Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Rollercoaster ride!
Well this was my first Kindle book and couldnt stop reading it! An idyllic view of southern France but keep reading for the rollercoaster of events, nice informative writing style, thanks
Published on 4 Jan. 2012 by DCC

versus
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars A truly awful book
I was hoping for a well written book about life in rural france. Instead I found a very badly written diatribe full of bitterness about a failed marriage. This man has no self awareness and is incapable of telling a story. The narrative is rambling and disjointed. Nothing of interest happens to him.and yet he is utterly self obsessed and we are treated to endless...
Published 18 months ago by Roslyn Findlay


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars A truly awful book, 27 Jan. 2014
By 
Roslyn Findlay "MedReader" (Turkey) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: An Acre Of The Dordogne (Kindle Edition)
I was hoping for a well written book about life in rural france. Instead I found a very badly written diatribe full of bitterness about a failed marriage. This man has no self awareness and is incapable of telling a story. The narrative is rambling and disjointed. Nothing of interest happens to him.and yet he is utterly self obsessed and we are treated to endless comments about how terrible his wife is. At the end of the book he apologises to his three sons for failing them, he should apologise to his readers too for he has most certainly failed them. Please don't write another
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Rollercoaster ride!, 4 Jan. 2012
This review is from: An Acre Of The Dordogne (Kindle Edition)
Well this was my first Kindle book and couldnt stop reading it! An idyllic view of southern France but keep reading for the rollercoaster of events, nice informative writing style, thanks
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Self indulgent!, 21 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: An Acre Of The Dordogne (Kindle Edition)
As a novel this book was a disappointment. Having been through a similar personal experience as the author after a 30 year relationship, it appears to me that he has used the book to vent his spleen to the extent that it has ended up as an exercise in total self indulgence.
Sorry, would not recommend this poorly scripted story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Lovely poignant book., 10 May 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: An Acre Of The Dordogne (Kindle Edition)
The thing that stands out for me is that this is a book, honestly written by a guy baring his soul in parts. It is not the usual book about the renovation of a French property, you do get bits of that, but not the minutiae of the placement of every screw and tile that you get with some. This is a story of an era in someone's life and especially their life in France. I cannot understand some reviews which say he 'dwells on the break up of his marriage'. It was an essential part of his story and the reason for him living in France in the first place! Don't buy this book if you want a 'how to renovate a house in France guide'. Do buy it if you want a great insight into what life in rural France is really like, simple pleasures and wonderful people both French and English. Buy it also for it's writer's open hearted story, I cried at the end. I won't spoil it for you, but prepare to shed tears of your own. I am sorry it is over.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Really?, 11 May 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: An Acre Of The Dordogne (Kindle Edition)
This book was slow to start with too much rambling, irrelevant information. However, it did improve and actually became a good read for a few chapters.........right up until the part when the 'author's' wife left him. I found inclusion of his obvious bitterness towards her and her new partner to be totally unnecessary and, frankly, quite sinister. As the book went on, I lost any sense of connection with the writer as he frequently came across as self centred and emotionally detached. For example, his friends wife had lost the plot, apparently, because she left him. His own wife 'had no brains' because she left him! Any emotion described in this book relating to giving his much loved dog away and selling his home in France was unconvincing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars loved it, 1 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: An Acre Of The Dordogne (Kindle Edition)
i love France and have lived there on and off for some time so enjoyed the stories. this book is a super read, couldnt put it down
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Author did not truly love France, 2 Dec. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: An Acre Of The Dordogne (Kindle Edition)
In my opinion author was shallow in his love of the subject he wrote about which tainted the subject matter.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A love affair with a house, 10 Mar. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: An Acre Of The Dordogne (Kindle Edition)
I really enjoyed this account of the author's choice of a second home in the Dordogne which came to be so much more than that. I won't give the details away but I appreciated the author's honesty about his difficulties though I'm not sure I would do the same. It was interesting to read about the way he integrated in his community because he embraced parts of rural French life that many expats don't.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Not about living in France, 30 May 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: An Acre Of The Dordogne (Kindle Edition)
This was quite possibly the worst book I have ever read It did not give an insight into living in France rather an insight into a self pitying man who's marriage had broken up. It also angered me that he abandoned a dog when he could have brought the dog back to Britain without too much hassle. I kept reading this book as I thought it had to get better alas it did not.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars An Honest Account, 22 April 2014
By 
Hutson (London, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: An Acre Of The Dordogne (Kindle Edition)
Some of these books are basically diaries in book form but this was well written and honest. Perhaps too honest in parts, particularly about his relationship with his wife who I increasingly had sympathy for! There were a few interesting bits that kept me reading to the end but also a lot of mundane stuff like what he ate and what he drank. Anyway, worth a read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

An Acre Of The Dordogne
£1.00
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews