Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.0 out of 5 stars57
4.0 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£8.00+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 3 May 2014
This excellent cast and very promising start, indicating the benefit of a jury system which can bring together so many different people to decide on a case, did not deliver in the end because the story lines petered out into something predictable and pedestrian. It's quite long and, as a result, only worth watching if you have nothing better to do. Even Julie Walters' character seemed wooden at times, and nothing she could do with the lines given to her could redeem it. Perhaps it tried to deal with too many issues, because it ended up pursuing none in a satisfactory way.
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 August 2013
A bunch of odd characters thrown together on a jury and they all have a chance to stand out. Julie Walters is strong and I don't mind her playing herself...again. A good story at a good price.
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 August 2013
This courtroom drama totally held my attention. The plotline was clever, the casting and acting superb and above all, the writing was excellent.
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 March 2015
You don't expect courtroom dramas to be realistic, and in that respect this one doesn't disappoint. Realism and plausibility are in particularly short supply in 'The Jury'. Among its lowlights: The kid with Asperger's who looks like he should be preparing for his GCSEs, not sitting on a jury. The woman with the mysterious agenda who effortlessly obtains a seat in the gallery for every session of what is supposedly a high-profile trial, when, in reality, she'd be lucky to get in for half a day. A defence barrister (Walters) who routinely meets with her client alone--perhaps the budget didn't stretch to an extra pretending to be a solicitor--and gives an opening so lame--it can only serve to antagonise the jury--that most clients would have dumped her before she sat down. Barely a single admissable question asked by either counsel, who seem to prefer speechifying, waxing sarcastic and leading the witnesses. A judge who rarely bestirs himself to remind them that this is supposed to be a trial, not an audition for Gilbert and Sullivan. A prosecutor (Allam) who makes a slew of unsupported assertions that Walters is either too gracious or distracted or just plain inept to challenge. A script that can't make up its mind whether it is proselytizing in favour of jury trials or pointing out that jurors often behave so irresponsibly they risk causing a mistrial and ending up in the nick themselves.

At this point, minor spoiler alert! Just when you're wondering what possessed the Crown to retry this case, Allam freely admits that 'we never really had anything on' the accused, which suggests his dishonour in taking the case and gross dereliction of duty on the part of the CPS.

For all that, this 'The Jury' (not to be confused with its far better predecessor series) is mildly diverting, thanks to an ensemble that works wonders with a script that doesn't deserve the cast or the wonders. Unlike the judge, you probably won't fall asleep.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 November 2011
The series 'The Jury' is a drama about the members of a jury of a triple murder trial. It shows their experience of being a member of the jury from the moment when they received the letter to when the foreman calls out the verdict. Some of the jury members include a boy with asbergers syndrome, a teacher and a man who wishes to become a U.S citizen.

I really enjoyed this series as it provides a refreshing approach to the usual trial dramas where only the barristers and the case are followed. Although it does not show every single member of the jury in the same detail, you still find out lots about the individuals whilst following in the mornings and during their lunch breaks.

I would highly recommend this series to anyone wishing to watch a good drama.
33 comments|28 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 2 December 2011
Screened on successive nights in ITV's top slot at nine o'clock, this is, as the name suggests, a legal programme about a triple murder trial (re-trial to be exact) and its focus is the jury, its particular members and the system itself. The case is handled well although, in parts, I felt it had been severely edited to fit into the five hours. It seemed as if much more had been televised and "in the can" which had ended on the cutting room's digital floor.

Having written that, I enjoyed it and the characters are explored creatively to reveal what happens in any trial - life has to go on as well, the adversarial barristers are friends outside court but doing their job inside and people have strong feelings either way which can be manipulated by the unscrupulous.

As an infrequent visitor to the Old Bailey just to listen to the arguments and study the process, I enjoyed it and the jury system comes out unscathed but not necessarily as expected or advised.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 November 2011
Well-acted, and with an exemplary cast, seldom has so much talent been wasted on such a dismal and disappointing drama.

The story starts strongly but with each successive episode seems to deliver less, until the story limps home to an unsatisfying (and predictable) ending. This is a preachy and didactive piece, and fashions its narrative in an unconvincing way to suit the message it is so desperate to hammer home. Grafted onto the central themes are also some 'pro-Life' sermonising, a bit of gratuitous flag-waving and Yank-bashing, and some dodgy religious sentiments.

I was also not sure that the author understood the niceties of our legal system. At a pivotal point in the jury's deliberations, one of the (supposedly) more intelligent jurors announced that surely the point of sending the case for retrial was so that the defendant could be found innocent, and that this was obviously what the authorities wanted. Now, maybe I'm mistaken, but surely the opposite is true. Appeal court judges have the power to quash a conviction; but if a case is sent for retrial this means the Crown Prosecution Service think the defendant still has a serious case to answer.

I can't write any more without disclosing the plot, but anyone who loves intelligent and well-crafted drama should give this a miss. It is certainly not a patch on two of ITV's previous five-nighters, both incidentally written by Anthony Horowitz, 'Collision', and 'Injustice'. If you've seen neither, buy them instead!
22 comments|21 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 January 2012
Such a superb series - if you missed it watch the DVD I was rivited with the various plots & twists. The acting is superb & the storyline brilliant & Julie Walters priceless. It will have you guessing to the very end, even the odd tear!
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 February 2012
This was a typical drama that ITV do so well, albiet bordering a bit on the ridiculous.
The female juror who took the place of her boss was amusing to watch, but would have been dangerous to do such a thing in reality. However, this not being reality, I have to say that by the end I was rooting for both of them. Likewise, the lady juror who was having a kind of relationship with the defendant was also 'playing with fire'. All the cast were excellent: although Julie Walters' part seemed a bit subdued. The standout performance for me though has to be Jodhi May, a superb actor, I could watch her in anything. The citizenship reunion ending was a little contrived, but as entertainment, it worked for me.

The DVD has interviews with some of the cast. Recommended.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 December 2011
Having watched The Jury on ITV as a daily serial for one week I knew my daughter,a very avid fan of
Julie Walters,would enjoy this production as much as I did, so I sent her a copy, in Australia.
Most everything this actress does is worth watching
and with a well selected cast to work with she
didn't let us down.
If, as we do, you enjoy legal banter set in a British courtroom, then this production will not disappoint.Right up until the final episode you are
not sure how the outcome will be.You also get to see little details of the individual jurors, hence the title, and each one reacts differently in the
room attached to the courtroom when they are
discussing the evidence prior to making a decision.
A good story well acted and presented.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)