Customer Reviews


68 Reviews
5 star:
 (54)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dolly Parton - Better Day CD
Dolly has surpassed all expectations with her new album,
Better Day. Not one track, can I fault. A Dolly fan(which I am)
or not, you cannot help but be uplifted by her beautiful lyrics and upbeat
music throughout the whole CD. An absolute treat for anyone. Can't wait for the
live DVD/CD from her world tour, which there's bound to be one, given the...
Published on 17 Sept. 2011 by Dolly9to5

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant music - terrible sound quality
I totally agree that the music is wonderful and beautifully sung. However, the sound quality is pumped up and compressed for the iPod generation. It is really as bad as any modern pop music CD I have heard. Given the love put into the songs and singing, why did Ms Parton allow her own label to do the mastering so badly. This needs remastering as soon as possible.
Published on 9 Feb. 2012 by Dr N E Peeling


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dolly Parton - Better Day CD, 17 Sept. 2011
This review is from: Better Day (Audio CD)
Dolly has surpassed all expectations with her new album,
Better Day. Not one track, can I fault. A Dolly fan(which I am)
or not, you cannot help but be uplifted by her beautiful lyrics and upbeat
music throughout the whole CD. An absolute treat for anyone. Can't wait for the
live DVD/CD from her world tour, which there's bound to be one, given the
success of her last one in London.
Love you always Dolly xxx
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best CD, 30 Sept. 2011
This review is from: Better Day (Audio CD)
This is the best cd Dolly Parton has done the rest have been great but this one excells them all. I found the music was great but the words were brilliant.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Breathtaking, 29 Aug. 2011
By 
Laurie Dudley (Newcastle upon Tyne, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Better Day (MP3 Download)
A CD bubbling with an enthusiasm for life and a warmth of heart that will leave even the most famous curmudgeons giving thanks for the world we live in. Dolly's 65 year-old vocal chords are as effective as ever, and her songwriting skills have been honed with the wisdom of each passing year. The first track, "In the Meantime", sets the tone for the entire album: "Well, we rant and we rave about the good old days/And how different it was back then;/Well, the greatest days we've ever known/Are the days we're livin' in." A marvellous sentiment, and I defy anyone to honestly say that "Better Day" didn't make THEIR day just a little bit better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simply Awesome, 29 Sept. 2011
This review is from: Better Day (Audio CD)
As a Dolly fan I admit to a bias toward the work of Ms Parton but this new CD is truly splendid. Dolly has delivered a wonderful mix of songs that can't help but raise the spirits and cheer the soul.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dolly at her BEST!!!!, 3 Oct. 2011
This review is from: Better Day (Audio CD)
Dolly is amazing!! Once again her music hits the spot!! Certainly makes your day a much Better Day!!

I would recommend this to anyone who loves a sing and a jig!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dolly gets even better, 1 Oct. 2011
By 
R. Plant (Burntwood, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Better Day (MP3 Download)
Dolly Parton has always been one of my most favourite warblers, I did have many of her records - now I have most of her CD's. She can do very little wrong and in this CD she proves that age is no barrier - her voice is still young and vibrant, a joy to listen and dream to.
RoPlan
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Drop of Contry Music Sunshine, 13 Sept. 2011
By 
Lee Kelly "LordTedBear" (Dubin,Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Better Day (Audio CD)
Another amazing and offering from the Queen of country. Infectious positivity and ceaseless energy delivered in a truly uplifting album with a voice that doesn't seem to age. An inspiration to us all. Thanks Dolly for brightening up many a Better Day. ;D xx
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dolly just gets better, 4 Oct. 2011
By 
Mike Lloyd (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Better Day (MP3 Download)
Dolly continues to bring top quality songs and performances to her many fans, to which group I am happy to say that I belong. My car's Mp3 player blasts out Dolly's music for my pleasure, and for anyone else travelling with me. This is an excellent album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars WOW!, 15 Sept. 2011
By 
This review is from: Better Day (Audio CD)
I'm from the States and am old enough to remember this "guitar playing woaman" on Porter Waggoner Show.
This album is a classic in the making.
She can wax lyrics to the point of Conversion.
Bless all who buy it. Bless her for makin' it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Can't Get No Better Than This, 30 Aug. 2011
By 
Joe Skelly "Joe Skelly (Partin Glances)" (Cumbria, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Better Day (Audio CD)
Well now, what can I say - this is a truly remarkable set of recordings!!! The CD/album opens with the stomping track "In The Meantime" which tells the listener that we are living in good times and should enjoy life now. The message is clear in lines such as We've been livin' in the last days, ever since the first day which is Dolly's way of telling us - if we listen to some people, we would think the end is always near. This clever song manages to include words such as "nuclear holocaust" and "drop this doomsday attitude" and they rhyme with other lyrics - brilliant.

"Just Leaving" says Heaven Help Me, Lord You've Got An Angel Down - Dolly is leaving this old town in true blue tear filled emotion. There is a wonderful line in there that says I'm Talking Big For Someone So Small.

"Somebody's Missing You" is another sad little track which tells the person who has left that our Dolly really misses them and her heart is probably broken. Perhaps the person who has left in this song doesn't even know the singer is alive anymore..........

"Together You & I" is of course the lead single from the album. Sadly, in the USA Dolly's newer music never seems to get airplay (and therefore exposure) to the giant country as much as it could. This track, although shipped to radio and media is much ignored. The song however, which I guess even fans in the UK and other parts of Europe will by now have hear it in one shape or another - is a bouncy and catch track. I love the line Paint A Pretty Rainbow Brushed With Love Across The Sky.

Dolly wrote all the songs on this album and a country music singer/songwriter helped her out on the track "Country Is As Country Does". Mac Davis wrote the song with Dolly. This is a country hoe-down, line dancing, toe-shuffling track and you can't help but sing and even dance along to this. The song tells us that Dolly has never altered over the years - Nothing's Ever Changed me Yet, Nothin' Will - it's A Pretty Safe Bet and ...... It's The Way I Am And The Way I Wuz. The end of the song and Dolly tells us "I'm Country, but now that don't mean I can go to town, lol. Another excellent line - "I'm content with the way I am...and if you ain't, well, kiss my ham!!"

"Holding Everything" is a remarkable duet - when I'm kissing you, I'm Holding Everything..! It's a fantastic track which stirs up a lot of emotion and makes you want to keep turning the volume dial a little higher and higher. Dolly's "my heart beats" first words of the song are so smooth and warming - then the song takes on a different turn and it's truly magical.

I think this is the best track on the album - "The Sacrifice". This is a very very cleverly written song and it's all about Dolly's climb from nothing to success. "I was gonna be rich no matter how much it cost, I's gonna win no matter how much I lost...... Rhinestones and Grimestones made up my life...you ask if it's worth the Sacrifice". This hopefully will go down one day as a historic and definative signaturwe tune for our Dolly.

Anyone who has even had heartbreak, and been trampled and trampled and trampled into the ground by others or situations - this is the song they can identify with. "I Just Might" is the damaged soul that still shows a glimmer of hope and can't do anything else in life other than hope it "just might" go alright with one last effort. A very emotional and moving track.

"A Better Day" is a blues track. I think it's possibly the weakest song on the CD. It unfortunately sounds like a left over track from the patriotic album "For God & Country" - I guess there is always one song on any album that is the least preferrered. The blues theme of the song is ok but, not Dolly at her best.

"Shine Like The Sun" is wonderful - how can you not love this song!!!! It's all about someone who will shine and shine and shine once the clouds and the tears roll away. "And when the cryin's all done...I'm gonna shine like the sun". It's a moving on song about not being at the mercy of others and there is a line in there that is insprational - "and I have to swim shoreward lest I'd drown out here alone". One of the best songs on the CD.

Sometimes in life people suffer more than they can take. Perhaps at the hands of an abusive or unfair sibling - "Get Out & Stay Out" tells the offender to get out and stay away. Need we say more. Dolly Rocks!!!!

The whole album seems to fly by really fast - each and every offering is remarkable and a total joy to hear. The last song "Let Love Grow" is really great. Dolly is asking us to let love grow and grow and grow, and - why not? Apparently, we can find love on a mountain top or in the valley low and the best line in the song - "Love Can Fill The Empty Faces...Dry Our Tears and All Their Traces... Oh, and not forgetting "Hindsight's Always Out To Blind You..Look Ahead And Not behind You. Joe Skelly
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Better Day
Better Day by Dolly Parton
Buy MP3 Album£5.89
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews