Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An enjoyable heist movie with a twist
Flypaper stars Patrick Dempsey (Transformers: Dark of the Moon) as Tripp, an OCD-addled kind of guy who counts everything and is obsessed with prime numbers. When a regular trip to his local bank ends up with two opposing teams of robbers holding up the same establishment, it might just be up to Tripp to figure a way out of the situation with his analytical mind, but out...
Published on 17 Oct. 2011 by J. Morris

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Cracking Caper Comedy
I was delighted to watch this charming little heist movie. Its unpretentious and witty script is supplemented by some excellent performances, genuine on screen chemistry and a decent feel good ending. The opening credits put me in mind of some cary grant screwball comedy and there were touches of that here and there along the way. Some reviewers have mentioned frequent...
Published on 26 Jun. 2013 by Steven


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An enjoyable heist movie with a twist, 17 Oct. 2011
By 
J. Morris "Josh" (London) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Flypaper [DVD] (DVD)
Flypaper stars Patrick Dempsey (Transformers: Dark of the Moon) as Tripp, an OCD-addled kind of guy who counts everything and is obsessed with prime numbers. When a regular trip to his local bank ends up with two opposing teams of robbers holding up the same establishment, it might just be up to Tripp to figure a way out of the situation with his analytical mind, but out of medication and running out of time, will he manage to protect himself and the other hostages?

A little about the premise; the two teams of bank robbers - one the stereotypical redneck couple of brothers with barely a brain cell between them named Peanut Butter & Jelly ("We wanted something that went well together but Milk & Cookies was taken") note-perfectly played by Tim Blake Nelson (Minority Report) & Pruitt Taylor Vince (Constantine) The second team are the professionals; equipped with blue-prints, safe hacking equipment and heavily armed, led by Darrien (Mekhi Phifer - Dawn Of The Dead), planned by Weinstein (John Ventimiglia - The Sopranos) and armed by the psychologically unstable Gates (Matt Ryan). The volatile interactions between the professionals and amateurs is brokered by Tripp to seemingly everyone's satisfaction - including allowing Tripp to get closer to the lovely bank-teller Kaitlin (Ashley Judd - Double Jeopardy).

Flypaper is a well filmed heist movie, the tensions are kept in place throughout the movie by the The Usual Suspects-style conspiracy elements but it is rather easy to see where the story is headed. Dempsey plays an obsessive man well, bringing a lot to the table with his performance whilst the other actors have so little individual screen-time they all come across as bit-parts. However, everyone's acting when on screen is commendable, I was genuinely interested in a lot of the characters and PB&J's brainless hijinks were disarmingly lovable.

All in all, I honestly wonder why it only had a limited theatrical release of just two cinemas; this is an excellent heist-gone-wrong movie with notable actors filling all of the roles. Definitely worth a watch!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Comedy Bank Heist/Murder Mystery, 18 Oct. 2011
By 
Jules (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Flypaper [DVD] (DVD)
Flypaper follows Bank Cashier Kaitlin (Ashley Judd -Double Jeopardy) & customer Tripp (Patrick Dempsey -Grey's Anatomy) making a withdrawal just before closing time, when suddenly the Bank is attacked by two, yes two, very different groups of Bank Robbers. A sleek highly professional trio in the shape of Darrien (Mekhi Phifer- ER), Weinstein (John Ventimiglia -The Sopranos) & Gates (Matt Ryan -Layer Cake). And the complete disorganized Country Bumpkins duo of Peanut Butter (Tim Blake Nelson -O Brother Where Art Thou) & Jelly (Pruitt Taylor Vince -Identity). Thanks to the intervention of Tripp, he manages to convince the robbers to work together rather then kill each other & himself in the crossfire, however tensions between them don't stop there as the duo have a very unconventional & crude approach to bank robbing, compared to the high tech trio.

During the initial Bank heist kerfuffle one of the customers is killed though, which seems to facinate Tripp, who after not getting his meds for his OCD like behaviour, then goes on to become what can only be described as a cross between t.v Detectives Columbo & Monk. As he starts to slowly deduce that something very sinister is going on, that only he believes & has to prove to the others, but will they listen ?!

In conclusion I thought this film was a good laugh in places & I really enjoyed the twist in the story as it moved along. The films cast is made up of a lot of well known faces, that you will recognize from this or that film/t.v show over the decades. with the likes of Jeffrey Tambor(does he not age ?!- The Hangover), Oscar Winner Octavia Spencer(The Help)& Curtis Armstrong (Moonlighting) etc.. I found it enjoyable, nothing exceptional, but I would still recommend watching it if you get the chance too, it's story is certainly different. Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A little-known comedy/whodunnit gem, 5 Nov. 2011
By 
Peter R (Dorset, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Flypaper [DVD] (DVD)
This movie falls under the crime-com genre and it is heavy on both the crime and comedy side.

I was a little suspect about getting it as it had no real marketing and had only been released in 2 cinemas here in the UK. Plus Dempsey and Judd aren't exactly prime Hollywood attractions at the moment.

HOwever, I was very glad I took the risk.

The film starts at a fast pace and continues as such right throughout. My hope that the 'idiot' bank robbers (Peanutbutter and Jelly) would be excellent characters was fulfilled. They provided some excellent laugh-out-loud moments and smiles throughout.

The script was also tight with each character quite clearly defined. The fact that Dempsey's character trying to get to the bottom of the initial kill meant that we were left guessing about who the criminals were. It wasn't exactly rocket science but a movie like this doesn't rest solely on keeping you guessing.

There is plenty of swearing, including one use of the 'C' word. There is also some moderately graphic gunshot scenes.

My wife and I thoroughly enjoyed this film. It is a good evenings entertainment and a film that deserves a much wider viewership.

If you are looking for a light-hearted film that guys and girls will both enjoy and that will also keep you guessing for a while then this is highly recommended.

Hope that helps.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars "...Hostages Can Bring You Moneybags...Hostages Can Bring You Snacks..." - Flypaper on BLU RAY, 4 May 2012
By 
Mark Barry "Mark Barry" (London) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Flypaper [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Tripp Kennedy (Patrick Dempsey) walks into a bank - big mistake. It's about to be robbed by not just one incompetent - but two sets of them. And this is before we discuss Tripp's need for pills to keep him calm - and his instantly falling in love with a hot teller who seems to think he's a fool. No stress there then...

As a gun battle erupts - Tripp is forced to protect Kaitlin (Ashley Judd) and the rest of her terrified bank staff. But then something strange starts to happen - employee bodies start to mount up - and its almost as if someone on the inside is killing them. But why?

Rob Minkoff's 2011 bank-caper movie "Flypaper" (written by the same people who brought you "The Hangover") is a hugely entertaining unheralded little gem that somehow slipped through the cinema net. Without giving too much away - imagine the Coen Brothers doing a bank-job/heist movie - but with most twists than Chubby Checker - and you're mostly there."Flypaper" is constantly funny and employs a craftily written plotline that will have you guessing and giggling throughout.

The large ensemble cast are uniformly great - with Tim Blake Nelson as Peanut Butter and Pruitt Taylor Vince as his dopey accomplice Jelly stealing the show (dialogue above). The pressure-cooker set pieces are often ballbreakingly funny too (this is what "The Hangover Part II" should have been and wasn't) - and it rolls on to an ending you mostly didn't see coming.

I thought the BLU RAY picture was good rather than great (defaulted to 2.35:1 Aspect Ratio) - but I was enjoying myself so much - it really wasn't that much of a distraction. AUDIO is DTS-HD Master Audio Surround 5.1 while the lone subtitle is English for the Hearing Impaired.

So - dig out your acetylene torch - don your goggles - blast that deadbolt - and enjoy. A cracking little film - put "Flypaper" high on your to buy/rental list...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars PEANUT BUTTER AND JELLY, 10 July 2013
This review is from: Flypaper [DVD] (DVD)
A very large bank has the unlikely event of being robbed by two different gangs at the same time. One group is dressed as a swat team while a second gang appears to have been on "Deliverance." Patrick Dempsey stars as Tripp, a customer who is fascinated by bank teller Katlin (Ashley Judd) and attempts to keep her out of harm's way. Katlin is supposed to get married in 2 days to a rich man.

After shots are fired, Tripp (who is off his medication) acts as a mediator between the two gangs to work out a compromise. There are things about this robbery that don't add up in Tripp's mind and he wants to know why. Tripp has a mental condition which aids him to figure things out. He plays "Clue" as things turn into "10 Little Indians." The robbers are a good quirky bunch as are the hostages. Excellent use of characters. Funny. Fast paced. Kudos to Rob Minkoff.

Excessive F-bombs. No sex or nudity.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Cracking Caper Comedy, 26 Jun. 2013
By 
Steven - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Flypaper [DVD] (DVD)
I was delighted to watch this charming little heist movie. Its unpretentious and witty script is supplemented by some excellent performances, genuine on screen chemistry and a decent feel good ending. The opening credits put me in mind of some cary grant screwball comedy and there were touches of that here and there along the way. Some reviewers have mentioned frequent swearing and while that's true it's entirely in character as the three people responsible are hardened bank robbers. As Tripp Kennedy, Dempsey proves yet again that he's grossly underused on the big screen, he's a bank customer enjoying some playful banter with cute teller Kaitlin, the delightful Ashley Judd when two simultaneous bank robberies occur. With the bank locked down for the evening Tripp takes it upon himself to manage the conflict between the two teams of robbers, solve a murder and uncover the mystery of why the bank was hit just as the security alarms went down! The characters are a mixed back of those familiar and inspired, Tripp for one is rather like Monk whilst the pair of bungling redneck robbers are the Charters and Caldicot of this particular adventure. Dempsey's cooky character Tripp, carries this movie and I particularly like the part where his OCD kicks in and Ashley plants a kiss to stop him ranting which only makes him worse. "I've got all this going on and now I have to deal with a kiss!" he says burying his head in his hands. It's lightweight, offbeat and one of the more enjoyable movies I've seen in ages.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Sometimes the best films are ones you know nothing about, 18 April 2012
By 
Albatross "Never argue with idiots" (Suburbia) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Flypaper [DVD] (DVD)
All the way through Flypaper I couldn't help but think of another film - Botched. I knew nothing about it before I saw it and only watched it because there was nothing else. It was one of the most amusingly entertainingly silly films I've seen - until now.

I also didn't know anything about Flypaper, but watched it anyway. Like Botched, it's about a bank robbery that goes wrong. This time, two sets of gangs try to rob a bank. That, in itself, is a recipe for disaster. However, the hostages are a bunch of misfits and there might even be a deeper conspiracy going on here.

I'm not going to say too much about it as I don't want to give anything away. All I'll say is that Flypaper has more humour than most comedies. More twists than most thrillers and a better story than most high-budget blockbusters (oh, and it does all that with less famous faces than the majority of Hollywood's output).

Flypaper is not to be taken seriously. It certainly doesn't set out to be so. It is, however, a great chuckle. A rare and cheap gem among faceless giants of films.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars An unnoticed gem, 18 Dec. 2011
This review is from: Flypaper [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Ashley Judd is an actress who is undervalued in Hollywood and when I saw her included in the great cast listing for this, I had to check it out. Directed by Rob Minkoff who is reasonably well known for kids/family movies like The Lion King and Stuart Little, Flypaper turned out to be a fun comedy heist movie which was very well paced and had some good twists (though I managed to guess the ending early on). There is a great mix of characters, the plot is quite tight and some of the humour was perfect for the moment (like checking each others rankings on the most wanted website). If you're a fan of heist movies with a bit of comedy added to it, I have to recommend this. It's nothing new, but it's entertaining. 3.5/5
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars What a pleasant surprise, 5 May 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Flypaper [DVD] (DVD)
I did not expect much from this one. Just a film to get Patrick Dempsey's movie career going but also something to relax to without any efforts. I was wrong. This turned out to be a very funny comedy. It takes some time for me to warm up to a film like this but I was laughing almost all through it all. The Crooks were just perfect and hilarious and Patrick did a great job. I would recommend it to anyone who would like to have a relaxing two hours.
PS: Don't worry about the language in this one. Compared to other comedies coming out of the US (or real life) this one was strictly Sunday Church School.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Flypaper a comic caper!, 7 May 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Flypaper [DVD] (DVD)
An excellent film which offers a lot of fun and intrigue. A good film about a group of thieves who have a heart of gold.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Flypaper [DVD]
Flypaper [DVD] by Rob Minkoff (DVD - 2011)
£4.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews