Customer Reviews


20 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (6)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Stalker (2011)
Stalker is a re-imagining remake of the cult video nasty Expose (1975).

Stalker is an atmospheric thriller about an award winning writer Paula Martin, (Anna Brecon) after having a nervous breakdown stays at this isolated countryhouse to finishs off writing her second novel with help with her PA (Jane March)who is hired by Paula Editor to help takes the...
Published on 7 Mar 2012 by ninfilms

versus
6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars rubbish
i have never seen such rubbish in all my life dont waste your money on it i was expecting it to be creepy and eerie but it was dull and boring
Published on 6 Feb 2012 by blackcat12


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars rubbish, 6 Feb 2012
This review is from: Stalker [DVD] (DVD)
i have never seen such rubbish in all my life dont waste your money on it i was expecting it to be creepy and eerie but it was dull and boring
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars One of the worst movies I have ever seen, 13 Feb 2012
By 
S. Halbert "Stephen H" (Glasgow) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Stalker [DVD] (DVD)
I just paid 3.99 to watch this On Demand. ~SPOILER ALERT~ I am sorry, but it was obvious from the beginning that Linda and Paula were the same person. It's so embarrassingly cliched to do this storyline. How many more movies must we endure where it's "all in their head"? It's such a cop-out!!! The film was utterly, utterly pathetic. The way Linda transgresses from lovely to nasty in the space of a day is totally unbelievable and Paula's character is so pathetic it's hard to feel any sympathy for her. On top of all of this, the acting was terrible. I am actually furious that I parted with hard earned cash to watch this tripe. I can't believe there are people on this page who have given it glowing reviews. What planet are they on??? AVOID AT ALL COSTS!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Don't believe the hype - avoid at all costs!!!, 12 Feb 2012
This review is from: Stalker [DVD] (DVD)
This is the worst film I've seen for a long time. The critical reviews of the film that give it glowing praise is simply due to a bunch of luvies sucking up to a fellow luvie Martin Kemp. The film's story is so unoriginal and has been done to death so much by other film makers that you can immediately predict what is going on right from the start. In the past this film would have been classed as a B film (older folk will know what I mean) and would certainly be one of the most appalling examples of its type. In short save your money and avoid this bilge at all costs!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Hmmmm, 6 May 2012
By 
Music Lover (London, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Stalker [DVD] (DVD)
After all the promotion Martin Kemp did of this film on Twitter I did actually think it would be a rubbish film, it's rarely you will actually get someone branching from one thing to another and they do a fantastic job. I was right, this film is rubbish, so you could say I wasn't disappointed.

Right from the first scene I knew what I was in for with the rubbish acting.

The scenes were always too dark too.

I've seen better cheaply made films.

If you really want to see this film borrow it from a friend or find a second hand on online that don't cost too much. please don't waste too much money on this film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Stalker (2011), 7 Mar 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Stalker [DVD] (DVD)
Stalker is a re-imagining remake of the cult video nasty Expose (1975).

Stalker is an atmospheric thriller about an award winning writer Paula Martin, (Anna Brecon) after having a nervous breakdown stays at this isolated countryhouse to finishs off writing her second novel with help with her PA (Jane March)who is hired by Paula Editor to help takes the pressures off.

But as the story develops, all is not as it seems. Is Linda a serial killer who's been stalking Paula for years? With slimy journalist Robert Gainer (Billy Murray) seemingly on a mission to ruin Paula with a story of her breakdown, it's left to her analyst Leo Fox (Colin Salmon) to race to her rescue... but will he arrive in time?

This is directoral debut from actor and Spantau Ballet star Martin Kemp as a film it very atmosperic and great performance from Anna Brecon and the underrated Jane March (The Lover). Also you will find veteran actress Linda Hayden who was in the original film Expose playing the house-keeper.

The violence in the film very well put together for the budget of 100,000 and made in one location without it being boring.

I would highly recommend this film to anyone who like their thrillers and violence.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Kemp Classic, 2 Feb 2012
By 
Mr. Jonathon T. Beckett "vampire lover" (Dracula's Crypt) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Stalker [DVD] (DVD)
A fragile writer Paula Martin(Anna Brecon), under pressure to write a bestseller, moves herself into her Uncle's isolated country house to avoid distractions. However, Anna, who has recently recovered from a serious nervous breakdown, soon regrets her decision as she starts to experience disturbing visions. Salvation arrives in the form of P.A Linda(Jane March) who promises to help Paula finish her novel. However, can Linda be trusted, as she soon starts exhibiting rather erratic behaviour, and soon Paula realoses that finishing her book is the least of her worries....
The House On Straw Hill/Expose was a 1970's British horror film, that has the dubious distinction of being the U.K'S only bona fide 'video nasty'(Xtro was banned too, but only for a while). That it forms the basis of Martin Kemp's directorial debut might on the face of it seem a strange choice, but Kemp is part of 'Black and Blue productions' along with Jonathan Sothcott, a company that have released a few horror films so far.
Whether the audience will think that 'Stalker' improves on the original, or sullies its reputation, will probably boil down to personal preference. I did watch watch a bootleg of Expose once, a very bad transfer, obviously cut, and the whole thing seemed like a hallucinogenic mess, scenes of violence intercut with Udo Keir's sweaty forehead and softcore sex scenes, with British porn star Fiona Richmond.
What Kemp has made here improves immeasureably on at least the version I saw. Gone are the sex scenes and most of the gore, to be replaced by a good plot and pretty good acting.
Stalker most closely resembles one of the fine 1960's/70's psychological thrillers by Hammer films, as well as an episode of 'Hammer House Of Mystery And Suspense' or 'Thriller'.
Both Brecon and March impress as the main protagonists, and there's good support from Billy Murray as a shifty journalist and Jennifer Matter as Paula's agent Sarah.
Although the plot is a little formulaic, Kemp directs with some considerable style and the viewer could be forgiven for thinking that this was the work of a more experienced director. The twist ending in particular works very well.
All in all, Stalker is a work of much promise and I look forward to seeing Kemp's next film as a director. Plenty of extras on this release, including a short film also directed by Kemp, a rather stolid affair starring Kemp's brother Gary. 4 out of 5 for the whole package.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars `Find the positive'?, 27 April 2012
This review is from: Stalker [DVD] (DVD)
Stalker is a film about a writer - yes, another one - everyone in films seems to be a writer. And they move to a big house - yes, another one - to overcome their writer's block and end up in a tricky situation - yes, another one.

There really isn't much to say about Stalker, only that the main enjoyment and debate you can get out of it is if you really try to find something positive to say about it. The actors look bored. The characters are unlikeable stereotypes. What little plot there is you can probably guess by about half an hour. And you won't really care what happens to anyone.

However, perhaps the only positive is that it's short. You can get it over with pretty quickly - assuming you've lasted until the end.

Avoid.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Deeply atmospheric..., 6 Feb 2012
This review is from: Stalker [DVD] (DVD)
Stalker is the directorial debut of Martin Kemp (Spandau Ballet, The Krays, EastEnders fame). It's a horror/psychological thriller about a writer, Paula Martin (Anna Brecon) who, after the success of her first novel, is struggling to write her next one, and so she escapes to her uncle's very old, creepy and isolated house to find some peace and quiet in the hope that she can start writing again. However, the house holds some dark memories of her childhood which does not help with her writing at all. Remaining creatively blocked, and having now also suffered an injury to her hand, she seeks the help of personal assistant Linda (Jane March), who comes to stay and help her finish her novel.

But strange things start to happen.... and all is not as it seems...

Deeply atmospheric, Stalker is the kind of movie they just don't make anymore. It is the type of film that I love, and to me it was reminiscent of an episode of Hammer House of Horror , that classic early 80s series I used to stay up late for in my early teens.

As well as directing, Martin Kemp has also written the screenplay, and all in all I thought this was an amazing debut with some superb acting from the cast.

I wish Martin Kemp lots of success in the future and will definitely be looking forward to his next film!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Watchable, 18 Mar 2014
By 
Maureen Fox (Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Stalker [DVD] (DVD)
Well done Martin Kemp on your first outing behind the camera. Looking forward to your next. I take it that no animal suffered as a result of filming!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Wow - terrible!, 1 Mar 2014
This review is from: Stalker (Amazon Instant Video)
We found this on the top IMDB ratings category on lovefilm/amazon - how on earth did this make it on there? This is a low budget B movie you'd expect to find in the 20p bin at your local charity shop. Completely awful!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa5e6eec4)

This product

Stalker [DVD]
Stalker [DVD] by Martin Kemp (DVD - 2012)
5.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews