Customer Reviews


107 Reviews
5 star:
 (30)
4 star:
 (21)
3 star:
 (22)
2 star:
 (13)
1 star:
 (21)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good but not that good
I have read every Clancy novel and I have always thoroughly enjoyed them. However, this latest one is so intense in its pace and action that I feel it lacks the deep story line I am used to. It actually reads more like an adventure comic than a book
Published on 18 July 2011 by A. Coop

versus
54 of 55 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Typical Clancy
Tom Clancy is well known for books which contain many sub-plots which slowly converge into a dramatic and thrilling finale. While books such as Red Storm Rising and The Hunt for Red October represent brilliant examples of this writing technique, I can only describe this as a literary misfire. As with many of Clancy's books, the plot is too complex to be summarized...
Published on 17 Jun 2011 by James Baker


‹ Previous | 1 2 311 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Poor, 23 Jan 2012
By 
Stephen Bishop (Darlington, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Against All Enemies (Hardcover)
This is another 'production line' Clancy book written largely by someone else, with Clancy presumably contributing plot ideas, etc. The basic situation - Islamic terrorists join Mexican drug cartels - has plenty of potential but this book does not fulfil it. It tries to use the trade-mark Clancy technique of slowing weaving together many plot-lines to a denouement, but the result is very messy and the climax not very exciting. There's a surfeit of characetrs and acronyms and it's difficult to follow at times - contrast the very long but carefully constructed Sum of All Fears. There's careless editing - near the end they seem to lose a plane in the round-up of disasters. The hero, Moore, is colourless. The 'romantic' interludes are pointless and a bit yukky. I did learn something about the drug war/border situation, and I now also know what a cellphone waiting lot is - but only because I googled it. Fortunately I got this book from the library - I won't be buying it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good but not that good, 18 July 2011
By 
A. Coop (devon) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Against All Enemies (Hardcover)
I have read every Clancy novel and I have always thoroughly enjoyed them. However, this latest one is so intense in its pace and action that I feel it lacks the deep story line I am used to. It actually reads more like an adventure comic than a book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars In progress, 17 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Against All Enemies (Hardcover)
Reading going well as the tale. Great Tom Clancy that will go well with the stories by Clancy already on my shelves. Would recomend to purchase for holiday and pleasure reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Not Clancy, 2 April 2012
This review is from: Against All Enemies (Kindle Edition)
It is obvious after the first few pages that this book is far beneath Clancy quality. Unfortunately you have to buy the book to find out. Never again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Surprised by the lack of quality, 31 Jan 2012
This review is from: Against All Enemies (Kindle Edition)
Im an avid reader and long time fan of Clancy, so felt very let down by the poor standard of this effort. The book came across as very disjointed but still managed to be predictable. A poor plot written to a standard far below the authors normal efforts and you soon realise that the author has a definite love for the US Navy SEAL. The constant references to how good they are soon become repetitive and helped the book loose its way, leaving the whole subject hollow. In the end i found myself finding reasons to pick up the book and finish it as oppose to being able to read it straight through.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Against All Enemies, 21 Jun 2011
This review is from: Against All Enemies (Hardcover)
Unlike Dead or Alive, which was also co-authored and whose writing style closely resembled that of Clancy's, Against All Enemies was quite clearly not written by Tom Clancy. Now, that's not necessarily a bad thing, given that Clancy's normal style is clunky, wordy, redundant, inefficient, unnecessarily long prose that constantly goes off on completely useless tangents.

Instead the writing is the more lean and straightforward, often showing-rather-than-telling style of most successful commercial fiction thrillers. It fits the book well, since it's very much like those countless other thrillers, with a somewhat generic Navy SEAL/CIA operator taking on armies of terrorists and drug cartel enforcers, with gun battles and assassinations in almost every other chapter and lots of violence, while never becoming overly complex, similar in style to Brad Thor, Vince Flynn, or Alex Berenson.

The book's focus on the drug cartels and the main settings in Mexico are at least refreshing changes from the numerous thrillers with terrorists and Middle East locations.

Clancy/Telep/Putnam's new hero is Max Moore, a Navy SEAL/CIA veteran of Iraq and Afghanistan assigned to a task force targeting a Mexican drug cartel leader. Moore is never fully developed and, unlike Clancy's other main characters, doesn't really come across as a real person, despite being given large chunks of back story that are told throughout the novel in brief flashbacks. He's just another special forces action hero with little personality, and the book never really gets into his thoughts. None of the other characters particularly stand out either, which is unfortunate since there are so many of them, and it makes it a bit difficult at times to recall who's who and what their relationship to other characters is.

The other major downside is that the book is a bit too long. The plot is not that complex or intricate, and this story could have been told in a lot fewer pages. But it still held my attention throughout and was a very fast read. There were perhaps too many unnecessary action scenes that did nothing to advance the plot, but most of these are pretty brief.

Overall the book holds up as a quality and above average thriller. There are a couple minor moments scatered throughout the book that aren't entirely consistent with reality, but the story is plausible and follows a believable chain of events, without delving into comic book territory or relying on implausible plot twists, like so many of these types of books tend to do.

While not up to Clancy's usual standards (or even the standards of the co-authored Dead or Alive), Against All Enemies is still just as a good anything by Brad Thor or Vince Flynn. A fun, readable, but not exceptional thriller. If you just care about reading an entertaining book, than you can do much worse than Against All Enemies.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Listen to the rest, it's not Tom Clancy's work., 2 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Against All Enemies (Paperback)
This is evidently not written by Tom Clancy. The lack of detail is what hits me the most.
Story: The story is ok. It is not Clear and present danger and Sum of all fears standard at all. It is very basic and easy to read. I was not very intrigued by Max Moore at all. He seems very bland to say the least.

Detail: This book suffers greatly in detail. I can tell that Clancy gave the story line to Peter Telep, and he had to find out the information himself. If you are looking for any insider detail, look elsewhere. This book is by no means as detailed as Executive Orders or The Bear and the Dragon.

Characters: Max Moore is your typical ex-Navy seal. I thought it unnecessary to have another Navy seal. John Clark is the only REAL ex-navy seal that Clancy should have. The other characters were dismissed quickly, for they were 1 dimensional.

All in all, this book I thought was not necessary. It has an easy to read plot, and I finished it in 6 days on holiday. As a 15 year old, even I could see the lack of detail and that this was not Clancy at all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Terrible, 19 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Against All Enemies (Kindle Edition)
I cannot read this and I love Tom Clancy books it is simply one of the most poorly written books I have ever come across
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars kept me interested, 11 July 2012
By 
Dr. Nicholas Marotta (UK - bournemouth) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Against All Enemies (Paperback)
saw a lot of negative reviews here which seem to be from die hard clancy fans who recognised that perhaps the co-author was over involved but from the point of view of someone whos not read clancy before it was a good read. multiple plots lots of action, interesting characters and plot twists. I admit i dont read a lot, I occasionally star books but get bored and give up so its testament to this one that after losing it, I purchased another copy to finish it off.
The only other thing ive read recently, that also happens to be of a similar ilk,is 'Worth Dying For' by Lee Childs, which was a bit bettr perhaps.
Anyway my point is this is an interesting book, i found the attention to detail regarding military paraphinalia esp guns interesting, the main characters had depth and the plot was Gripping and relavent with respect to the 'War on Terror' but not too obvious in that the mexican drug cartels are also involved in the plot. I might add that the violence described with respect to the cartels was often grotesque.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good summer read, 10 May 2012
This review is from: Against All Enemies (Kindle Edition)
I don't really get all the hate for this book. While Clancy himself takes a back seat for Peter Telep he is only following a path James Paterson and Clive Cussler have already tread.
I thought it had plenty of twists and turns and the ending was a refreshing change, much better than rubbish like teeth of the tiger.
If i had a problem was too much back story, for example a boarder patrol guard called Susan has her entire life history told when she only appears in one, fairly irrelvent sceen. Cut it down!
I enjoyed it and look forward to the upcoming sequel.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 311 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Against All Enemies
Against All Enemies by Tom Clancy
£3.59
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews