Customer Reviews


78 Reviews
5 star:
 (41)
4 star:
 (20)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (6)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


151 of 154 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great
After much deliberation got this pvr twin tuner, this is the first pvr we have had aside from play tv and its very very good. We considered the humax but decided to go for this because of the sharing capability.
The box is tidy and of medium size, prob the same size as the model with the dvd disc drive which this does not have but this is a better price.
The...
Published on 13 Oct 2011 by Thinker

versus
21 of 22 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Poor sensitivity
This item whilst being particularly easy to use and convenient for use with my Panasonic remote control via Viera link, the sensitivity of the unit is distinctly less than my Panasonic 32" HD ready TV. The recording unit fails to find a number of channels, those channels whilst being weaker than average signal strenght, are successfully found by the Panasonic TV.
As...
Published on 27 Dec 2011 by Radarman


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

151 of 154 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great, 13 Oct 2011
By 
Thinker (Wiltshire) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Panasonic DMR-HW100EBK 320GB HDD TV Recorder with Twin Freeview HD Tuners (Old model) (Electronics)
After much deliberation got this pvr twin tuner, this is the first pvr we have had aside from play tv and its very very good. We considered the humax but decided to go for this because of the sharing capability.
The box is tidy and of medium size, prob the same size as the model with the dvd disc drive which this does not have but this is a better price.
The display on the machine is just what is needed when in use, and most importantly it does the job well.
We had heard the tv guide display was not the best of the bunch but we thought it was fantastic, and can be viewed 2 ways, we would make channel selection quicker if we could but it is not too bad at all.
The machine is pretty easy to work out settings wise, it has a sturdy remote which is well set out and to get to the guide and record is easy. The box can do series link, again easy to do. HD recordings came out crisp as you could want - all very impressive.
As you would know this is a twin tuner meaning you can record 2 channels and watch another if you have tv with built in freeview- brilliant.
It plays well on our computer too so the share option looks good. Would have considered 4 and half stars but would rather give the 5 than 4!
Edit -It has been about a year of use now and this machine is superb! love it, the share option is fab too.
Edit- At 20 months approx the machine is going strong, used daily and brilliant!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


71 of 72 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely Brilliant!!, 15 Feb 2012
This review is from: Panasonic DMR-HW100EBK 320GB HDD TV Recorder with Twin Freeview HD Tuners (Old model) (Electronics)
I spent some time reviewing options and was surprised at the number of makes and models receiving negative comments; poor quality picture, difficult to set up, unreliable programming etc, etc. Notwithstanding my scepticism that many online product reviewers are little more than serial moaners I'd almost decided not to bother. Yet, persuaded by the past history of Panasonic products, I decided to go for this model. What a surprise; a truly pleasant surprise. I unpacked and connected it, switched it on and it proceeded to set itself up. The only thing lacking on the setup display was a message saying "stand over there and don't touch anything until I tell you", for that is what the setup sequence amounted to! I was viewing within 10 minutes and recording within 15 minutes. Three months on and I can say that this has a fantastic quality picture in LD and HD, excellent sound, really clear programme guide, deady easy (and I mean "dead easy"!) recording setup, totally reliable series recording (including picking up late schedule changes to broadcast timing). The documentation appears detailed and thorough but, following the principle of "refer to the manual only when you run into a problem", I've hardly had to look at it. If you're seeking quality, simplicity and dependability no need to look any further; buy this product.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


169 of 173 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Almost Perfect, 7 Nov 2011
By 
A. Marczak "mazzarak" (Mordor) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Panasonic DMR-HW100EBK 320GB HDD TV Recorder with Twin Freeview HD Tuners (Old model) (Electronics)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
We already had a Humax PVR9300T 320GB Twin Tuner, PVR, and the main difference is that this will record in HD. So first, you need an HD TV, otherwise you are wasting your time. Like the old Humax you can record two programmes at once, whilst still watching a recorded programme.

Some things I like:
Really good quality video, both in High and Standard Definition.
Big memory, allows for as much as 80 hours of recorded footage.
Slots for your own media to be inserted.
Grouping of programmes - rather than viewing a massive list of individual programmes, they can be grouped together, e.g. No. of Eastenders - 7 will appear once, not seven times.

Some things I don't like:
User interface is really clunky, even compared to the Humax which is now many years old. You can't search for a specific programme, you have to know where it is.
Timer has a buffer before and after recording, but this means that you risk missing beginnings and ends of back-to-back shows.
Series link gets confused with repeat shows.
The guide can be viewed two ways: Time down the side, Channel across the top, or vice versa. With the time down the side, there's no page-left/page-right. You can't just jump to a channel, you have to scroll through them all. And considering that BBC 1 and BBC HD are 50 channels apart, that's just annoying.

Overall, I'm a big fan of this technology, and if I was looking for an HD recorder, I would definitely consider this. Like all Panasonic products, there is plenty to like, but like a lot of Panasonic products, there is always something that seems to have been left unfinished.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


139 of 145 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Powerful Capabilities, Dated User Interface, 2 Nov 2011
By 
Alan (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Panasonic DMR-HW100EBK 320GB HDD TV Recorder with Twin Freeview HD Tuners (Old model) (Electronics)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
The DMR-HW100 is an HDD TV Recorder made by Panasonic, the cheapest of their four 2011 models. It's essentially a black box that allows you to record TV programmes broadcast on Freeview and Freeview HD. Rather than requiring blank DVDs, the DMR-HW100 does all of its recording to an internal HDD (hard disk drive), which can store the equivalent of 68 DVD-Rs. Panasonic don't provide you with an HDMI or Ethernet cable, but the DMR-HW100 does come with the following five items:

- Remote Control (with a ridiculous 49 buttons)
- Batteries (for the remote)
- AC Mains Lead
- RF Coaxial Cable
- Operating Instructions (103 pages)

With its buttonless, glossy black front panel, the DMR-HW100 looks minimalistic and overly simple. Looks can be deceiving, however, as the entire front panel actually flips down to reveal indicator lights and three important features:

- USB port (plug in a USB flash drive and play DivX, MKV and AVCHD files)
- SD Card slot (supports SDXC, SDHC and SD cards)
- Channel Select buttons (which you'll never use)

On the top of the unit are two more buttons:

- Standby/on switch (just use the remote)
- PAUSE LIVE TV (again, just use the remote)

The killer feature of the DMR-HW100 is that it can record not one, but two Freeview HD channels at the same time! It achieves this by having two built-in Freeview HD tuners, which give you access to the usual 50 Freeview channels, plus the four Freeview HD channels:

- BBC One HD
- BBC HD (soon to be renamed BBC Two HD)
- ITV1 HD
- Channel 4 HD

The picture quality of the BBC's Freeview HD channels is absolutely stunning; they often look clearer and more fluid than Blu-ray! ITV1 HD, however, has a habit of broadcasting "Upscaled HD" which is identical to regular Freeview quality. So, just because you're watching something labelled "HD", don't be fooled into thinking it's High Definition.

The DMR-HW100 has no options for recording quality, which not only simplifies things, but actually doesn't matter because the 320 GB HDD allows you to record for 88 hours (3.67 days). Starting a new recording is a three step process. Simply find a channel you like (using the Channel Select buttons on the remote) then press the REC button. A window pops up on your TV presenting you with three options:

- Automatic Stop "Guide Link" at 15:05 (obviously your time will be different)
- Recording Time 30 min (which you can increase in 15 minute intervals up to 4 hours)
- Continuous Recording

If you want simple VHS-style recording, select the third option (Continuous Recording). However, if you don't want to risk filling up your entire HDD, select the first option (Automatic Stop), which intelligently stops recording at the end of the current programme.

Alternatively, you can set a Timer Recording. To do this, simply press the GUIDE button on the remote to bring up the 8 day TV Guide, then navigate through the schedule to find the programme you want to record and press OK. You can choose between Single Timer Record or Series Timer Record, which intelligently records all the episodes of a current series.

If you want to access all of your recordings, simply press the (confusingly named) DIRECT NAVIGATOR button on the remote. Select one of your recordings and press the OPTION button to reveal the following choices:

- Playback (play the recording)
- Delete Title (delete the recording)
- Information (display all available information about the recording)
- Edit (partial delete or divide the recording, but what's the point?)
- Chapter View (see a filmstrip of chapter markers)
- All Titles (switch between viewing all titles or grouped titles)

In addition to being able to record two Freeview HD channels simultaneously, the DMR-HW100 lets you:

- Record one channel, while watching another live
- Stop the recording of one channel, while continuing to record another
- Playback the current recording, while it's still being recorded
- Playback any of your recordings, while it's recording something else
- Delete any of your recordings, while it's recording
- Turn the subtitles on or off during playback of a recording
- Pause Live TV, simply by pressing the PAUSE button on the remote

Panasonic claim the DMR-HW100 is "Wireless LAN Ready". Technically this is true, it is "ready", but there is no Wi-Fi antenna built into the unit. So if you want to use any of the Internet services available on VIERA CAST, you'll either have to plug in an Ethernet cable, or purchase a Panasonic DY-WL10 Wi-Fi Dongle. I object to Panasonic charging extra for Wi-Fi, especially since other manufacturers (such as Apple) integrate it into their products for free. As a sign of disapproval, I will not be reviewing VIERA CAST!

Overall, I think the DMR-HW100 is a very useful product. It's surprisingly low priced and has a powerful set of capabilities that empower you to record whatever you want, whenever you want. My only problem with it is the user interface, which is inconsistent, lacks any animation, and looks very dated compared to Apple and Sony's 2011 offerings. The TV Guide is ridiculously inefficient, with its actual content only filling a quarter of the screen!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


87 of 91 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Faith in Panasonic, 6 Oct 2011
This review is from: Panasonic DMR-HW100EBK 320GB HDD TV Recorder with Twin Freeview HD Tuners (Old model) (Electronics)
I have finally cracked it, and yes it is slow, but I am 72, and i do'nt do things quickly. It does 'what it says on the tin', superbly, with absolutely no problems. You just go into the Guide, and highlight the program you wish to record, and it does it. Lots of new features, like the ability to rejoin a recording where you left it, despite the fact that the box has been switched off, since last watched. I would recommend it to all senior users, as foolproof.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Well worth the money, 20 Feb 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Panasonic DMR-HW100EBK 320GB HDD TV Recorder with Twin Freeview HD Tuners (Old model) (Electronics)
Purchased this product after considering several others. The price was very good considering what some other stores were asking. The Item arrived in good order and within time stated. The recorded programmes present an excellent picture.
The initial setup is easy ( does it itself ). The remote is easy to use. With a compatible TV and HDMI cable HD IS very good. Also the SD card slot etc. lets you view your pictures on the TV. Overall well pleased with purchase.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great kit, 30 Jan 2012
By 
J. Watts (wales) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Panasonic DMR-HW100EBK 320GB HDD TV Recorder with Twin Freeview HD Tuners (Old model) (Electronics)
Got this as it had best reviews of admittedly a poor showing of PVRs. Because I chose this I also went for a 37 inch Viera TV. Although a computer Geek, I feel I have joined the 21st Century, leaving behind a 32 inch Sony CRT and a Video and DVD player.
Quality of picture is excellent particularly HD, through either PVR or TV. Easy to use interface, a doddle actually, just click on the show you want and it gives you the options (view,record, or series record). Ability to record 2 channels and watch one is very helpful. I dont really use all the features, have dabbled with usb, watched DVDs no problem. Cant say the internet is up to much (Viera Cast) but I dont do the social network thing anyway. I understand that The Viera Connect is better but havent bothered to plug TV into the net(wireless built in into PVR). Very pleased with this equipment, has increased my interest in TV again?!!, due to the high quality viewing and ease of use. Long may it last (-:
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 22 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Poor sensitivity, 27 Dec 2011
This review is from: Panasonic DMR-HW100EBK 320GB HDD TV Recorder with Twin Freeview HD Tuners (Old model) (Electronics)
This item whilst being particularly easy to use and convenient for use with my Panasonic remote control via Viera link, the sensitivity of the unit is distinctly less than my Panasonic 32" HD ready TV. The recording unit fails to find a number of channels, those channels whilst being weaker than average signal strenght, are successfully found by the Panasonic TV.
As such the unit cannot record a number of channels that can be watched directly on the TV. As such not recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


40 of 43 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Recording good, media streaming disappointing, 27 Oct 2011
This review is from: Panasonic DMR-HW100EBK 320GB HDD TV Recorder with Twin Freeview HD Tuners (Old model) (Electronics)
As an HD recorder this product does what it should, although I find the recording menus a bit clumsy.
The Viera cast internet content "channels" are fine but of limited value. No BBC iPlayer here, for example.
Streaming content *to* this box works fine, I am able to stream music and look at my pictures.

However I found the DLNA server (media streaming) was disappointing in the following respects:

- digital radio programmes can be recorded but not streamed to other devices (why on earth not ????)
the manual makes this clear, but it's not mentioned in web site blurbs)

- works "out of the box" with Windows 7 as a client. Vista and Mac OS X required UPNP media streaming software. I found XMBC worked.
(web site blurbs and manual only refer to Windows 7 clients being able to connect and stream recorded content)

- you can't stream while recording is in progress, this cuts down the usefulness of the box
(manul makes this clear, but again not mentioned in the web site blurbs)

- forget about streaming recorded HD programmes
the programmes have copy protection on so they can't be streamed - very disappointing that, but again it's in the manual, but not on web site blurbs
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


58 of 63 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Actually downgrades our freeview signal, 18 Dec 2011
By 
Mr. K. J. Burgess "Kevin" (Kent, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Panasonic DMR-HW100EBK 320GB HDD TV Recorder with Twin Freeview HD Tuners (Old model) (Electronics)
Hm. We have a Panasonic Viera TV, with freeview, so it made sense to go with this PVR. Unfortunately it seems to downgrade our freeview signal, due to a low-grade tuning system. The TV receives all freeview channels perfectly, yet the PVR misses around 20 channels. When we loop the signal through the PVR, the onboard Freeview degrades as well. Never seen a device do this before. Poor show Panasonic, it's going back, and a competitors model will be purchased instead. For the money I expected better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xb0835dec)

This product

Only search this product's reviews