Shop now Shop now Shop now Up to 70% off Fashion Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Learn More Amazon Pantry Food & Drink Beauty Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

3.5 out of 5 stars150
3.5 out of 5 stars
Format: Kindle EditionChange
Price:£5.29
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 14 December 2015
Since I'm relatively left-wing/liberal - a longtime SF fan but new to Asher - it's a tribute to the man's writing that I soon forgot about the explicitly anti-left flavour of his dystopia and, after finishing The Departure, immediately downloaded Zero Point.

So, for the newcomer, this is set in a future, hi-tech, Stalinesque society on the brink of catastrophic collapse, where a highly-idealised warrior for Freedom - badly-wronged enough to be mentally and physically hurt, but of a clear, individualistic moral purpose - is intelligent enough and technically wired-in enough to take on the oppressors almost single-handedly. More damaged than Batman, more morally certain than Superman and almost as connected as Neo, Alan Saul is at once better and worse than all of these: a cyber-anti-superhero.

The baddies are Cohaagen-level corrupt, O'Brien-coldly vicious; most of Saul's fellow-travellers are brutalised, barely functional; the hard elements, especially engineering, are blueprint-precise to the point of stodginess.

Perhaps I want to know what happens next because I'm hoping that somewhere inside all these desperate individuals there exists the kind of humanity that hankers for a freedom greater than the mere right to sit on the porch of your ranch-house with your rifle in your lap.

The point is, I DO want to know what happens next, and maybe you will too.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 February 2015
Good Sci-fi like this is getting harder to find. If you want to read about the U.S. Marine Corps in space kicking alien butt - then this is not for you. There's 100's of books like that already. This is hard sci-fi in the old fashioned style. About technology and it's effect on people and society - and the choices this forces them to make. It's not perfect - I should really give it 4 stars, but I dialed in 5 to make up for the tw*ts who only gave it 1star because they didn't like the political slant.
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 February 2013
This book suffers from a decent set-up, but an intermiable middle and a not particularly great ending.
The world described in the novel is dying under the weight of humanity -manswarm- and the characters are forced to be increasingly ruthless in order to meet their goals.

Where this novel flags for me is not the characters, but the fact that we've seen alot of this before, and done better, even by Asher himself. The final product comes across as a not very impressive pastiche of the bourne identity and ashers own agent comack series -only with the protagonist starting off far more superhuman than cormack is, even at the end of the cormac novels.
Ideas run out about halfway through the book, and the remainder is a run of the mill scifi semi-thriller, that lacks much of what Asher is good at (humour, body-horror, wierd ecology) and substitutes a nearly endless progression of run and guns that quickly become repetitive.

Dont get me wrong, i love much of Ashers work..and i've read pretty much all of it... But this really is the weakest of his novels to date.

If you're not already a fan of Asher I'd strongly suggest starting elsewhere. For fans...well, its currently on sale for 66p as a kindle book, and for that its ok, but dont expect too much from it.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 September 2011
Neal's latest novel is a departure of sorts: away from his Polity series, and the start of a new series, but a place he has written of before. The Departure is the first of The Owner novels, though Neal's story collection The Engineer (and its later revised version, The Engineer Reconditioned) tell three stories of the Owner Universe.

Whilst the short stories tell of events much later, The Departure sets up the basics in the origin of the stories. Set in the 22nd century, Earth is being run by a global authority known as the Committee. Its enforcers, the Inspectorate, rule a rapidly growing population with ruthless efficiency, often involving torture and death. The general populace are controlled by human enforcers and robot Shepherds, a Wellsian type machine that can both capture and shred people.

Things in this dystopia are generally not good. A too-large population using too many of its finite resources without the luxury of expansion means that life for many is arduous. The idea that `Power Corrupts' is important here, and there's clearly something rotten in the socio-political structures of the 22nd century. The world government administrators live in luxury, whilst the ZA (Zero Asset) people, who contribute nothing to the economy, exist on a bare minimum with limited health care and facilities.

To this we have Alan Saul, assisted by an artificial intelligence named Janus. Having being tortured by the Inspectorate, his past is a mystery and much of Alan's past is unknown to him, or at least fragmentarily remembered at best. His mission objective is to bring down the corrupt organisation. He helps who he thinks is his torturer/interrogator, Hannah Neumann, but actually finds that they are former lovers and colleagues. Saul now discovers that he was a key player for the Inspectorate, but one who was experimented on and tortured before being dispatched by Political Director Smith for disposal.

When Janus's presence in cyberspace is uncovered, Saul has to download Janus into the experimental hardware created by Hannah in his head, where the two become merged, if at first, rather schizophrenic. Now being hunted by the Inspectorate, Saul/Janus and Neumann attempt to get to Argus Space Station, and off planet. He finds that Smith is now in charge of running Argus and so Saul must try and kill Smith first in order to bring down the Committee.

Another of the consequences of the overpopulated and under-resourced Earth is that the limited space exploration other than travel to Argus, is confined pretty much to Mars. There, Varalia Delex (Var) is a colonist at Antares Base who finds that a colleague has been deliberately killed by the security forces there. The reason for this is that the security staff has received from Earth, an order which effectively cuts Mars off from any future support from Earth in the foreseeable future. Facing a difficult future, Ricard, chief administrator of the station's present Inspectorate, attempts to introduce a means of ensuring survival for a few, but not all, of the base's inhabitants. Var leads the rebellion back in order to remove the enforcers and keep her colleagues alive.

Earth is overpopulated and running out of basic resources, whilst unable to afford further space exploration. This leads to a base on Mars being left without support or resources and an uncertain future.

It's all pretty fast, dramatic stuff. We have city riots, shootings, space planes destroyed, the deliberate bombardment of the Earth from space, and combat in space aided by construction robots. As you might therefore expect, the body count is very high (though that is something that you rather expect with Neal's books.) This is definitely not one for the faint hearted in that respect, with body parts flying around and blood splashing many a wall.

Similarly, like many of Neal's other books there's also lots of cool gadgets: the robot-like Shepherds ensuring control, spider guns (robotic tanks), readerguns (that can recognise their targets before shooting them), space planes with scram jets and lots and lots of lethal guns.

In fact, this is a book with lots of Asher trademarks: rapid pace, great action, messy consequences. The political aspects of the tale showing the decline of a global network are quite well done, though rather unsubtle. Neal does tend to hammer home the message of "corporate greed = bad" quite a lot, as well as blaming the world's ills on left-wing measures.

Having watched riots and unrest in my own country over the last few weeks at the time of writing this, though, some of the early scenes here are eerily reminiscent of what could happen. If, as some suggest, SF reflects the time it was written, then perhaps this book fits the bill.

On the downside, though well told, when it is simplified to its basics, this book in a series of set pieces does little more than set up things for what will happen in the next book. It is an opening arrangement, with the result that that some aspects of the story are started and not resolved here.

The characters can be a little nondescript, though they are easy enough to work with, and have the advantage of the reader not having to spend pages reading about determining the meaning of life. (Though that's not to say that there isn't a little bit of that on the part of the main protagonist and his co-opted ex-lover.) Some may also quibble with the eventual god-like status of Saul and how quickly that occurs.

Nevertheless I must admit I am quite pleased to read something that Neal has done away from the Polity for a change. It seems to have given him a new lease of life. I am sure fans of his previous novels will enjoy this new series just as much, and will find much to enjoy here.
0Comment37 of 45 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 February 2013
This may well be a glimpse of how the future global situation will pan out. The projection of the disasters possible if the world's population is not held in check. The political and social structure of the inevitable world government formed, to so say, govern the crisis of extreme overcrowding, in a world of diminishing resources. The story around these predictions is riveting. Plenty of action too!
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 April 2015
I could hardly put this down. I can't recall the last time when a book felt like a thrill ride. From what I could figure, the events in the book take place over the space of a few days, but because so much is happening it seems like it's all within about an afternoon. The brutal dystopian regime on earth feels nastily plausible, and the actions of the main character are very gratifying. However, his struggle against it is very personal. He's no hero of any sort. His amoral quest for vengeance strikes a blow against the ruling elite, but it's coincidental. I very much enjoyed the fact that the central character here is not a hero at all. He isn't good, he isn't pleasant. There's little to make him sympathetic at all, but you do warm to him in a way, because whatever his motivations are they ultimately have positive outcomes. Kind of.

Imagine the best car chase you ever saw in a movie. For me, that was what this book equated to. I really enjoyed it, with my heart in my mouth for half the time.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 August 2013
After reading all of the Polity novels back to back I switched genre for a while and started to read more fantasy until this book was promoted on Amazon.

Overall thoughts. I found it quite hard to read. The book is as dark and bleak a place as an earth on the brink could be and at times I found Alan Saul an incredibly difficult character to get behind. But, and it's a big one, by the end of the book I was itching to read Zero Point.

A work colleague stated that Asher had obviously been in a 'Hang 'em all' mood when writing this book and I agree at times. A doomed earth, conspiracies on Mars and an anti-hero with few redeeming qualities and an amazing array of methods for killing people make for a very black book but books don't always have to be uplifting and at times it is easy to imagine that this dystopian future is a very distinct possibility.

In short, stick with it because the ending leaves you wanting more.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 April 2013
I like many was put off by early reviews of this book, it really is a departure. Many of his earlier books about the polity paint a more benign future than the one Alan Saul lives in. His future is bleak and the people more complex and dark. The perspective is also different; the Polity books have a wide canvas whereas in this book you are often inside Alan Saul's head. It's a bit like moving from a strategy game to a first person shooter, though it does broaden. He has also been criticized as promoting cynical right wing politics, even though there is no good reason to believe the future will be more benign. The casual violence fits in well in his overpopulated ghettoized future where life is a commodity and those without any skills or aptitude are seen as having little value and even the brightest live on the whim of the few elite members of the committee. I suggest you read it and decide for yourself, I was not disappointed.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 March 2013
This is the beginning of a longer story and its main focus concerns a particular mind-machine "melt" (the Owner) and its interactions with the universe, a subject which Asher clearly likes. This first book however does not feel polished enough and to my mind something is missing...
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 November 2013
A really enjoyable book and exactly the kind of work Mr Asher has been entertaining us with for a long time now. The build up does have its fair share of deus ex machina to get us to the concluding off world fire fights, but if you can live with that then the closing 150 or so pages are a ripping read. There are a lot of critical reviews and of the ones I checked out they all seemed to be concerned by the politics of the book- which is ridiculous. It just goes to show how dangerous these EU socialist bureaucrats really are when they start complaining about any potentially negative portrayal of themselves and ironically goes to justify the storyline (joke!).
Asher uses as background for the book's story a world with a centralist Global government which has spiralled out of control, in case you were wondering. Heavy connotations to the EU here.
0Comment4 of 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.