrible, 10 Sep 2012
By 
Mark G. (East Anglia) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Hike [DVD] (DVD)
After a terrible opening sequence we are then introduced to a group of girls who have decided to get together and head off into the woods for a hiking trip.
At first I thought this was going to be a poor version of The Descent [DVD] [2005] but it wasn't even that.

The film is very boring and really dragged along. Dialogue is stilted and the characters are very one dimensional and poorly conceived.
The whole thing is very badly written and really is a waste of time. Every thing you've ever seen in a horror film that's made you roll your eyes at the stupidity of the characters happens here. Every bad horror cliché you've ever seen, that's here too.

There is a slight plus side in that the film is well shot and looks very nice and that was probably the only thing that kept me watching. That one plus factor pales into insignificance though when compared to how bad the film is as a whole.

Save your money and avoid this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Predictable woods-based horror., 18 Nov 2011
By 
J. Morris "Josh" (London) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Hike [DVD] (DVD)
The Hike is the story of 5 young women who celebrate the return of their solider friend by organising a hike through the woods. After arriving & a brief hike, they bump into a group of charming rock-climbers. Questionable odds of an all-female group bumping into an all-male group of the same age in the middle of nowhere aside; the two groups begin a flirtatious exchange that involves detailing where each other's camps are. The girls meanwhile begin to separate to sneak off with the boys and fail to return, the others begin to suspect something is amiss and decide to leave, but will they ever make it out of the woods alive?

The Hike kicks off well with a series of concise shots of brutal demises for some people other than the main cast, resultantly, we already know there is(are) a murderer(s) on the loose. What follows is a series of predictable cat & mouse chases throughout the woods, all the while set to an endless succession of panting, twig-snaps & leaf-rustling. It's not that the cast are half bad, just that the script is extremely wooden & stilted. None of the girls except for the soldier seem like they would have ever even been near a tent before this occasion; all of them are dressed in skimpy shorts and crop-tops (they are all suitably attractive for this slasher) - one of them is even an eastern-European cover model who wears high-heels and carries a LV bag the entire time. It's just a bit of a stretch.

The guys are a stereotypical bunch of prurient deviants (one guy is caught just randomly whacking off in the woods!!) with seemingly little or no explanation of their motivations. A couple of scenes just plain don't make any sense; the girls leave the roof down on their convertible car for three days in the woods, they even make a point of discussing this decision - to justify the shot I guess - but let's be honest; even if the weather is great, nobody fancies a Mercedes full of leaves, twigs & owl-poop. The second scene that is completely illogical is when the girls come across two of the rock-climbers skinny-dipping in the lake; but there is no way the guys could have known the girls would stumble across them, so were they just rolling around together in the buff before the girls & camera turned up? A puke-inducing montage scene of the two groups splashing each other follows with some completely unnecessary full-frontal male nudity (none of the girls are even naked!!)it's all a bit cliché.

Just when you thought nothing could top this stereotypical 'girls-running-screaming-from-a-mad-axeman' they break out the rape-card involving climbing ropes - it's pretty horrid viewing to be honest and seems to be relying on shock-value rather than decent writing. If you make a point of watching slashers with attractive girls then this is for you, otherwise, probably best to give it a swerve.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Harsh but great - a real horror film, 24 Oct 2012
This review is from: The Hike [DVD] (DVD)
This is not an easy film to watch... Mostly because it's a proper horror film.

I watch quite a few horrors and too many are all gore and no story or actual fear. The strangers is a great film because it's genuinely scary and the characters are believable and relatable and that is why I liked the hike!

Some people I know love it,some people don't, but it seems that those that don't like it are those that didn't get it.

It's a subversive subtle film that isn't for the faint hearted but if you want to see a real horror film spend a fiver and get a great movie!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars UK horror that really impressed, 26 July 2012
By 
John Milton (Glasgow, Scotland) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Hike [DVD] (DVD)
I do try and support British horror films as much as I possibly can. I've never been shy about spouting to all and sundry about these islands and the wonderfully rich history that comes with it; and the fertile grounds therein for those looking for ideas for horror films and locations.
However, quite often, I am left disappointed by domestic entries within the genre. So, with all of that in mind, I sat down to watch The Hike.

Starring Brabra Nedeljakova, Zara Pythian, Ben Loyd-Holmes, Shauna MacDonald and Tamer Hassan, The Hike comes with the following synopsis:
"After returning from a tour of duty in Afghanistan a young female soldier embarks on a peaceful camping trip with four girlfriends in a remote area of British countryside.

But the peace is soon exchanged for violence when one of the girls goes missing. Now they are forced to rely on and trust each other before it becomes the last hike of their lives."

I'll be honest, I wasn't expecting much from this film. The synopsis above was hardly inspiring and seemed incredibly generic. It was the inclusion of Shauna MacDonald and Tamer Hassan on the cast list that really piqued my interest.

Thankfully, my apathetic attitude towards this movie was soon proved to be misplaced.
The film starts out throwing the viewer right into what could easily have been the final scenes of a weaker film, introducing the area that is to be the setting for the main proceedings and follows a number of campers and hikers as they are stalked and taken down.
After this initial intro, the film settles in to the main plotline and I do concede that at this point, The Hike is like many films of this ilk, friends going for a camping trip and briefly explaining their own issues and so on; including the disgruntled ex-boyfriend/manager (Hassan) who is left in the dirt as the girls speed off.
Once the all-female party arrive in the woods, the rest of the key players are revealed: the axe-wielding Eastern European, the posh handsome rock-climbers and with a relatively slow opening to the film, the viewer is left wondering when the horror will start...

But when the horror does start, it really is non-stop. Now, when I say horror, I really mean it. This isn't torture-porn a la Saw/ Hostel or stalk `n' slash in the same vein as Friday the 13th. No, for my money, this is real horror. There is no preternatural being to be defeated with some ancient weapon or any incantations to be read out to send demons back to hell. What we have here in The Hike is the horror that people are actually capable of, brutal, visceral and leaving me truly shocked by the content at some stages of the film; and I really was paying attention right up until the credits rolled.

The Hike runs at a comfortable 83 minutes and is beautifully shot on location in Wales, giving yet another reason why films ought to be shot right here in the UK!
The special effects are nicely done and on the whole appear to be practical; but these simply support the storyline and enhance the viewing experience.
The Hike is far from being a perfect film. At times the dialogue is stilted, some of the set-ups are quite generic and at times the movie conforms to genre cliches. However, I am of the opinion that all of this pales into insignificance when taken alongside the impact this film had on me when it really kicked off.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars nothing new here, 18 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Hike [DVD] (DVD)
Not a great film,a bit like descent,but set above ground and not as good,not a remarkable film will forget after watching
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars YOU GOT TO KNOW WHEN TO GET OUT, 6 Mar 2014
By 
The Movie Guy "Movies from A to Z" (United States) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Hike [DVD] (DVD)
The film opens with people screaming and running around getting killed by an off screen slasher. After that brief teaser opening, 5 girls take off to go camping. Kate (Zara Phythian) is five days back from Afghanistan (guess how her training plays in this). The girls drive, then leave their convertible with the top down to go hike and camp several hours away. The girls are armed with shorts, boots, back packs, and military issue undergarments that can double as a swim suit. It isn't long before they meet some cute boys and become flirty.

If you were awake the first few minutes then you know where this goes.

This is a "me-too" woods slasher. It offers nothing new. The characters were not well established. Their personality was bland. It was killing for the sake of killing. No cannibals, inbreeding, or a sportsman club. Boring.

Parental Guide: F-bomb, rape, nudity (male and female)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Take A Hike from this Film, 11 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Hike [DVD] (DVD)
I try to be open minded with horror and went into The Hike with no expectations, no idea what to expect and was thinking maybe it would fall into a type much like Wrong Turn. I was wrong.

The premise is simple enough. Five girls go hiking and camping into a remote area of woodland to cheer their friend up after a tragedy, it all starts well and halfway through they bump into a group of guys doing the same thing. However all is not as it seems with the men and soon things take a dark, twisted turn.

Predictability is not always bad and I've said this myself but if it happens within a film it needs to add flavour or a favourable twist that makes the film worth the time and effort. In this the predict factor doesn't so much ruin it but dull it down to a point you wonder how you are sitting through the film.

The main female roles are likeable, nothing spectacular but enjoyable cannon fodder and the only one really recognisable to horror fans would be one of the main female stars in Hostel. Overall though nothing outstanding in the grand scheme of things.

Same can be said for the guys who frequent the screen shortly thereafter.

What I do love about the film is where it takes place. The woods stretching as far as the eye can see are beautiful. Just enough to add that creepiness needed but gorgeous in certain shots. Shadows linger and the way the trees sway in the night work wonders for a film that seems rather uncertain of itself.

That said the score accompanying The Hike is nothing special. It has some moments but nothing solid and rather forgettable against the film.

What I didn't like was the premise. It followed a similar groove as Last House on the Left and leaves a unwelcome taste on the back of your throat. Just when you think it will stop in its tracks and leave the more disturbing images to your mind it literally smacks it into your face and the fact it is done in a tone that shows no care makes it worse.

In fact the tired plot seems to have been done purely to gain a reaction, negative or good, and it ruins an idea that could have worked.

Surprisingly for a film rated 18 the blood/ gore is light and not much is shown except for some rare moments but it's nothing that looks over the top.

The ending was a surprise, however I still debate wherever that is a good or bad thing. Including the screen appearance of 'The Descent's' Sarah was a nice nod to the film and she held her own whilst on screen however the final scene is not easy to watch nor very pleasant and although I am one to pour scorn on happy endings, this is a movie where it was needed. Where there needed to be some light away from the heavy vibe to make it a movie worth seeing and unfortunately doesn't.

Long and arduous I found this a hard, gruelling watch that doesn't improve as the film goes on. It has some moments that never reach full potential and ultimately seems to fail in whatever it was trying to achieve.

In heart and soul I cannot recommend this film. Certainly rent if you are still curious but nothing beyond that.

To summarise, it deserves 4 out of 10 only. The Hike is a long journey, not truly worth the trip.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Lousy thriller, 25 Dec 2011
By 
Joe Smart (Chicago, IL United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Hike [DVD] (DVD)
The Hike is a thoroughly underwhelming UK thriller about a group of female friends who go on a weekend hiking trip in the middle of nowhere. This is very slow to get going--the first half consists of poorly acted and written scenes meant to show the girls' friendship and their interaction with some men they stumble across on the woods. Once the film finally gets going, unfortunately, it really isn't much better because of a strange timidity in the way the sex and violence is depicted. At one point the movie cuts between three rape scenes, including one that involves a dead body. While this certainly might sound disturbing on paper the scene doesn't work as filmed because the director makes no attempt to disguise the fact that all of his actors are fully clothed, which undermines the illusion that you're watching a rape scene (or three). The violence is similarly tame. Even when the characters are supposed to be losing control you get the impression that the actors were afraid of actually hurting each other so the violence has no impact. The best that can really be said about this movie is that the second half isn't nearly as awful as the first half, but considering how god-awful The Hike starts out that's faint praise at best.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Zara Phythian Takes a Hike, and it is a bloody one!, 23 Oct 2011
By 
D. Shamon (Pembroke Pines, FL United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Hike [DVD] (DVD)
Shot in the woods on the new RED cam The Hike is a wild and shocking horror ride. The story opens innocently enough with a group of young girls going on a hike. The women are a bit scantily clad, but what horror film would not need this haha. Makes them seem innocent even though in real life Zara will lay waste to the thugs with her martial arts skills!

The opening is slow, there is a lot of talking, but I feel this sets the mood of the characters, and builds the audience familiarity of them. Zara plays Kate, a soldier returning from Afghanistan, for her first leading role I thought she did a good job of conveying emotion, she has a clear speaking voice. Barbara Nedeljakova and Ben Loyd-Holmes are excellent as well, .

Once the movie gets going there are several shocking scenes, warning this is not a film for the faint at heart. One of them are captured by hanging upside down from a tree, and the rest must fight for survival. The scenery is lush and dark, landscapes are vast,all adding to the creepiness. This is one film you do not want to spoil the ending. Look for full review on Dan's Movie Report!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Yet another load of dribble..., 22 Dec 2011
By 
Ms. S. Nurse (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Hike [DVD] (DVD)
I'm not sure why I bother buying films based on other reviews I read on amazon, as 90% of the time I seriously can't understand how films like this one for example get 5 star reviews. Now, I can put up with a lame story and really stupid scenes as long as the cast can act but unfortunately this bunch of actors (not my choice of name for them) can't act at all, even their hello's sound fake and it makes the film even more unwatchable. Surely with the millions of people in the world they could have found 12 actors that can act, even just a little bit, but no, this film stars the winners of the worlds worst acting career. So there it is, an honest review from a huge horror fan. If you like a bad unoriginal story, with an unimaginative location, 12 bad actors and such incredibly bad death scenes then this film is for you, if all that doesn't entice you in then steer clear. It still amazes me that even in this day and age how running through the woods looks so wrong.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Hike [DVD]
The Hike [DVD] by Tamer Hassan (DVD - 2011)
6.28
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews